We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Weekend”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Ten guests and two dogs and there was plenty of room in this lovely accommodation.
Could not fault it at all. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and some treats left for us which was a nice touch. Great view of the countryside and nice and peaceful.
The wood burning fire is fab (but maybe turn the under floor heating off for a while before you light it, it gets very warm).
Would definitely love to go back, hopefully for longer next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy W
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My 50th birthday with family”
Reviewed 16 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

What a fabulous place to stay! Excellent accommodation, luxurious and welcoming. Andrea left us wine and provisions which was a lovely touch. Perfect pet friendly in a superb location. Try the Bulls Head pub in the village as great food and service. Would definitely recommend and would love to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C9124ZGDa...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great base from which to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Spingle Bran was exactly what we needed for our group. We were Mum and Dad, adult daughter and 2 elderly parents. We were celebrating my Dad's 89th birthday. It was also a trip down memory lane for my Mum as she had been evacuated to Monyash during WW2,
The accommodation was very well appointed to meet the needs of older relatives with mobility problems. This made it ideal for our needs.
The cottage was also very well appointed for everyone else in our party. TVs in every bedroom meant keeping everyone happy when viewing tastes clashed!!
Probably the best equipped kitchen we have ever had in a holiday cottage - we've stayed in quite a few both in UK and abroad.
The beds were comfortable. The bed linen and towels were clean and plentiful.
The lounge was nice and cosy. Lots of comfy settees and sofas. The high back riser chair was very welcome.
The PC is very handy for getting on line.
Lovely views from the entrance door across a well kept garden with lots of sitting out areas.
The cottage is in a great location with easy access to Bakewell, Buxton, Ashbourne and Matlock. Also great access to lots of walks, some of which are on the doorstep of the cottage.
Monyash is a lovely village. The beer and meals at The Bull are heartily recommended.
Overall a great base from which to explore the Peak District

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manofchee...
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at the Barn with a group of friends for a 50th birthday celebration. The cottage was absolutely amazing, a view shared by all four couples and was a perfect venue. The kitchen is superbly equipped with a huge fridge to store the food and importantly the wine! The sunshine was a bonus which meant we could also take advantage of the garden, for morning breakfast and use the fire pit to keep toasty warm in the evening before dining at the huge table. All of the rooms are slightly different but I would have been delighted to have stayed in any of them.

Quite simply a wonderful cottage to celebrate any occasion with family or friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a place !!”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for four days in October to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary, we were a group of 11, the sleeping arrangements were no problem as you could choose the layout of the bedrooms before we arrived we found this very helpful there is five bathrooms so no problems there a large living area where we could all relax and a huge dinning table which allowed us a to sit together and eat. Would highly recommend this cottage for large groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJtripper...
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent family accommodation”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Spingle Barn. The barn is in a perfect central location for touring the entire Peak District. It is furnished to a high standard and the beds are huge and very comfortable. We loved the American style fridge with built in ice maker and the well kept outdoor space. The family bedroom is particularly nice with plenty of space for a family of four to sleep. There is a nice village pub 5 minutes walk away with a decent childrens play area and garden. We would certainly return next time we visit the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Spingle Barn, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like a great place for a family, both at the property and around the area - wonderful! We certainly hope you return for another holiday soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at Spingle Barn”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our second visit, for a week this time, and the barn is just as good as our first visit last November. The welcome pack of homemade bread, cake, milk, etc, all great. We had a great week of weather, making the stay even more enjoyable and we used the outside space. A great base for seeing Derbyshire and the local pub is great. The only person pleased to come home was the dog so he could have a rest from all the walking. At the barn they are planning a new patio and grass area giving the barn even more outside space. May have to have another visit to see this when it is finished.
Would have no hesitation in recommending to barn to anyone and excellent value for money!
Thanks you for a great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing