We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Verger sous les Vignes
Ranked #1 of 1 Villeferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful place with great staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed in a cabin at Le Verger sous les Vignes for 3 nights in July. At check in, the Lady at reception was so friendly and helpful she really made us welcome and was able to give us lots of tips about what to do and see (She was happy to explain everything in English). Our Cabin room was nice, had everything we needed including a small garden with seating. Breakfast in the morning was served on a gorgeous terrace and the staff were super helpful (Breakfast choice was a little limited - cornflakes, breads, croissants, cheese, tea & Coffee). The hotel has a restaurant and also self catering facilities. We ate at the restaurant 2 evenings, there is just one menu (changes everyday) we got lucky on the first night as we ate everything on the menu, however on the 2nd night I did not like the main course choice the restaurant staff were lovely and they made me another dish. The staff are just so accomodating and helpful. There is not much in the village of Villeferry but you are only a short drive from lots of tourist sights (Alesia, Flanigny- sur -Ozerain, Fontenay Abbey, Château de Bussy-Rabutin) and only 12 km from Venarey-Les Laumes which has a large supermarket, bakery, pharmacy, ATM etc.. We really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing and peaceful and the staff were fantastic. The village and all surrounding areas are beautiful, the village is an easy 48km drive from Dijion.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins (there are 3 together) friends of ours stayed in the cabin next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
55
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

What makes this special is the location in a small village in the Burgogne countryside. Te breakfast room had a beautiful view which made for a most relaxing breakfast. Our room was a bit dissapointing though. I read that each room has it's own terrace type of space, ours was a sad little corner of a yard that was very overgrown and a not so nice view of the neighbors. Additionally, we shared the space with the room next to us as well so not really a private terrace as listed. The room was basic and clean. We heard a scratching in the wall once or twice that sounded suspiciously like a rodent, but out rat terriers did not alert to it so who really knows. The pan in the shower was shallow and caused a bit of flooding in the bathroom. I could stay here again but would NOT want those rooms. Some of the rooms looked like they had great views so I felt a bit of a let down with our room.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband surprised me with a weekend stay at Le Verger sous le Vignes. It was great. We had a little cabin up on the hill (ask for these) with a bath. We stayed one night and it was a great place to stay to explore the surrounding areas. The hosts were wonderful and breakfast was great. We had a delightful time!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms up on the hill, ours had a bath, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PodiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a couple of nights at Le Verger sous les Vignes in Villeferry. 2 adults and 2 kids (9 & 11yrs). What a charming, delightful place. My wife checked tripadvisor and booked through latebookings, on line. We were not disappointed, and there were no troublesome wasps.

It is a great spot for exploring the French countryside and towns & villages nearby. Relaxing, peaceful. Totally enjoyable!

The staff have not heard of the 100 Years War and are much more friendly and helpful than many english-speaking foreigners may suppose. We arrived quite late one evening but Jean had organised dinner for us, and the cheeses, food, wine and service was just great. The buffet breakfast is tasty and quite sufficient variety. The rooms are thoroughly clean and the whole place is charming.

Highlights of our trip included visits to a nearby winery, Vignoble de Flavigny, the superb restaurant, Auberge du Chavel Blanc after climbing the steps to view the statue of Vercingétorix in Alesia, and seeing the ancient church St Genest at the hilltop in Flavigny-sur-Ozerain. We missed the famous Flavigny aniseed sweet factory as it was closed for annual holidays in December.

It is so nice to have free WIFI readily available. We had a great time. Would love to go back and visit in the summer.

Room Tip: If you want WIFI, make sure when booking you ask for a room that has good WIFI signal strength.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the quirky layout of our spacious rooms and the glorious surroundings in a small remote village nestled amongst hills, woods and pastures with the sound of a babbling brook as the sound backdrop to our stay. We stayed for 3 nights and we used the self-catering facilities and shared residents' areas that went with our accomodation extensively. There couldn't be a more restful and enchanting way of breaking a journey to the south of France.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent four nights in the hotel (family of 5) we did not know what to expect in a remote country hotel . After our 4 nights in the hotel we did not want to leave.
The staff were excellent , rooms clean , tidy and accommodating , restaurant - the best food we had in France , the view outstanding , there is even a kitchen were you can cook your own food and a dining room where the gusets can eat if they do not choose the hotels evening restaurant .

In brief - if you want to feel the real Burgundy this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We originally wanted to stay near Chatilllon Sur Seine but the chambre d'hote we selected was fully booked and the proprietor recommended this place, and I'm glad she did. It is off the beaten track in a small hamlet... if you want somewhere rural, quiet, with quirky charm then you get it in spades here.

We stayed for one night as a stopover en route back to Calais from the Alps... we decided to let the sat nav take us via N & D roads for a day and what a fantastic drive it was via the Jura mountains.

We had a double room on the ground floor of the main house which had a very comfortable bed and a "modern" style en-suite with shower. We had dinner in the restaurant which is a short uphill walk away, but the view over the valley and the excellent food and local wine more than compensates (after climbing 3000+ meter mountains in the Alps a short stroll uphill wasn't going to kill us!!). The breakfast was traditional continental with a choice of sitting out on the terrace or inside; as described by another reviewer, yes there were a few wasps around but unless you are alergic then nothing really to worry about.

All in all, a really great overnight stop in a delightful part of rural France.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor room that faces the lane.... its quiet and comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeferry
9.0 mi away
Hotel des Cymaises
Hotel des Cymaises
#3 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#2 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#1 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Chez Camille
Chez Camille
#1 of 1 in Arnay-le-Duc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
18.9 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Chouette qui Chante
La Chouette qui Chante
#2 of 3 in Saulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Verger sous les Vignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Verger sous les Vignes

Property: Le Verger sous les Vignes
Address: Le haut du village, 21350 Villeferry, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Villeferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villeferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Verger sous les Vignes 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Le Verger sous les Vignes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing