We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spa weekend”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I booked a spa weekend over the phone for my mother's birthday. It was great value to begin with, but when we booked in to our suite it was even better value. The countryside is beautiful, the walled garden suite we were in was perfect as I had my 6month old with me and it had a kitchen and plenty of space. The beds were really comfortable and we couldn't hear anything from the adjoining suites. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the spa was so relaxing. I can't remember the beautician's name, but she was really accommodating and excellent at her job. The staff in general were very helpful and the proof of this was the fact that they allowed us to bring some breakfast back to the suite when we had been up late with the teething baby. A very nice touch. There was a wedding on the day we arrived but we couldn't hear anything in our suite. Overall it was a wonderful weekend and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor walled garden suite and you will have a beautiful view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

my husband and i travelled here from county down which takes a couple of hours travelling, we arrived early and were able to check in without a problem. the hotel and surroundings are really beautiful, we didnt avail of the bar area as we wanted to try the local a the end of the road( which was great fun). breakfast in the morning was delish! only complaint i have is that they dont serve breakfast as room service to the suites so you need to be up before 10am to go to the main building but over all a really enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: not within walking distance of sligo town- taxi costs between 15 and 20 euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Loved this hotel.......put it on the list!
We did not want to go home. The service, food, and hotel facilities are excellent.
We felt totally relaxed on leaving after a delicious breakfast.
Food, wine, guinness all top class.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkTwoLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Me and my Girlfriend which are both 19, got the deal of Groupon, at the time of booking the room there was no rooms left in the hotel so the hotel upgraded us to a suite (with no extra charge!). The only problem that we had was that we did not research sligo itself and when we got there it was raining all weekend and found that most things to do in sligo were outdoors.

The suite room itself had amazing views over the golf course, the only problem with the room was that the tv signal in our room was very poor and could hardly watch and also the shower head would not stay on the stand and had to hold it to shower, i would also recommend that the hotel supplied coasters for the likes of tea and coffee as people are setting it down on the wood and starting to leave stains on the tables in the rooms, but overall I was very pleased with the hotel staff and the hotel itself.

Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank __Jordan_Anderson__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A few of us stayed here for a recent celebration. We were staying in the apts which were clean and a good size. Food in restaurant was really good and in general staff were excellent. Good golf course and spa onsite which kept everyone busy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmb1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

County Sligo is in the North West of the Republic of Ireland on the Atlantic coast and is beautiful with some stunning beaches and beautiful walking.

Enough of setting the scene! What of the hotel? Really excellent - We had a two day deal via Groupon - and it was really good value. We had an excellent room which was quiet, clean, comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect, including an iron and ironing board. My only grouse was that there was no power shower!

The hotel is, it must be said, slightly of the beaten track being about 6 or 7 miles outside Sligo town itself. It does have its own golf course and spa (tried the spa myself, it came with the offer - really enjoyed it and was surprised how relaxed I felt afterwards - men get in touch with your feminine side and don't leave this all to the ladies!!!). The staff were very friendly and helpful and went the extra mile.

Breakfast was all one would expect, with all the products being sourced locally - the black and white pudding was to die for! Dinner in the restaurant was good value and quality. The staff were particularly helpful and even warmed my after dinner brandy for me - these little touches add up!

We also ate in the bar on one of the nights we were there, again good food, prepared well and served by friendly helpful staff. The Guiness was excellent (one should always try the local beverages - for any of our cross channel readers forget about what passes for guiness in the rest of the British isles!).

All in all we had a really good experience and would certainly stay at Castle Dargan again. Based on our experience, I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Myself and my husband stayed as a groupon offer, the room was average, nothing special, the bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel and consisted of 2 singles pushed together. The spa treatments we booked were running late and involved a lot of waiting around, not very relaxing.

We ate in the bar one night and whilst the food was nice the service was appauling. We waited around trying to catch staff to ask us what we wanted when we finally did they were quite dismissive, my gut instinct was to give up and go to McDonalds as this was the next closest place but we persevered! We finally got our order taken and it was served quite quickly but in the meantime 2 couples sat on either side of us, we then finished our meals and sat with our plates in front of us for over 20 minutes, meanwhile both other couples had their plates cleared even though they were served after us! We decided we would like a dessert but when the waiter finally arrived to clear our table he made no attempt to ask if we wanted anything else and we were sitting there with empty glasses too. We waited a further 15minutes to see if anyone would come back to ask about desserts and they didn't so at this stage we got bored and gave up - we had been in there 2 hours and only got a main each and 1 drink each.

On the way back to our room we complained at reception but were just given a 'sorry' and the following day at check out were given a half hearted apology from what I presume is the manager. Unfortunate way to ruin what would otherwise have been a nice break away in nice surroundings, certainly wouldn't consider going back.

Room Tip: Avoid 110 if you like your sleep - worst bed in hotel history!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMOO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molloy1234, Front Office Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences of our Hotel. Our passion and goal is to meet or exceed the expectations of every Castle Dargan Guest and it is unfortunate when that doesn’t happen. I most deeply apologise to you about each area that failed to meet your expectations.

I was surprised to read that the comfort of the bed was poor because we do get a lot of praise about how comfortable our “Heavenly Beds Mattress” are, but I will follow up with our Accommodation Manager. I will review our service we deliver in the bar with the Food and Beverage Manager. I can see from your comments some further training may be necessary. The Spa area has wonderful relaxation rooms with views of the surrounding countryside while guests await there treatments, I will consult with the Spa Manager that this area is been offered while guests await there treatments. We would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to visit us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you further.

Kindest Regards

Damien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,741 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
503 reviews
8 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing