We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price -offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mantova - Vrhnika
Ranked #3 of 4 Vrhnika B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2013

had a nice stay and close for a visit of NewYear Lubiana. wsnt my 1st stay, i do return here often.
price is very good. you get free wifi in lobby and rooms. retaurant offers nice alla carte menu, and you can get daily menu meal from 4,9€, wich includes main meak with salad and dessert.
i recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

This review might be biased by the fact that it is more about what the town of Vrhnika offers than the hotel itself. We more or less accidently stayed for a couple of nights in this average hotel, but instead of going for day trips in Ljubljana, we investigated the surroundings and found out that this area is a fascinating hidden gem. First is the incredible nature - we went for a walk with kids to the spring of Ljubljanica river, discovered some nice climbing places, magic forest, the swamp area with many birds... Secondly, we met some great local people who were willing to give us some hints and offered us to have drinks with them. Thirdly, the whole place has some specialy arty, independent feeling, which makes you feel comfortable. The hotel might be a bit out of this line, which is unfortunate, but if somebody with some creative mind would touch it, it could become a great place with a soul. The stuff is a bit disinterested in the customers, but generally we did not find anything really to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Upon arrival at the Hotel Montova (booked to be close for a visit to Ljubljana, travelling up from Croatia, before flying home the next day) we were allocated a family room on the top floor. The room itself was tired, dated and smelt musty - the reason for the latter became clear as we realised that water was leaking from the air con unit and dripping onto the floor.

We raised this problem with reception who seem very unconcerned (as if that was normal!) and we had to push for a transfer to another room, Although the replacement was smaller, the (non-leaking) air con unit was very underpowered and did little to reduce the room temperature.

Very few eating options in Vrhnika so we ate at the café/bar/restaurant attached to the hotel. Portions were large but food largely uninspiring as was the inclusive breakfast, which had limited choice in rather spartan surroundings.

We also experienced quite a lot of road and other noise early morning meaning this was the worst hotel of our 10 day trip round Slovenian & Croatia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wanted to stay in central Ljubljana center, but was late with reservation and Ljubljana's hotels were really expensice. At the other side, I have found out, that what I needed to do, was located a bit outskirts and hotel Mantova in Vrhnika was recommended.
The room price was much less than half in comparison to Ljubljana hotels, but everything was fine. Room big enough and comfortable, bathroom nice and equiped with basic toiletries, bed confortable, breakfast tastefull and rich enough. No minibar but gratis wi-fi.
I made a reservation on booking.com and was sure that there is 24-hrs reception... unfortunatelly there was not the case and when I came back to the hotel at 2 in the morning there was nobody there.... I have made a several calls to hotel reception, phone rang everywhere and after 10 minutes, cleaning lady let me in... There was a sign on the door that reception is closed few (midnight to 3?), but I didnt see it before and had the infor from booking.com in my mind... But this was not issue... I entered the hotel anyway :)

If you look for the cheap accomodation close to Ljubljana, this is a good option - only 200 meters from higway, 10 minutes to Ljubljana, 15 minutes to Ljubljana center. If you do not travel by car, there are cheap bus connection to Slovenia capital (0.5 hrs or less to central Ljubljana station).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed there for one night as part of a group excursion. Upon arrival, there was a major issue with reservation: even though we had booked a certain number of rooms, hotel had accommodated another group and we had to use what was available. This meant I had to share a bed with another person, contrary to my desire. Double bed wasn't that big, anyway. There was a small fridge but no minibar per se. TV looked decent, but I didn't get to trying the channels. I went downstairs irritated by the accommodation issue, topped by the lack of Internet (wi-fi is available only in lobby!!!) To try and make up, after I emptied a glass at the bar, I wasn't charged by the hotel. Bar looked nice anyway (dark beer was horrible, but it's local Slovenian after all); breakfast the next morning was good, and the staff very friendly. Toliet/bathroom was good, too. Overall, much better than some "4 star"s I've tried in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana_C_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Excellent position if you are travelling for business around Lubljiana. Comfort is standard and "minimum" for a hotel... The restaurant is ok, good bier and good calamari. In sommer is nice to seat outside and it looks like the life center of Vrhnika.
Breakfast room is a bit "sad", small and not really inviting. But in general a good standard hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birkenmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good staff and location with a decent bar/cafe attached. The hotel is located right in the middle of town, very easy to find. Rooms are a decent size but we asked to be moved to one with a bigger bed (most doubles have standard beds, we prefer king size), the receptionist was obliging and moved us. The hotel is pretty worn out and needs to be renewed. I noticed that the hotel was a three star but had previously been a four star, so maybe a hotel on it's way down. Bar and cafe attached was hugely popular with locals, good staff, food and drink. This may explain why they are neglecting the hotel to some extent, since they're probably making more money on food and drink. Not a great hotel, but not a complete disaster either - just don't plan to stay for more than a couple of nights. Breakfast pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vrhnika hotels
2.1 mi away
Guesthouse Bistra
Guesthouse Bistra
#2 of 4 in Vrhnika
31 reviews
3.5 mi away
Guesthouse Mesec Zaplana
1.3 mi away
Guest House Bajc
Guest House Bajc
#4 of 4 in Vrhnika
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mantova - Vrhnika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mantova - Vrhnika

Address: Cankarjev trg 6, Vrhnika 1360, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Inner Carniola Region > Vrhnika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vrhnika
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mantova - Vrhnika 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel 20 km south of Ljubljana direction Trieste Italy. Hotel have 22 rooms, restaurant, cafe, bar. It is located 1 km from highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mantova - Vrhnika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing