We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights..at booking I requested a room that was an extra bit special as we where going for a special occasion! On arrival we were given an apartment! Which was not part of the deal.. After complaining we where told ther was no other space... But they managed to get a room for us after I said I was extremely annoyed with the situation! Moved to the hotel an the receptionist was less than friendly at this stage! That evening we had dinner in the area above the bar there was only 1 seat at the table and the waiter didn't notice! We had tough steak with no steak knife and are peppered sauce came when had finished!! Needless to say we ate at a different hotel the following night! Just seemed like 1 problem after another instead of them bending over backwards for us to rectify the first mishap!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Aishling M,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that your issue regarding your accommodation was dealt with effectively but we are disappointed with your concerns that our staff was not friendly, please be assured that this is not the norm at Castle Dargan Resort a full investigation is under way. We do apologize with your seating issue and we hope that this was rectified promptly by the staff on-hand. Normally we are complimented on our food & service and we are concerned that this standard did not reach you on this occasion. Our Food & Beverage Manager Matthew McDonagh would appreciate if you could contact him on 071 9118080 to discuss this further with you. We are very sorry to hear of the issues with your stay and please be assured you feedback has been taken on board. We hope in the future you will give us an opportunity to show you how seriously your comments have been received. Thank you again Aishling M for your review.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    313
    198
    104
    69
See reviews for
206
679
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we checked in the staff were so helpful the rooms were big and spacious and very clean all very modern. The food is great. We got a great deal for 2 nights which included champagne, b&b and vip spa treatments and further discounts in the spa Also included a round of golf but we did not use that part.The bar staff made our stay so enjoyable they made us feel so welcome and were all great fun.The views are amazing. Thanks Ian, Sean, Greg, Linda and Daniel and all the staff we will definitely be back its home away from home. Highly recommend but you would need a car if your planning other outings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear martig1,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy to read about your lovely experience you had with us at Castle Dargan Resort. We are delighted that our professional and friendly staff made your stay so enjoyable especially all the bar Staff who will be over the moon with your kind comments. We are a short 10 minute drive from Sligo City Centre and do have full directions on our website, with images, GPS co-ordinates and do encourage all guests to ask for any assistance or help at reception when planning outings to other parts of Sligo to ensure that they have the best experience possible. Our 170 acre resort provides the most spectacular views and these beautifully utilized while dining in “The Middleton Bar” and we are pleased that you enjoyed the view! Thank for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter and I spent a lovely few days in this hotel. She had requested a Superior Room so we were accommodated in the old Manor House. We were in "The Lake Isle" room - very large in itself - but we also had a big sitting-room with a suite of furniture, desk, coffee table, T.V. and the tea/coffee-making facilities.
The en-suite was large and included a small sort-of dressing-room at the side. The bathrobes hung on a rack here, and this rack had some extra hangers for hanging clothing as there was no wardrobe in the bedroom, though there were plenty of drawers in antique furniture. We could, however, have done with a mirror in the bedroom, though there was one in the bathroom of course. The bed linen and towels were of high quality, like the Orla Kiely toiletries.

As this was the old Manor House (frequented in the past by the poet W.B. Yeats, a friend of the then owners) there was no lift, but the wide staircase was evocative and pleasant. As I am interested in Poetry, I found the whole place to be just my style and had a very enjoyable time there.

The Reception, restaurant, golfing area etc.were across the yard in the newer building. The food was good, the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a huge bookcase of varied and delightful reading material at our disposal. We had a car which is probably essential as the hotel is at Ballygawley, a few miles from Sligo town, and a bit off the beaten track. I certainly would go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear judyjoycethejoker,
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Accommodation Manager Chrissie is delighted that you liked the Castle Dargan House and that it suited your style. Chrissie has notified your concerns about the mirror in “The lake Isle” room and this is currently under review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food here at Castle Dargan 4 Star Resort and that our helpful & friendly staff were of utmost help to you during your stay.Thank you for your review, once again as feedback is invaluable in our industry. The Castle Dargan team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We will leave you with this delightful quote from W.B Yeats as you are an avid poetry fan and Sligo is a key location when exploring the fascinating history surrounding W.B Yeats.
“There are no strangers here; Only friends you haven't yet met”
W.B. Yeats

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a nice relaxed setting.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, especially Samantha at reception, a real asset to the hotel.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were a real treat but only downside was the lunch at the bar which was below average, the chips seemed like the chips cooked a few times and awful,
Overall excellent and will most defenitely return soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anastacia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Anastacia R,
Good Afternoon from the lovely Yeats County. Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Castle Dargan Resort. We are so pleased that our professional and friendly staff made your stay with us here so much better especially Samantha who is delighted with your kind comments. Our head Chef Melville Cook will be delighted to hear your positive comments about the food you received at Breakfast and Dinner but is saddened to hear you bar food that you received was not of our usual 4 Star Standard. We do apologize but please be assured this issue is currently under review and will be rectified promptly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for your review.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful setting, 15 minutes from Sligo town, very peaceful, friendly staff (particularly Samantha at reception), ideal for golfers.

We stayed in the Clock Tower room in the Castle Dargan house rather than in the newer hotel building which gave wonderful views of the golf course and which was very peaceful and full of old-world charm: however no WiFi and decor could be updated and light sleepers may be bothered by the early-morning grass cutting on the golf greens. Also think that, although the room was clean, it wasn't pristine.

We went on a two-night deal with choice of golf or spa package, but were disappointed that neither of these packages (which were included in the deal) were mentioned at check-in. That said, this didn't detract from an otherwise very good experience and would recommend the hotel to friends.

Thank you for the friendly welcome and look forward to returning on our next trip to Sligo. I hope that our feedback is taken in the positive spirit in which it is given.

Room Tip: Older house is beautiful but no WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Paul F,
Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words regarding Castle Dargan Resort. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our genuinely friendly and helpful staff especially Samantha who is thrilled with your kind words. Our Accommodation Manager Chrissie has been notified about your issues regarding The Clock Tower Suite and please be assured that these will be rectified promptly. We do apologise that you didn't receive your spa & golf package but if you visit again please don’t hesitate to let us know at any time if you have any issues and we would be more than happy to rectify these problems promptly as we don’t want our guests missing out on elements of their package that they are most definitely entitled to. Thank you again for your review and your feedback is much appreciated. We do hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future where you can see the benefits of your review.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at Castle Dargan in May 2014. I can't praise it enough. From the initial meeting with the wedding planner, Kim, to the big day and the barbeque on the day after, it was all that we could have hoped for. It's easy to see why Kim won the wedding venue coordinator of the year category at the recent weddingsonline awards. She is a pleasure to deal with and her enthusiasm for her job was evident as she seemed genuinely excited for us in the run up to the big day! On the day itself everything ran like clockwork. Food and service were two of our big priorities for the day and we were not disappointed. Both the meal and service were excellent. There is a lovely relaxed feeling at the hotel, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Matthew, the food and beverage manager, looked after us throughout the weekend. He is an absolute gentleman. He went out of his way to make sure our every whim was catered to. All in all it was a fantastic two days and I would have no hesitation in recommending Castle Dargan as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 82MariaS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear 82MariaS2014 ,

It is a pleasure to hear that your wedding reception was all that you were hoping for. Our Wedding Coordinator Kim Monaghan is so pleased to hear your feedback and thanks for you for choosing Castle Dargan Resort for your special day. Our food & Beverage Manager Matthew send on his appreciation and thank you for your kind words. From all the team at Castle Dargan we wish all the very best for the future and look forward welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write up this review, it is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Played this course a few times over the years. It constantly improves. Very fair and rewarding course. Holes 11 to 18 are the best finishing run of holes in the area and a tough test to complete your score.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Merv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Merv K,
Your feedback on the Castle Dargan Golf Course is very appreciated by our team and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your round of golf. Our green keeping Mark Millar will be delighted of how well you thought of the Darren Clarke designed golf course. Our Pro Golfer Xavier has informed me that the course is playing a lot easier the 2nd time round as the players get to know the lines of the tees better . Thank you for your lovely review and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Sarah Kearns
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing