We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Staying in a holiday cottage and our hosts recommended the Kings Arms. The quality of the food was excellent and not unduly overpriced. We were not offered table in the dining room. Maybe there is insufficient demand on a Monday night. The dining area in the bar area was a little noisy but OK. My starter of scallops and pea purée was a delight. My partners hot smoked salmon salad was generous in portion but not a great delight to the eye. we both had the pork dish served with an apple terrine and a black pudding fritter and celeriac purée. It was delicious. For desert my partner had a selection of sorbets which were obviously produced in house and excellent. I chose a chocolate fudge cake and stem ginger ice cream...... Some one should explain to the chef the difference between a fudge cake and a brownie! This was disappointing after the previous courses.

The serving staff were pleasant and efficient. The meal and service was leisurely. Two and a half hours from start to finish. The wine list was adequate and reasonably priced. £100 for three courses, a bottle of wine and two aperitifs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    40
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
90
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this weekend as a group of eight for an evening birthday meal. The welcome was warm and friendly. The chaps behind the bar asked us about where would be preferable to sit which made us feel valued and important. The service at the table was also great - attentive but not over the top.

The food was pricey (£13-20 for a main meal) but it was lovely. Portions were good and the variety was good too!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner for one night over the May bank holiday and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we arrived the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and I was really impressed by the standard of the rooms. We walked down the lanes to Sherborne (5 mile walk) where we had a few drinks in the sunshine before taking a taxi back to the hotel for dinner. The food was fantastic - the crab linguine in particular was very memorable. The full english in the morning was also brilliant, and once again the service at breakfast was incredibly polite and prompt. My only complaint would be the wifi which is very poor in the rooms and the bar/restaurant area. I do understand that this isn't everyone's top priority but as we were also out of reach of 3G signal (for most of Dorset!) then I do think this could be improved. Overall the perfect place to treat yourself to a nice country getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbackpackerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, Beds.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from a two night stay at the King's Arms. Travelled with our lovely friends. From start to finish we all loved our stay. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our rooms were beautiful and as a disabled guest who uses oxygen full time, my supplies had been delivered and ready to use. Tony and his staff made sure I could access everything easily , which was so helpful. The food was amazing, both evenings we had wonderful meals and breakfasts equally good. Chef Sarah and team deserve their AA rosette. The only problem with the food was choosing from the menu! Everything sounded delicious. The kitchen can be easily viewed by an internal window in the corridor, and to me that says "we have nothing to hide." Altogether a lovely, relaxing couple of days and we would love to return sometime.

Room Tip: Room 9 near lift so useful for those with mobility problems. Garden view and very peaceful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cressidasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

At the centre of a quiet village, the Kings Arms is a gem. The food and service are outstanding and this is reflected in full dinner tables - so be sure to book if you are staying.

Our room was calmly furnished and with the luxury of a wet room. A comfortable bed ensured a sound sleep. As with dinner, breakfast was excellent and locally sourced.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDerekA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We attended this venue for a celebration lunch recently; the food was excellent & staff attentive (nothing was too much trouble). Also stayed the night; the restaurant and other eating areas were all full (it was a Friday). Room was very nice being well appointed. Only small criticism would be that breakfast is rather basic given the tariff charged

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neville m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just arrived back from dinner and a night at the Kings Arms. The highlight of the stay was a truly wonderful dinner. The menu was so full of delights that it was hard to choose. I plumped for a Jospered Pork dish which was abosolutely delicious and my wife was equally impressed with her chicken. Great attentive service, great wine, very nice room with big comfortable bed. Will return for another meal soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
3.6 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
597 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
249 reviews
12.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in Corton Denham
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Horethorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing