We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights while on a walking holiday in Brittany (for you walkers, it is right near the GR 34). We had a pretty room looking out over the pond behind the hotel. Breakfasts were great and the staff very friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    57
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
177
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here 15 years ago, and have just returned for a week's holiday. My memories were wonderful, and reinforced on my return. The "rooms" are like miniature cottages, the beds comfortable, the showers hot and powerful, the walls stone, and the floors tiled, The breakfast is the best of local produce, fresh croissants, home-made jam, and wonderful coffee. Free, fast broadband throughout the complex, and a very helpful and hospitable host and hostess (the host being the son of the owners from my first visit). The lake (too large to describe as a duck pond), wildlife, and views of the beach and bay just add to a totally peaceful, idyllic environment.

Room Tip: All are good, Room 18 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We found this wonderful place via the Internet and we were not disappointed at all. We stayed 4 days in the room 12bis with view on the hotel lake and the seaside. Owners of the hotel were very friendly from the first minute to the last minute, they gave us for free the real holiday feeling. Excellent breakfast in the garden near the lake (we adored the home-made "pommes avec calvados confiture"), excellent way to start your day. The hotel is located in the center of the "Armor", so we could do our trips to Saint-Malo, Dinard, Cancale, Dinan, Le Brehat, Fort de La Latte, Cap Fréhel, Erquy, ... without spending too much time in the car. We will come back here ...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignace_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed here recently. Nice location. Windy and wild outside! Great views. Pillows need to be revisted...bed was ok. Definately a 2 star. In the small bathroom there was a huge wooden basin area where you needed to come into the bedroom area to dry yourself as there was no room in the bathroom once the door was closed. Have to agree with the comment about the breakfast - would be nicer if the yummy croissants were on offer on a side table so you could take one if you wanted to. Then you know or don't feel 'committed' to just have one! Overall a nice stay for the right price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_Manoir, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Thank you for your true feedback.

We take very seriously every remark and we will definitely be doing something very soon about the pillows.

The fresh croissants are baked on site and we try to serve them warm that’s why we bring them to you . We know they are well appreciated and you are welcome to ask for more if you want to, we will be pleased to serve you.

Yes we agree with you that some bathrooms are small but in a 400 years old Sandstone House, it is not always easy to do what you want ;-)

Whilst we have rooms starting 47€ (average price 60€), we also have rooms with a larger bathroom, some with bath and shower separate (eg.room#20, #18, #12bis, #12, #9, #11 and #10) and that’s why we put photos of every single room on our website so you can choose one of them depending on your budget or your awaiting of comfort.

We hope we’ll have the opportunity to greet you one more time at the manor to test the new pillows! ;-)

Jerome and the Manor’s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soldeu
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We felt the hotel offered very good value for money. In particular we both found the bed very comfortable - which is not always the case!

Unfortunately the weather was rather cool in our first week. However on our last day we had breakfast on the lawn and it was made it a very special meal with the amazing view the property has.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soldeuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_Manoir, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Many thanks for your Review.

Our prices are low , we know it and it is on purpose.
We pay a lot attention to propose the best value for the money.
Explanation:
That'y why you may not find us on Online Travel Agencies (booking and the lot ;-).
What other Hotels pay as fees in (expensive) commissions, we give it back directly to guests like you.
The equation is simple:
great value for money= very happy guests= good reviews on the net= we carry on happily to please you.

....And we have even a lot of Fun doing it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

All enquiries before we stayed at the hotel were answered promptly and in a friendly manner, a good impression was made from the start. We were given a choice of rooms and were directed to their website where we could see what each room looked like before we booked which was great.
When we arrived we were met by the owner, Jerome, who showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome. We had our two year old with us and they were more than happy to accommodate us with a cotbed, high chair etc....
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, plenty of room for an energetic two year to run around, she particularly liked the ducks by the lake and the very friendly hen who was always nearby to say hello!
The room was lovely and comfortable and we had a peaceful two nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was very nice with plenty to chose from.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_Manoir, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for your review.
It comfort us to carry on this way and to improve our place so that you feel relax and at home when you stay at the Manoir.
Please to welcome you back (Pilou the hen always enjoy picking aperitif biscuits...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

stayed here for a 3-night Ascension Day weekend.
Friendly owners and well maintained rooms. Some rooms seem to be a bit more up-to-date/modern than others.
Huge lawn with a pond that proved good fun for the kids.
Outdoor tables and chairs are placed on the lawn and in front of the ground floor rooms, so you can have a drink and look at the sea, which is within easy walking distance.
Price/quality is of an acceptable level, although the breakfast could improve a bit (one croissant limit per person is a bit restrictive, especially when you serve great croissants).
Our mattress (room 7) was a bit too soft.
But all in all a very pleasant stay, we were very happy with it

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cauchy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_Manoir, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
We thank you for your review witch help us to correct things we do dont see rapidly enough. The matress is will be checked and changed if needed for a harder one.

For the breakfast, it would've been a pleasure to serve you a extra croissant if we knew you wanted one.
As you noticed, exept for llittle buffet with cereals and Homemade marmelade and cake, we serve breakfast individualy at the the table, but you can have anything we propose "all you can eat"...inlcuding fresh croissants!

Please to welcome you once again, and next time we will make sure that you get two "croissants frais" in your corb!

Best regards
jerome and the Manor team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
1.1 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#3 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Diane
Hotel de Diane
#2 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
255 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel de la Plage d'Erquy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Ker Moor Preference
Hotel Ker Moor Preference
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quay-Portrieux
449 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#2 of 5 in Pleneuf-Val-Andre
99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Beausejour
Hotel Beausejour
#1 of 3 in Erquy
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel

Property: Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Address: 38 rue de la Carquois, 22240 Sables-d'Or-les-Pins, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 400 years old Manor-Hotel 35mn from Saint-Malo and 75 mn from Mont Saint-Michel.All the rooms have a complete bathroom (some withbathtub), Flat screen TV with english channels, safe.Private free carpark on site.Located 300 Yards from the beautiful beach of the Sables d'Or les Pins, the Manor has its own lake and park with seeview.Very large breakfast with home made marmalade, cheese, fruit and home made cake Near the Cap Frehel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Michel Hotel
Hotel Le Manoir Saint Michel Brittany/Sables-D'Or-Les-Pins, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing