We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor wi-fi spoilt experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villefontaine
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Despite its remote out-of-town location, there is much to like about this Mercure. This seems to be a business-centric hotel that gets most of its clients from people visiting the companies in the immediate vicinity. Not many tourists will find their way unless they're en route to Grenoble and need an overnight stop. The staff were friendly and the restaurants acceptable (apart, this it, for the rubbery scrambled eggs served at breakfast). The bedrooms are newly refurbished (or was in my case) and very pleasant, as are the general facilities in the hotel. Good bed, good bathroom, and good working area were all appreciated. But my ability to work was dramatically affected by the very poor Wi-Fi service. Quite why this service feels it necessary to gather a lot of personal data before allowing a connection is a mystery (but you can feed it rubbish as no validation seems to be done). That initial irritation is followed up by the service dropping very quickly if your PC is inactive for any reason. I could cope with that, but I couldn't cope with the extremely poor throughput and overall network performance. This varied from time to time during the day and was worse (unusable) in the 5pm to 7pm period when lots of guests probably attempted to use the service to check email etc. I cannot understand why a business hotel, especially one that caters for lots of HP staff (visiting the facility across the road) cannot provide fast and reliable network connectivity. Despite the friendly staff, I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 1940janet
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ombWV
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2013

we chose this destination as an ideal stop between Chambery and our flight back from Lyon airport, however we did not realise how eventful it would be! Several attempts to book online were foiled by the accord group website failure to log me so the booking was done by phone via an Indian call centre - already this did not bode well. On arrival we were sent to a room but the key didn't work - back to reception - equipped with a new key we found on entry a room which was not ready. Ok, these things happen, we returned to a very apologetic receptionist (rather nervous, maybe new?) and he gave us another room. This time the room was far too small to fit in the 3rd bed (as booked with India!) so back I went again. Receptionist apologised again and agreed to upgrade us to a larger room (as I had requested in the booking in the first place) for the same cost. What happened next was beyond unusual however. Once settled into the room with its jacuzzi bath, husband says he can hear water running. We tell him someone must be having a shower next door. He opens the room door to find water gushing through the corridor ceiling - a few minutes blind panic as we are next to a lift and have visions of a power outage. Couldn't get hold of reception but spoke to a lovely guy on room service who soon appears - is clearly shocked by the "leak" being rather catastrophic and fetches an umbrella to evacuate us from the corridor (we were the only ones there). He does this with good humour and the lovely lady at reception goes out of her way to move us in to a suite. These are the most expensive rooms in the place, with a kitchen area. Plenty of space now. She also organises breakfast for us in the morning on the house. Breakfast was a good spread which they had to pull off with limited lighting thanks to the need to switch off some of the power supplies whilst the water damage is repaired. (health and saftey note: you really should warn your guests to beware of the lighting power lead) So, despite a rather unusual set of circumstances we left feeling rather endeared of a staff who had gone the extra mile to make the best of a very short somewhat adventurous stay :) The location is fairly bleak but the hotel itself has 2 nice pools and some lovely staff. Fine for a stop off.

Room Tip: if you want space for more than 2 avoid a standard room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terimac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a good value Mercure outside of the Lyon busy area. No issues, booking smooth, Check in smooth, Staff very friendly, speaks English well, Rooms were clean and everything in its place. Parking available, Small Pool area to relax after a long day of driving /working, an ideal stopover spot when driving from top of europe to Saint Tropez Med area. Menu in Hotel is reasonable, food is served hot, Breakfast is limited as expected in the region. All in all, no compliants about this hotel, not WOW, but definitivly not bad and worth the rates they charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerardgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok and what you expect from a Mercure it is close to the airport and makes Lyon easy

The service in the Bistro was so bad it is beyond rating and give the restaurant is inexplicibly closed on weekends it was our only choice. The staff were surly and ignored everyone at breakfast and dinner, you had to ask at least 3 times for anything and service just stopped all together when they all had their smoko. We asked to watch the Tour de France which they pretended not to know and then one of the staff came in and changed the channel while we were watching it and glared at us for telling him to change it back

Similarly bad service at breakfast but the Bistro takes the prize for worste ever

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

As usual with Mercure hotel, you have good and and average ones. This one clearly falls in the latter category. Simply nice rooms, without frills. I would suggest the studios that have a small but serviceable kitchen.

Staff is very helpful and nice, however the bar personnel is seriously understaffed, which seems to be a given with Mercure hotels, as the waiting staff often doubles as bar staff. Nice bar though, however the onsite restaurant is better avoided, since food (apart form the very average pizza's) is "fridge to microwave", sometimes with uncooked chicken (a killer) as a result.

Consider "Mamma's Kitchen" restaurant at 15 mins from there for lunch or dinner.

Nice place, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: I'd go for the studio's outside the main hotel, and at that choose a studio equipped with ki...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefontaine
4.5 mi away
Kyriad Bourgoin Jallieu
Kyriad Bourgoin Jallieu
#1 of 4 in Bourgoin Jallieu
228 reviews
2.7 mi away
Campanile L'Isle d'Abeau
Campanile L'Isle d'Abeau
#1 of 4 in L'Isle-d'Abeau
108 reviews
2.1 mi away
ibis budget Lyon l'Isle d'Abeau
ibis budget Lyon l'Isle d'Abeau
#2 of 2 in Saint-Quentin-Fallavier
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Lyon Est - Saint Quentin - Fallavier Aeroport
Premiere Classe Lyon Est - Saint...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Quentin-Fallavier
237 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kyriad Prestige & Spa Lyon Est - Saint Priest Eurexpo
13.4 mi away
Novotel Lyon Bron Eurexpo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau

Address: 20 rue Antoine Condorcet | Parc Technologique, 38090 Villefontaine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Villefontaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villefontaine
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Lyon L'Isle D'Abeau hotel boasts 189 air-conditioned rooms and is situated in a 10-acre tree-filled park, 15.5 Miles from Lyon and only 9.3 Miles from Lyon St-Exupery airport (and TGV train station). It features two restaurants, one bar, modular meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 people, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an Ikebana center (indoor and outdoor pools, body-building room, hammam, beauticians by appointment),and CCTV-monitored parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Lyon L'Isle d'Abeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing