We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing hotel”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a nice relaxed setting.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, especially Samantha at reception, a real asset to the hotel.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were a real treat but only downside was the lunch at the bar which was below average, the chips seemed like the chips cooked a few times and awful,
Overall excellent and will most defenitely return soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank anastacia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Anastacia R,
Good Afternoon from the lovely Yeats County. Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Castle Dargan Resort. We are so pleased that our professional and friendly staff made your stay with us here so much better especially Samantha who is delighted with your kind comments. Our head Chef Melville Cook will be delighted to hear your positive comments about the food you received at Breakfast and Dinner but is saddened to hear you bar food that you received was not of our usual 4 Star Standard. We do apologize but please be assured this issue is currently under review and will be rectified promptly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for your review.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    320
    204
    106
    72
See reviews for
215
700
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful setting, 15 minutes from Sligo town, very peaceful, friendly staff (particularly Samantha at reception), ideal for golfers.

We stayed in the Clock Tower room in the Castle Dargan house rather than in the newer hotel building which gave wonderful views of the golf course and which was very peaceful and full of old-world charm: however no WiFi and decor could be updated and light sleepers may be bothered by the early-morning grass cutting on the golf greens. Also think that, although the room was clean, it wasn't pristine.

We went on a two-night deal with choice of golf or spa package, but were disappointed that neither of these packages (which were included in the deal) were mentioned at check-in. That said, this didn't detract from an otherwise very good experience and would recommend the hotel to friends.

Thank you for the friendly welcome and look forward to returning on our next trip to Sligo. I hope that our feedback is taken in the positive spirit in which it is given.

Room Tip: Older house is beautiful but no WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Paul F,
Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words regarding Castle Dargan Resort. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our genuinely friendly and helpful staff especially Samantha who is thrilled with your kind words. Our Accommodation Manager Chrissie has been notified about your issues regarding The Clock Tower Suite and please be assured that these will be rectified promptly. We do apologise that you didn't receive your spa & golf package but if you visit again please don’t hesitate to let us know at any time if you have any issues and we would be more than happy to rectify these problems promptly as we don’t want our guests missing out on elements of their package that they are most definitely entitled to. Thank you again for your review and your feedback is much appreciated. We do hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future where you can see the benefits of your review.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at Castle Dargan in May 2014. I can't praise it enough. From the initial meeting with the wedding planner, Kim, to the big day and the barbeque on the day after, it was all that we could have hoped for. It's easy to see why Kim won the wedding venue coordinator of the year category at the recent weddingsonline awards. She is a pleasure to deal with and her enthusiasm for her job was evident as she seemed genuinely excited for us in the run up to the big day! On the day itself everything ran like clockwork. Food and service were two of our big priorities for the day and we were not disappointed. Both the meal and service were excellent. There is a lovely relaxed feeling at the hotel, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Matthew, the food and beverage manager, looked after us throughout the weekend. He is an absolute gentleman. He went out of his way to make sure our every whim was catered to. All in all it was a fantastic two days and I would have no hesitation in recommending Castle Dargan as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 82MariaS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear 82MariaS2014 ,

It is a pleasure to hear that your wedding reception was all that you were hoping for. Our Wedding Coordinator Kim Monaghan is so pleased to hear your feedback and thanks for you for choosing Castle Dargan Resort for your special day. Our food & Beverage Manager Matthew send on his appreciation and thank you for your kind words. From all the team at Castle Dargan we wish all the very best for the future and look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write up this review, it is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Played this course a few times over the years. It constantly improves. Very fair and rewarding course. Holes 11 to 18 are the best finishing run of holes in the area and a tough test to complete your score.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Merv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Merv K,
Your feedback on the Castle Dargan Golf Course is very appreciated by our team and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your round of golf. Our green keeping Mark Millar will be delighted of how well you thought of the Darren Clarke designed golf course. Our Pro Golfer Xavier has informed me that the course is playing a lot easier the 2nd time round as the players get to know the lines of the tees better . Thank you for your lovely review and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a one night July madness deal which was really cheap but I guess you get what you pay for. My husband had a round of golf which he really enjoyed. I went to the spa and had a dry float and a hot stone back massage. I wasn't sure what to expect of the dry float but it was actually really relaxing. My gripe with the spa is the size, the jacuzzi, steam room etc area is tiny and you feel you're on top of everyone else. And the chill out area for the spa, while having views of the golf course is too bright and again you feel you are squashed in. Plus lying in the treatment rooms there's just too much noise you can hear of other people chatting or doors closing. I wouldn't return for the spa plus there is no swimming pool in the hotel which is a shame. The bar and lobby areas are cold and impersonal and there was no life in the bar in the evening. The rooms were clean and decent enough. The highlight was the food, we ate in the main restaurant and the food was lovely, would recommend the sea food chowder for starter. The staff at the hotel were lovely, and we did get a good deal but despite that I wouldn't be rushing back to return to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Public Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Molly023,
Good Afternoon from Yeats County. Thank for you for your review of your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. Our Golf Pro Xavier Medas will be delighted to hear that your husband enjoyed his round of golf in our Darren Clarke designed Golf Course. Our head Chef Melville Cook is pleased that you enjoyed the food here at Castle Dargan as it is one of the aspects of the hotel that we really pride ourselves on. We are sorry that our Icon Spa facilities did not meet your expectations however we are glad that you did enjoy your Dry Float and found it very relaxing. We are also sorry that you felt our bar area was cold and impersonal but we will review this issue effectively with all relevant departments. I will also pass on your lovely comments about the staff to General Manager.
We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great place to have a funtion and amazing golf facilities.Course was in superb condition and the views were top notch.Service and value 10/10 well done to all involved. Friendly staff and expierenced golf coaches all in all a amazing place to stay or play golf.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Graham C,
We are very pleased you had a nice stay with us here at Castle Dargan 4 Star Resort. Our Golf Pro Xavier Medas is delighted that you enjoyed our Darren Clarke Designed Golf Course and Our green keeper Mark Millar is pleased you found the course to be in such good condition. Our Golf Coaches are all PGA qualified and Xavier is a Regional Coach for both the GUI & ILGU so they are only happy to help with any golfing queries or training. Our professional and friendly staff thank you for your kind words and please be assured I will pass on your comments to all our team at Castle Dargan Resort. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here in June for the sad occasion of my grandmother's funeral. We stayed in one of the apartments which was perfect. Everything you need for self catering, lots of space and great bed linen and towels etc. The hotel is in a stunning location with views over the local scenery. The view from the bar is gorgeous and a fabulous place to have a drink in the evening. We watched the sunset from the gallery area as deer ambled across the golf course. The staff are really warm and obliging and looked after us so well. They really couldn't have done more. The food is simple home cooked fayre but excellent. Home baked desserts are excellent and the cheesecake is to die for. I will definitely be back here and would recommend it to families and especially for a romantic break!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiwIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear fiwIreland,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind comments about Castle Dargan Resort. Once again we are deeply sorry over the passing of your grandmother and we hope that you and your family are all doing well. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful Walled Garden Apartments. Our accommodation team is very pleased you experienced our high quality rooms. Our chef sends on his appreciation along with our F&B Manager who will be letting all the team now of your wonderful comments. We do get quite a lot of deer exploring our golf course and it is a truly spectacular sight when you do see them. We love to ensure the best service possible to all our guests so your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
456 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,643 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,087 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
452 reviews
9.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing