We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for touring Sligo area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Dublin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for touring Sligo area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here on a two night b&b with a spa treatment each on a group-on deal. Hotel is located in a lovely area a few miles outside Sligo & close to many scenic spots. We were so lucky as when we were visiting the weather was beautiful sunny & hot . We drove over to Strandhill , had a lovely walk & got some lunch then drove over to Glencar waterfall which was nice to see . The following morning we drove out to Rosses Point beach for another walk in a lovely area.
We ate in the bar area the first night just had toasted sandwiches which were nice but we felt there was no atmosphere in the bar. Breakfast the following morning was grand lots of choice, fruit , breads , cereals, yogurts, cold meat but the hot breakfast was pre-cooked not 4 star quality .We did not eat dinner in the restaurant so can't review.
We had our spa treatments the first morning not impressed at all with their spa facilities . Girl who check us in wasn't very friendly & the changing/toilets area was extremely small . In the shower area the shower gel/shampoo/conditioner containers were all pulled off the wall except one. I have a walking disability & the jacuzzi in the spa area was not accessible to me , no step in & no hand rails. I felt that the spa area was an 'after thought' when they were designing the hotel , if i had booked in for a spa weekend away i would of been extremely disappointed. Margaret who showed me to my treatment was so lovely & helpful thou.
The bedroom was lovely very spacious, nice decor , the bed was so comfy , nice flatscreen tv . Overall the hotel & bar staff were very friendly & polite, couldn't do enough & nothing was too much trouble. Would stay again if in the Sligo region but would not go near the spa area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank procus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    304
    194
    99
    67
See reviews for
195
656
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Booked a couple of nights at a very good rate as a short break for my wife and myself. Very nice hotel in a nice location, staff were friendly and courteous and the golf course was also good value. Unfortunately the evening's dining experience was poor. One meat dish was actually off and the sides were cold. Staff were quick to try and remedy the problem but the damage was done, needless to say a mouthful of rancid meat is a real appetite killer! These things happen but the problem was compounded by a decidedly luke warm "cooked" breakfast the next day. Obviously the kitchen systems are not what they should be.
Also, I believe the hydrotherapy facility should be available free to guests. But other than that it was a better than ok trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goingplaces2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaghan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was so happy to be staying at Castle Dargan and I wasn't dissapointed either, the Hotel is a lovely and friendly place where the staff can't do enough for you The meals in the restaurant were exeptional and not overpriced and the presentation was overwhelming, I would certainly go back and recommend this Hotel to anyone, The rooms are spacious and well decorated and the scenery is amazing, but best of all the staff are so happy and jolly people it makes your stay so much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia1957monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molloy1234, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review about your experience of your stay in Castle Dargan Hotel.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to all the staff. The chef is delighted you enjoyed his culinary delights and we are all thrilled you enjoyed the overall Castle Dargan experience. It is a beautiful place to work, that is one of the reasons why we are so happy and jolly here.

We hope you will make a return visit to Castle Dargan Hotel soon, for you will be truly welcomed back.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

9th March arrived - relaxing spa treatment, then to the bar, staff great craic and very helpful, nothing too much trouble, fantastic ambiance - could not fault the room. Dinner - the best filet steak in a long long time. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael445040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Had a three day break in this hotel, lovely room, fabulous food all staff very pleasant and welcoming. Unfortunately I was unable to use the exceelent spa facility will on my return trip. Really enjoyed the 18 hole golf course and will retrun to play again.

Room Tip: Reception staff very approachable tell them what you want and ask for advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabelleBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

As reception noted it was our wedding anniversary we were given a lovely suite.Dinner was fabulous and himself got to play a round of golf.Staff extremely welcoming from reception to housekeeping nothing was too much trouble.Will return in the Summer!

Room Tip: Just ask! Suites are lovely and include separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curaghill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood near belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My birthday falls on St Valentine's Day so we have often found that the price in Hotels on that date seem to rise considerably. No so with Castle Dargan. We arrived on Monday 13th and were warmly greeted at reception. We were then allocated the Maud Gonne Suite We had our own sitting room, large bedroom and also large bathroom. Cosy and warm.

We had decided to eat in the Restaurant and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and well presented. We really enjoyed our brief stay and hope that we will make another visit there soon. The staff made us feel at home with their warm welcome.

Room Tip: If you are in a romantic mood we suggest the Maud Gonne Suite. Really warm and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahm398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing