We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hosts and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monyash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Monyash B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous hosts and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have been here a number of times and have always had a perfect stay with Stephen and Louise . The rooms are well equipped and very comfy and the breakfasts are delicious.

Sheldon House is highly recommended. we will be visting again many more times.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at Sheldon Cottage for a week in September 2012, our second visit. The quality of the accommodation and the first class hospitality has already being described and well deserves all the accolades. A great spot for walking in Lathkill, Dovedale and the Limestone Way. Monyash is a very pretty village which can get quite busy with walkers but Sheldon Cottage is just tucked away on the edge of the village and is quiet and peaceful. Only a few minutes walk to the Bull's Head Inn wher there is great pub grub reasonably priced. OK I will mention the welcoming ginger cake!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jefferson138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed overnight here in August 2012 whilst walking the Limestone Way. Just one word to describe the place and the owners - SUPERB !!! I cannot recommend it highly enough, from the excellent accomodation to the fantastic breakfast.
Geoff & Louise (East Lancs LDWA).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first night stop, when we were walking the Limestone Way, and the welcome and hospitality we received at the end of a very hard 14 miles was second to none! Both Stephen and Louise were very welcoming, as were their lovely 3 dogs. We were shown to our rooms and with a plate of home made ginger cake, and a fresh pot of tea (served with proper milk), we sank into the comfort of the wicker arm chairs, perfect....................
The rooms were very clean beautifully decorated, and had many extra little touches, which made you feel so at home, dressing gowns, slippers, chocolates just to name a few!!
Breakfast was the best I've ever had, from the amazing tasty bacon and black pudding to home made preserves. My companions started with the mixed fruit salad, and all 3 said it was very very good. I can't begin to say what a pleasure it was to stay at this lovely B&B, and if I'm ever in the region again, I would choose to stay there without hesitation. Thank you again to Louise and Stephen, wonderful wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in the blue room, and our friends were in the green room, which they said was a little hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Being a keen walker I have stayed in many B&B's but this was the best ever. The extra touches of home made cake on arrival, fresh milk rather than little UHT pots, choice of speciality teas make all the difference. In addition there are LOTS of fluffy towels, bath robes,lovely toiletries, sweets and chocolates in the room. But the best bit is the welcome from Louise, Stephen and the dogs. We stayed for one night after our first day of walking the Limestone Way - Louise was happy for our bags to have been dropped off earlier and gave us good advice about the pub for eating. First class !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The welcome from the Fanshawes was first class and brightened us up despite the dismal weather. Louise also managed to get us a table at the local pub on Jubilee weekend despite the fact it was already bursting at the seams (by the way beware the size of the portions). The room was lovely and the homemade ginger cake a real treat. The breakfast was just as good. Highly recommended and we would certainly stay again if we are in the Peak District. Hope Clive and Phil, the intrepid cyclists, made it to Holmfirth in the driving rain that day and on to Berwick.

Mike and Kathy Wilson

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Excellent self catering accommodation. Spotlessly clean. Eggs, ginger cake provided !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monyash
3.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.4 mi away
Bull I' Th' Thorn
Bull I' Th' Thorn
#1 of 1 in Hurdlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 40 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn

Property: Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
Address: Chapel Street, Monyash DE45 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Monyash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monyash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheldon House Bed and Breakfast in the wonderful White Peak District of Derbyshire, non-smoking accommodation in an 18th Century listed house2 double bedrooms with en-suite shower/WC. Full English Breakfast with homemade bread, jams and marmalade, served in the oak furnished Dining Room. Homemade cakes or biscuits, fresh flowers and fruit provided in your room. All produce is from local suppliers and mainly organic. Vegetarians and special dietary requirements catered for - prior notice required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn Monyash, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing