We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulous gite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mouliets et Villemartin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison de la Riviere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faboulous gite”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the gite for the week and had such a peaceful and enjoyable time. The gite is beautifully appointed with a mix of luxury bathrooms but French chateau charm to the bedrooms and lounge. On the banks of the dordogne with a small road separating the gite from the river we sat in the private garden and enjoyed a glass of wine whilst the river flowed passed. The pool and gardens are shared with the B and B guests and are stunning. Julie and Basel are lovely hosts and we could not have asked for more. La Table Rouge restaurant is on the door step so if you don't fancy the BBQ eating out is very easy. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I cannot praise this Hotel more than the previous reviews have done already. The owners Julie and Basil are fantastic hosts with an exceptional B&B. My partner and I stayed here with another couple (across the hall) to celebrate our friend's wedding and could not have been more fortunate to stay at the Maison de la Rivière. It truly was the icing on the cake to make it an unforgettable weekend. Highly recommended for anyone planning to visit this beautiful part of France, you are guaranteed to have the most amazing time.

Room Tip: Jardin room was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the moment we arrived onto this beautifully appointed property along the wonderful Dordogne river, we were impressed. The immaculate grounds. The stunning pool area. And a warm & friendly welcome from the owners (Julie & Basil) who were the ultimate hosts. They gave us lots of great advice on local restaurants and went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. My wife and I stayed in one of the two newly renovated B&B rooms which was beautifully decorated with a romantic French style. The bathroom was also fantastic with quality fixtures and products. The breakfast was another great experience and Basil makes the meanest omelette in town. You notice the attention to detail, the style and class everywhere and for us it was PERFECT. There's lots to do, whether it's a trip to the local markets, a vineyard tour and tasting or a visit to the stunning nearby town of Saint-Emilion. I can not stop telling all my friends what a great place La Maison de la Rivière is, and If anyone was heading in that direction I would highly recommend they make a reservation with these guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMcGreevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Want a France holiday in a stunning B&B? This is the place. The owners are truly lovely, laid back and extremely thoughtful. Having a big night out well then...breakfast is a bit later and bloody Mary's are available! Pool...epic. Many restaurants nearby and Julie and Basil always are helpful on day trips. Glorious!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Regan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Where to begin?
First the owners, Julie and Basil, are brilliant people and hosts. We felt so welcome and relaxed. They were always available and real made us feel welcome. Both have been here for years and know the area well. They gave a couple places to go, including the stunning medieval village of St Emilion, which was only 15 minutes away.

The accommodations are perfect in my eyes.
I'm a creative director that usually finds design faults in everything. Not here. Julie & Basil have done a brilliant job balancing aged french textures with modern, fresh tones. From the paint colours, to the linens, to the fresh lavender next to your herb omelette – they've thought about the details that change everything.

The rooms are everything you want.
The bed and linens are lovely. Loads of pillows. I love pillows. The tiled, walk-in shower is nice and big with huge tap softly raining down on you. Mini-fridge is hidden away in a lovely antique cabinet and stocked with local wine and a beer.

Breakfast is lovely.
Julie makes a perfect herb omelette with fresh cut tomatoes.
Yogurt, cereal, and pastries galore. Three different jams. Apple & orange juices, expresso, plunge coffee and tea of course. And Sunday morning after a wedding night, bloody marys welcomed us and set to easy any worries of the night before.

The grounds are perfect.
Set across from the river, you drive through the gates into a little bit of heaven. Calming tile mixed with well manicured grass and bushes, loose stones and a perfectly blue pool. Umbrellas and loungers invite you to have a moment of relaxation by the pool that can span from 30 minutes to the entire day.

My wife and I, both in our late 30’s, came down for a wedding and to have a tiny break from our two lovely children. This was the perfect place for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChadWarnerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mouliets et Villemartin
3.7 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
62 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
123 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
778 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
Le Grand Chemin de la Vie
#1 of 8 in Montcaret
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aux Raisin Vert
Aux Raisin Vert
#1 of 3 in Castillon-la-Bataille
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de la Riviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Riviere

Property: La Maison de la Riviere
Address: 58 avenue de la Dordogne, 33350 Mouliets et Villemartin, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Mouliets et Villemartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mouliets et Villemartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation on the leafy banks of the Dordogne. We provide two luxury bed & breakfast rooms overlooking the river. In the heart of Bordeaux wine country, just a few minutes from the famous vineyards of St.Emilion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison De La Riviere Gironde/Mouliets Et Villemartin, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing