We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea perfect!”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea perfect!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Recently brought my mum here for afternoon tea. I can only say good things about the experience. The food and beverages were lovely. We were placed beside a roaring fire which created a lovely ambiance. I can't say enough about the lovely staff member Imelda who made the whole experience very special

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KealanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear KealanD,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our popular Afternoon Tea at Castle Dargan 4star Resort. Our resort is perfect for escaping with friends or family to grab some valuable time to relax and especially in our 100year old Coach House Lounge with its blazing open fire. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we are so happy you found our professional and approachable team helpful throughout your time with us. Please be assured we will be passing on your comments to all our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    320
    204
    106
    72
See reviews for
215
700
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Uncomfortable and noisy room, bed was awful two beds pushed together very uncomfortable, iron didnt work the shower was crap
friendly staff in hotel and spa even though it tooks days to get tru to book our treatments

Not a four star hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear James R,
Thank for you for your review of your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We are delighted you enjoyed our welcoming staff and our heavenly Icon Spa. Please be assured we will inform all our team of your kind words. We are saddened you didn't have a good sleep and I’m sorry we didn't get the opportunity to rectify the situation while you stayed with us. We do take our guest feedback very seriously and if we had known of your discomfort with the room we would off made arrangements of moving you to another room in the hotel. We are disappointed you didn't experience our Castle Dargan 4star luxury but we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay brilliant totally loved the suite our own living room an all shame about the fog for the golf. Wee made up for it by goin to the spa. Maybe a Cheaper Taxi service into Town would go down a treat also. Food was second to none. Really enjoyed our stay. Will be back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lori S,
We are very pleased you experienced a wonderful and relaxing stay with us at Castle Dargan 4star Resort. Our professional and friendly staff thank you for your kind words and please be assured we will pass on your comments to all our team at Castle Dargan Resort. We are very sorry weather conditions didn't let you experience our Darren Clarke designed golf course but we are glad you could forget about the hustle and bustle of everyday life at our heavenly Icon Spa. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Guest Relations
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Spent another fantastic weekend there in january, everything and every one was fabulous, staff food bar and spa where all great, absolutely love this place, cant recommend castle dargan highly enough, and cant wait to return very soon, keep up the good work folks,

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Iky2,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed and experienced our 4star services. We pride ourselves on our team’s friendly and professional style and please be assured everyone will hear of your kind comments. We hope you will return soon and the Castle Dargan team look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff are friendly and helpful, the food and service were excellent and the bedroom comfortable but the shower was very tiny. We had planned a golf break and yes it had been raining but oh my the course was sodden and really unplayable. Only the tees and greens were "dry" every other part of the well designed course was saturating. The most disappointing thing was that it appeared that little or no effort had been made to drain the fairways as could be seen by the amount of moss growing everywhere.
Would I go golfing at Castle Dargan again ....... no not unless major work has been done or Ireland experiences a prolonged drought.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Michael M,
Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words regarding Castle Dargan Resort. I’m delighted to read you enjoyed our genuinely friendly & helpful staff and our accommodation Team are delighted with your restful stay. Please be assured that our talented team of chef’s really appreciate your positive feedback and please be assures our Food & Beverage Manager will be congratulating all the team. Our Darren Clarke designed golf course is very special to us and I am saddened you didn’t get to experience the full beauty of it. Our Green Keeper Mark Millar would appreciate if he could discuss your issues further with you and we would ask if you could e-mail us on your contact details to kenneth@castledargan.com. Just to add that rainfall from January to March was over 550mm that’s around 22inches of rain, no parkland golf course will stand up to that amount of rain. The good thing is that we have main drainage on our fairways and gravel band leading into them. So when heavy rain stops it dries out quick. Thank you again for your review and your feedback is much appreciated. We do hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future where you can see the benefits of your review
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I visited this hotel with my partner as a treat after a terrible year for us. We booked a two night stay on a Friday and Saturday in December. After reading the reviews, I requested a hotel room specifically but upon arrival we were placed in an apartment away from the hotel. My partner suffers from arthritis and this is an issue for him with steps so it was more than an inconvenience to say the least.

We were greeted at reception by friendly staff but very unprofessional as when I complained about our room I received a blank stare and no offer of help except to say the hotel was booked and there was nothing that could be done. I did not mention my husbands illness as I did not want to embarrass him but had my original request be recorded there would be no issue. There was no music on in the bar and this meant the place was very dead even on a weekend night. The apartment we stayed in was freezing, a reoccurring problem from reading the comments on here. This didn't help my partner's condition at all and he ended up being in additional pain the entire stay.

We ate in the restaurant and it was ok but nothing to remember. Breakfast was a disgrace, we were waiting for over 20 minutes to be seated. I found the whole place lacking in character or warmth. The reception staff sat discussing their issues with each other in front of us in reception when we sat to read the papers after breakfast. I found this unnerving as I felt they were so unhappy in their work but that I had to hear about it when I was trying to relax away from my own stresses of life.

I did make note of the apartment instead of hotel on departure but again a lack of any real explanation left a sour taste in my mouth for the place. It is a cold place, lacking character. The wedding that was on that weekend seemed their only priority. The bar staff were the only asset who were pleasant and helped me carry my drinks and checked up on us after a while. They were also very professional so this helped.

We were very much looking forward to a relaxing break but returned home frozen from the cold and annoyed that we had spent money on something that gave us no value. I won't be returning again and I suggest that the hotel looks at how it values all guests and not just those attending weddings. I would avoid guests to avoid this hotel at all costs as there is much better value out there and they do not appreciate your custom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travellady692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Travellady692,
Thank for your review and your kind words regarding our warm, friendly & professional staff here at Castle Dargan Resort. We are very sorry to hear of your partners ailments and are saddened to read you did not receive our usual 4 star customer service. We do treat every guest with the same amount of respect and we are very sorry to hear you felt that didn't reach on you stay. We do apologise for the wait you incurred at breakfast and we are constantly striving to limit waiting times when they do occur. Our Front House Manager apologies for the issues regarding reception and please be assured the issues have been rectified. We are very sorry Travellady692 you left Castle Dargan Resort without experiencing our normal 4 star services and would ask you to contact me directly at kenneth@castledargan.com as to talk about your issues further.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was plenty long enough! Firstly we booked treatments in the spa and was pleased with these. We went to have dinner to the bar area. There were a few people at the bar watching Eastenders very loudly. The bar was freezing with no atmosphere although the food was good. We moved to the lounge after dinner to find it freezing in there too. We actually ended up buying a few drinks and going back to our room as it was the only warm room in the hotel. This place is nothing special and more than likely will never return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis_2Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Lis_2Kelly,
Good afternoon from the Castle Dargan resort. We are pleased you enjoyed our heavenly Icon Spa and our Chef is happy regarding your kind words about our award winning food. We are though disappointed to read the issues regarding the heating, were saddened they weren't brought to a member of staff's attention at the time as we would have been more than happy to boost the heating. We do hope you return to Castle Dargan resort to see how for yourselves your feedback has been taken on board. Thank you again for taking the time to review Castle Dargan Resort. .
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
447 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
450 reviews
9.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing