We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“compact and cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon G
2 reviews
“compact and cosy”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Small cottage ideal for 2 in a lovely village; perfect for walking and visiting the area. Well furnished and clean and tidy. Overall we liked the cottage but some minor criticisms: A little bit cramped, and with the steps in and out of the kitchen it was easier to eat at the breakfast bar than carry things into the living room. Fridge had a freezer compartment rather than the fridge freezer we were expecting but we managed to squeeze in the food we had brought so not a major problem. Main criticism was that the water pressure in the shower was so low that taking a shower was almost something to be endured! Nevertheless, we really enjoyed the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
The guests obviously enjoyed staying at Avonlea but its size didn't meet their aspirations. The shower pressure was variable due to poor towns water pressure. This was recently rectified by fitting a power shower system.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location for the Peak District”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely cottage ideal for couples to use as a base. Cosy surroundings and all the amenities you require. Close to the village pub which has an extensive menu and serves excellent food at a good price ( would recommend the Barnsley Chop).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Another one of our delighted guests who sample the excellent food at the village pub, which is just 150 metres from our cottage's front door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonsi23
Llandudno Junction, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a romantic holiday”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Having been there before a few years ago, we decided to go again for our honeymoon. Perfect place to relax or take a walk from the front door and a lovely garden to sit in for breakfast in the sun. It has one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in. Shower a bit disappointing but the bath makes up for it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Owner comments:- These returning guests liked Avonlea so much that they came back for their honeymoon - - what a great recommendation. The shower has now been replaced with a power shower system following last few guest comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a wonderful time, lovely little cottage with beautiful views in the heart of the peak district. Very clean and cosy cottage with a wood burner and very comfy bed. Only down side is shower is not great, but has a large bath to make up for it

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Owner comments:- Very nice comments. Shower issues to be investigated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele A
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing cottage with lovely location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely long weekend at a great village with fantastic local pub. Cottage is well equipped and very cosy. Has everything you could need for a great holiday.
Fab location for walking and so close to bakewell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire
Liked least: Weather!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Owner Comments:- Our minimum holiday let is three days, which is applicable throughout the year and is flexible, so guests can come for long weekends or mid week breaks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was a lovely and very tidy little cottage. My boyfriend and I wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of busy life and wanted to be out in the countryside where we could walking and relax! This cottage certainly provided that. Its 5 miles from Bakewell and close to Chatsworth so most things were in easy reach. A bottle of Prosecco was presented upon arrival. The only thing is the boiler is in a cupboard in the bedroom and was a little noisy, but not noisy enough to prevent me from going back. Had a lovely time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: The boiler in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Owner comments:- We always leave sparkling wine for an arrival toast while you settle in and start relaxing. The electric central heating boiler is really quiet whilst operating and the programmable timer is set to off during sleeping hours, so its then silent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poynton99...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Lovely, everything you could need including a quality local pub”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Had a long weekend at the cottage with my partner to chill out. Lovely cottage, very warm and welcoming when we arrived and as we looked around the cottage we had big smiles on our faces. The local pub is excellent, open fire and quality wines and beer; had a meal there one night, I had the t bone steak which is amazing but couldn't eat anything else on my plate because it was so big.... just great home cooked food.
I would have given this cottage 5 stars except for the shower which is very slow and also a bit unpredicatable..... not a big problem for us but I just wanted to explain why I hadn't given 5 stars.
Julie & Nick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Squigy sofa, excellent kitchen facilities, lovely comfy bed
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Owner comments:- The title of this guest review sums up our cottage and its location nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing