We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blazastua...
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This was our first ever stay in a cottage and this one doesn't disappoint. On arrival it was a nice warm cosy welcome with a nice bottle of bubbles and chocolates. There was also a Christmas tree and decorations up to make our stay feel christmassy. We had some snow and very cold weather during our stay and it was nice and cosy in the cottage. The addition of having a wood burner made it feel even more special. Had a fantastic meal on our last night at the bulls head just down the road. Highly recommended. Cottage is ideally situated to reach many areas of the peak district. We would not hesitate to return to a fantastic place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
A lovely review from our guests. Christmas is a special time and we like to make a stay in our cottage a little bit special.
We have another 4 bookings over the Christmas period, as this is one of our busiest periods and a magical time to visit the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWoollyTr...
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage at Heart of Peak District”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was perfectly situated for our 10-day stay in the Peak District. It was conveniently located to all the sights and attractions. Walking trails located a short distance from the front door, with Bakewell and Buxton only minutes away. The cottage was as promised and the photos are accurate. It is a nice place to stay and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Lovely review from our Canadian guests who would definitely return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_clarecro...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A wonderful well equipped cottage in a perfect location. Monyash is beautiful and we had a great night in the local pub. The cottage has everything you need and is great place to explore the Peaks. Thank you Chris & Carole...lovely personal touch when we arrived too with prodecco waiting for us, we had a great 4 days. Clare and Ant X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Another lovely review from our guests who visited in May. Its nice for us to receive reviews as it help us to understand what our guests like and where we can improve Avonlea, to suit personal tastes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful, peaceful Peak village”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from our three night stay at Avonlea and we absolutely were not disappointed! From the very first interaction we were welcomed by the very helpful owners and made to feel right at home.

Monyash itself is right in the middle of the Peak District and so the cottage proved the perfect base to explore from. The cottage is easy to find and had all the necessary comforts of home. The log fire was a very pleasant addition to curl up in front of after a long day of exploring. The whole property has everything you could need for your stay - as the description says, you need only bring food!

We did cook for ourselves one evening of our stay and the kitchen was well supplied for self-catering. I would also recommend a visit to the nearby Royal Oak pub, a short drive away, and of course the very local Bull's Head is a must. Just don't make the rookie mistake we did of not realising it didn't open until 5.30pm for dinner!

Overall I couldn't rate Avonlea highly enough and we would definitely stay there again if visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
What a stunning review from one of our recent guests and as owners, we really appreciate their comments and feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swe16epy
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A well equipped cottage. Excellent location for touring and walks. Very quite and peaceful area. Lovely welcome pack on arrival.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
We always prepare our cottage to a high standard for each guest's stay.
The village of Monyash is ideally placed as a central location for exploring the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pach12017
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage for two”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfect location in Monyash in the Derbyshire Peak District with plenty of walks close by. Well appointed cottage with lovely comfortable bed and huge bathroom. We were here in cold damp February but cottage central heating is very efficient plus log burning stove makes it extremely cosy. We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Lovely feedback from guests who enjoyed their stay and nice to know they intend to return.

Carole and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjjjjjjhh...
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“cosy, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Monyash is a superb location for a relaxing break. There are many excellent walks in the area and great cycling too.Lots of other attractions in the area too.
The pub in the village is great, with good food.
The cottage has everything you could possibly need. The wood burner helps to make it seem even copier if you are there in the winter. The owners have thought of everything you might need - so no need to think about what you need to take. Christmas they even put up a tree with lights and lots of other Christmassy treats for you on arrival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Its great to have feedback from guests about their experiences of staying in our cottage and the local area. It nice to hear they appreciated the cottage being dressed for Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing