We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful golf course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Can't really comment on accomodation, but food very good and bar has lovely view out over the course. Course is in great order at the moment, dry and beautifully maintained. They're cutting back some of the heavier rough now and this makes a round here even more pleasant, as it's enough of a challenge already.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gus086410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear gus086410,

Thank you for your kind feedback about our Darren Clarke Designed Golf Course and our Head Chef, Melville is thankful for your kind words about the food. Xavier Medas our Golf Pro Manager took great pleasure in reading your comment about the golf course and is grateful that you enjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    304
    194
    99
    67
See reviews for
195
656
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a good few times and am always impressed with the quality of the food.
The golf course is top class and on a nice sunny day there is no better park land course in Connacht. The course is extremely well maintained year round. Greens are really consistent & while there are a few trickey holes, in general it is a fair course and you can score well here.
In summary, I go here primarily for the golf but would have no hesitation in recommending for food

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear SurfsUpireland,
We had the great pleasure reading your kind words about your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our Darren Clarke designed Golf Course and it is truly spectacular when the sun is out. Xavier Medas our Golf Pro Manager, very much appreciates your kind words about the golf course and that you also found it challenging. Our Head Chef, Melville took great pleasure in reading your comment and is very pleased you enjoyed the food. Thank you again for your review & we hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The golf course is in excellent condition with good run on the ball and the greens are playing really well.
You can't ask for a better place to play golf with stunning views and really friendly staff in the Pro Shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Andrea H,
Thank you for your kind comments about the Castle Dargan Resort and the Golf Pro Shop. We are glad you enjoyed our 170 Acres of rolling parkland in our magnificent country setting on the North West Coast of Ireland. Xavier Medas our Golf Pro is pleased you enjoyed our Darren Clarke designed golf course.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We traveled with another family and booked into one of the apartments overlooking the old castle walls for a midweek break. From the get-go we found the place very relaxing, safe and friendly. The apartments were very spacious and very handy for catering for a two year old needs. We will certainly travel here again as it ticked all our boxes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ewen303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear ewen303,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Castle Dargan 4star Resort. Our resort is perfect for escaping with friends and family. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we are so happy you found our hotel a very relaxing, safe and friendly venue. The Castle Dargan team strive to ensure the best quality of service at all times so it’s reassuring to hear you had such a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at Castle Dargan Golf Hotel recently and was very impressed. The occasion was a family wedding and unfortunately I could stay for one night only. First impressions were very good as the staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient. This continued for the duration of our stay.
Service, food and drinks were to a high standard as were the bed rooms.
There are Spa Treatment Facilities on site and a golf course surrounds the Hotel on three sides but alas time constraints prevented their exploration on this occasion.
Located amid spectacular scenery, the views from the ballroom and the bar overlooking the golf course are particularly beautiful, especially in the good weather which we enjoyed. I hope to return for a longer stay in the not too distant future as it would make an ideal base from which to visit the many locations immortalised by the poet W.B. Yeats, many of which are dotted around the Sligo-Leitrim border area. The unique and rugged beauty of this region is well worth another look, not to mention a round or two of golf.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear William I
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the stunning views on our 170 acre woodlands estate here at Castle Dargan Hotel and we would be thrilled if you returned to Castle Dargan for another stay and of course you would have to try out our Darren Clarke designed golf course. Thank you for your review, once again as feedback is invaluable in our industry. The Castle Dargan team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We will leave you with this delightful quote from W.B Yeats as you seem to be an avid fan and Sligo is a key location when exploring the fascinating history surrounding W.B Yeats.
“There are no strangers here; Only friends you haven't yet met”
W.B. Yeats

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasure from the moment we arrived until we left.
Just spent 2 nights here with my husband on a pamper/golf 2 night stay.
On arrival the reception staff where friendly, and remained so throughout our stay.
Our room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and the bar for both lunch and dinner. The restaurant was nice but I preferred the bar. The chowder is to die for. Both restaurant and bar staff where lovely and good fun.
My husband play the 18 hole golf course and loved it. He's still raving about it.
I enjoyed the spa. I had the dry float followed by the hydrotherapy pool. It was so relaxing. Even lying in the relaxation room with my cup of peppermint tea enjoying the views out the full length windows. Aaahhh heaven.
The hotel is so relaxing with loads of deep comfy sofas scattered around the hotel. I made great use of these with my book and a wee drink.
All in all we had a great 2 night stay, and one of the most relaxing breaks I've ever had.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsscoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear mrsscross
Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted to hear your husband thoroughly enjoyed our Darren Clarke designed Golf Course. Our Icon Spa Manager, Sophia will be pleased to read your valued comments about the spa and we are delighted you enjoyed the spectacular views surrounding Castle Dargan 4 Star resort. Please be assured we will inform all our team of your wonderful review. We hope you will return soon and our Castle Dargan team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed in Castle Dargan mid week in May on a business trip. Hotel was not full, but they gave me the room next door to the function room - the party there got louder and louder as the night went on.

At 3am, some of the party entered the bedroom directly next to mine and started a long, loud, drunken conversation. Even though this was four star the walls were so thin I could hear everything. I called and complained at reception but it made no difference - I eventually got to sleep at 345am, only when the guys next door shut up and went to sleep themselves.

Breakfast next morning was v poor - bread was so stale it should have been binned.

I made a complaint, and was given a voucher . To my shock, a day or two later, Castle Dargan called me and sent me a different voucher, a downgraded one. When I rang to complain, they asked me when I wanted to use the voucher - any dates I suggested, they said they were booked up- (even though, they had availability when I checked online on that same day)

This was an awful nights sleep and a horrible experience - these guys dont have a clue about customer service, plus they don't know what a real four-star hotel experience should feel like

Room Tip: avoid ground floor (esp first and second room on the RHS as you enter corridor ) as they are right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing