We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a grand small hotel in a fascinating mountain area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valsavarenche
Certificate of Excellence
Grassau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a grand small hotel in a fascinating mountain area”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Room, dinner, breakfast - top, as you seldom can expect in a big city - here in a small village, at the end of Valsavarenche, for starting or returning to Gran Paradiso and other big walkings! I was here already at 1999 and 2000, the hotel was good, bus now it is really perfect!

Room Tip: Take rooms on the east side - f.i. Room #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SERVIZI0_CLIENTI, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback, it's really appreciated from us.

We hope to see you another time at Gran Paradiso Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    71
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
96
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were extremely well looked after, including helping with a couple of issues which came up. Early breakfast (6.30) was laid on on our last day before driving back to Geneva. The location is spectacular. The food (included in a dinner, bed and breakfast deal) were all excellent. I very much hope to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

If you're thinking of doing some climbing in and around the Gran Paradiso in the Aosta valley, we can give the Hotel Gran Paradiso an absolute 5 star rating. The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating, the staff was friendly and efficient, the rooms were very comfortable, the food was excellent. We had a group of 7 hikers and we all shared these sentiments.

This is a real gem of a hotel and we recommend it highly.

Michael & Sue

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Excellent facilities, service and food. Rooms are airy and roomy with large closets, fine bar and restaurant, sunny patio facing the mountains and very convenient to hiking paths. Good internet service in the rooms as well as in the public areas Staff accommodated our last-minute request for change in our reservations. We developed car trouble (dead battery) and the proprietor drove one of us 40 minutes down the valley for help and provided jumper cables. On the morning of our departure the proprietor provided a full breakfast one hour earlier than standard time in order to accommodate our travel plans. We plan to return to this terrific place

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kck40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week and everything was perfect: food,room,staff very friendly,view amazing!thank you very much to gran paradiso!We Will come back!
Jody&marc

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobrown9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Gran Paradiso is wonderful alternative for those that don't camp. The area is quite isolated. The hotel is literally located at the end of the road. There is a small market, two restaurants in the hotel and comfy rooms. The food was very good overall, although more bland than Italian food tried in other regions of Italy. The staff was very friendly and helpful when necessary. The surrounding area is beautiful with snow capped peaks in the distance. I do not hike but my family took several long hikes and loved the accessibility and convenience of the trails. Many varieties of wildlife were seen and the wildflowers were magnificent. If you are looking for comfort and isolation while enjoying the outdoors this is the place. The hotel has wifi that works well most of the time for those who need to stay connected.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Florida563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here on a recent hiking trip in the Valsavarenche. The hotel is in a beautiful valley and has a lot of character. Since there's a big camping site next door, there are a lot of people around during the day, but at night it was very quiet and peaceful. Our room was very clean, with a large balcony. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant are included in the rate, which makes the hotel a good deal (also, the food was quite good). I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy the beauty of the area without roughing it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalFoodie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valsavarenche
3.0 mi away
a' l'Hostellerie du Paradis
a' l'Hostellerie du Paradis
#2 of 2 in Valsavarenche
118 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
10.1 mi away
Maison des Myrtilles
Maison des Myrtilles
#1 of 3 in Valgrisenche
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Granta Parey
Hotel Granta Parey
#1 of 2 in Rhemes-Notre-Dame
110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Boule de Neige
Hotel Boule de Neige
#2 of 2 in Rhemes-Notre-Dame
100 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Loc. Pont 25 | Aosta, 11010 Valsavarenche, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valsavarenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Valsavarenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gran Paradiso, in the middle of Gran Paradiso Park (at an altitude of 2000 mt), is a perfect destination for people who love nature and quietness in a wonderful environment. Our hotel has eighteen rooms, a restaurant for hotel guests and a nice private lounge with cheamny where you can spend some time reading a book or simply relaxing yourself at the end of the day. In the building it's present a bar/self-service, where all people coming in Valsavarenche looking for mountains and Park animals contact could make a lunch stop Our hotel is a not-smoking structure. We would accept your pets, but it is not allowed to introduce them in common rooms. Hotel is closed in October and November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing