We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an eventful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villefontaine
Reviewed 10 August 2013

we chose this destination as an ideal stop between Chambery and our flight back from Lyon airport, however we did not realise how eventful it would be! Several attempts to book online were foiled by the accord group website failure to log me so the booking was done by phone via an Indian call centre - already this did not bode well. On arrival we were sent to a room but the key didn't work - back to reception - equipped with a new key we found on entry a room which was not ready. Ok, these things happen, we returned to a very apologetic receptionist (rather nervous, maybe new?) and he gave us another room. This time the room was far too small to fit in the 3rd bed (as booked with India!) so back I went again. Receptionist apologised again and agreed to upgrade us to a larger room (as I had requested in the booking in the first place) for the same cost. What happened next was beyond unusual however. Once settled into the room with its jacuzzi bath, husband says he can hear water running. We tell him someone must be having a shower next door. He opens the room door to find water gushing through the corridor ceiling - a few minutes blind panic as we are next to a lift and have visions of a power outage. Couldn't get hold of reception but spoke to a lovely guy on room service who soon appears - is clearly shocked by the "leak" being rather catastrophic and fetches an umbrella to evacuate us from the corridor (we were the only ones there). He does this with good humour and the lovely lady at reception goes out of her way to move us in to a suite. These are the most expensive rooms in the place, with a kitchen area. Plenty of space now. She also organises breakfast for us in the morning on the house. Breakfast was a good spread which they had to pull off with limited lighting thanks to the need to switch off some of the power supplies whilst the water damage is repaired. (health and saftey note: you really should warn your guests to beware of the lighting power lead) So, despite a rather unusual set of circumstances we left feeling rather endeared of a staff who had gone the extra mile to make the best of a very short somewhat adventurous stay :) The location is fairly bleak but the hotel itself has 2 nice pools and some lovely staff. Fine for a stop off.

Room Tip: if you want space for more than 2 avoid a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terimac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a good value Mercure outside of the Lyon busy area. No issues, booking smooth, Check in smooth, Staff very friendly, speaks English well, Rooms were clean and everything in its place. Parking available, Small Pool area to relax after a long day of driving /working, an ideal stopover spot when driving from top of europe to Saint Tropez Med area. Menu in Hotel is reasonable, food is served hot, Breakfast is limited as expected in the region. All in all, no compliants about this hotel, not WOW, but definitivly not bad and worth the rates they charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerardgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok and what you expect from a Mercure it is close to the airport and makes Lyon easy

The service in the Bistro was so bad it is beyond rating and give the restaurant is inexplicibly closed on weekends it was our only choice. The staff were surly and ignored everyone at breakfast and dinner, you had to ask at least 3 times for anything and service just stopped all together when they all had their smoko. We asked to watch the Tour de France which they pretended not to know and then one of the staff came in and changed the channel while we were watching it and glared at us for telling him to change it back

Similarly bad service at breakfast but the Bistro takes the prize for worste ever

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

As usual with Mercure hotel, you have good and and average ones. This one clearly falls in the latter category. Simply nice rooms, without frills. I would suggest the studios that have a small but serviceable kitchen.

Staff is very helpful and nice, however the bar personnel is seriously understaffed, which seems to be a given with Mercure hotels, as the waiting staff often doubles as bar staff. Nice bar though, however the onsite restaurant is better avoided, since food (apart form the very average pizza's) is "fridge to microwave", sometimes with uncooked chicken (a killer) as a result.

Consider "Mamma's Kitchen" restaurant at 15 mins from there for lunch or dinner.

Nice place, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: I'd go for the studio's outside the main hotel, and at that choose a studio equipped with ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

the hotel is based in the middle of nowhere, surounded with a highway and a busy local street. Its mainly business area with not much to do in spare time. The hotel offers a fitness, sauna and pool. The standard rooms are small and not well ventilated. teh privillage room offers a bit more comfort which is worth for a longer stay. A/C was working fine at the privilage room while the standard rooms struggled with the central heating/cooling.
Very friendly staff at reception, but not in the bar and restaurant - very ignorant.
Breakfast was good enough, but not the food at the 2 restaurants and bar.

Room Tip: ask for a privillege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and found it pleasant enough. The rooms are of a decent size and clean.

During our stay we had meals in both the main restaurant and the bar. Both of these are reasonably priced and of good quality. The choice of breakfast was good as was the service.

The location is ideal for the many large companies in the area but apart from this there is not much else to do in the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J9CPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I would imagine many local companies have special rates at the hotel given the number of businesses in the proximity but ours was €93 per night with breakfast. As for location there is nothing around but is handy for workplaces, I suppose. The building itself looks a little tired and outdated but it does have a gym (which I didn't use), an outside and inside pool and a tennis court at the back for which you can hire racquets. In terms of food the breakfast is fine with a fair bit of choice and freshly squeezed orange juice. The restaurant was not bad with a menu for €23 which was reasonable enough (even though one dessert was just a biscuit with some cream on top) but the bar wasn't great for food. One plus point was that they have a big screen for football in the bar which is handy when there's not much else around to do (including Premiership football on Canal + Sport). Staff were friendly but the rooms could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fido_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefontaine
2.7 mi away
Campanile L'Isle d'Abeau
Campanile L'Isle d'Abeau
#1 of 4 in L'Isle-d'Abeau
113 reviews
2.1 mi away
ibis budget Lyon l'Isle d'Abeau
ibis budget Lyon l'Isle d'Abeau
#2 of 2 in Saint-Quentin-Fallavier
175 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyriad Bourgoin Jallieu
Kyriad Bourgoin Jallieu
#1 of 4 in Bourgoin Jallieu
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Lyon Est - Saint Quentin - Fallavier Aeroport
Premiere Classe Lyon Est - Saint...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Quentin-Fallavier
238 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau
Ibis Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau
#3 of 4 in L'Isle-d'Abeau
124 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau

Address: 20 rue Antoine Condorcet | Parc Technologique, 38090 Villefontaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Villefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villefontaine
Price Range: £60 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Lyon L'Isle D'Abeau hotel boasts 189 air-conditioned rooms and is situated in a 10-acre tree-filled park, 15.5 Miles from Lyon and only 9.3 Miles from Lyon St-Exupery airport (and TGV train station). It features two restaurants, one bar, modular meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 people, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an Ikebana center (indoor and outdoor pools, body-building room, hammam, beauticians by appointment),and CCTV-monitored parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing