We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute village,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Verger sous les Vignes
Ranked #1 of 1 Villeferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cute village,”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We picked this hotel because if its proximity to Flavigny sur Ozerain and the Abbey de Fontenay and although it was further away than we thought, it was worth the visit. Our room was an entire floor of one of 7 houses owned by a foundation complete with a communal kitchen area. The petit dejuneur was included and was good... And the staff was friendly and helpful. Cute village too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mledoux0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
55
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
T-A
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed with friends in this charming "maison d'hote" at the Cote d'or region of Bourgogne..
The staff was very friendly - in particular Vincent who gave us great tips for trips in the region.
After receiving at first a room who had a problem of moisture we moved at our request and without delay to a beautiful attic room, with no additional cost. The room was very spacious, with a large bed, large table, two sofas and a library on a gallery.
The view from the window was superbe.
Our friends got a a smaller room, with an adjacent little private garden. The problem with their room was that except for the garden door there are no windows. Otherwise' it was very comfortable, with a large cupboard.
The breakfast was tasty, in a nice room with a large terrace.
The property consists of several rural houses that were renovated. It is very charming, with a lot ot character. The village itself is beautiful.
There are common areas at the guests disposal - kitchen and lounge and "auditorium" with a lot of tourist guides and brochures.
WiFi free and of good quality.
The maintenance could be better. The rooms are not serviced every day.
We didn't have a meal at their "table d'hote" but heard from other guests that it was very good.
The price was very reasonable.
Overall - we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The attic room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
183 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed two nights in quirky and charming “family suite” in one of several old village houses. Green and quiet surroundings, nice views over the vigorous landscape of Burgundy hills and fields. We stayed in the house of La Grangée, consisting of two rooms above each other. Downstairs room with rustic, rural and cosy atmosphere, roses outside window and view to green surroundings. Upstairs room basic and plain. Large sitting and kitchen area in the house, nothing special but OK. Small but nice terrace garden to share with other guests in the house and a little garden above. Breakfast served in open air terrace with nice views, small selection but very good home made quality. Evening restaurant on top has a magic touch, charming with superb views and a large cosy lounge area. Food was good and not too pricey, service not professional but very friendly.

Le Verger sous les Vignes appears to be some sort of cooperative of enthusiastic friends aiming at opening up this local area for considerate guests looking for alternative accommodation and tranquility. The place is definitely full of charm and atmosphere but has an issue with maintenance: One of two fridges in the kitchen was out of order and the garbage can in the kitchen was not emptied during our stay (filled up and smelly). The garden was full of stinging nettles and the steep stone stairs leading to the upper garden, parking area and restaurant had a lot of broken steps and was therefore risky to use - in the dark evening even dangerous. Front desk service just about OK, engagement varies a lot. Don’t expect much information at check-in. We were not informed that the room would not be daily cleaned and towels changed unless you ask for it. Nor were we told about the sauna/jacuzzi area, common lounge area etc. All in all maintenance and service should be improved but the place has some magic, therefore recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed in a cabin at Le Verger sous les Vignes for 3 nights in July. At check in, the Lady at reception was so friendly and helpful she really made us welcome and was able to give us lots of tips about what to do and see (She was happy to explain everything in English). Our Cabin room was nice, had everything we needed including a small garden with seating. Breakfast in the morning was served on a gorgeous terrace and the staff were super helpful (Breakfast choice was a little limited - cornflakes, breads, croissants, cheese, tea & Coffee). The hotel has a restaurant and also self catering facilities. We ate at the restaurant 2 evenings, there is just one menu (changes everyday) we got lucky on the first night as we ate everything on the menu, however on the 2nd night I did not like the main course choice the restaurant staff were lovely and they made me another dish. The staff are just so accomodating and helpful. There is not much in the village of Villeferry but you are only a short drive from lots of tourist sights (Alesia, Flanigny- sur -Ozerain, Fontenay Abbey, Château de Bussy-Rabutin) and only 12 km from Venarey-Les Laumes which has a large supermarket, bakery, pharmacy, ATM etc.. We really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing and peaceful and the staff were fantastic. The village and all surrounding areas are beautiful, the village is an easy 48km drive from Dijion.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins (there are 3 together) friends of ours stayed in the cabin next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

What makes this special is the location in a small village in the Burgogne countryside. Te breakfast room had a beautiful view which made for a most relaxing breakfast. Our room was a bit dissapointing though. I read that each room has it's own terrace type of space, ours was a sad little corner of a yard that was very overgrown and a not so nice view of the neighbors. Additionally, we shared the space with the room next to us as well so not really a private terrace as listed. The room was basic and clean. We heard a scratching in the wall once or twice that sounded suspiciously like a rodent, but out rat terriers did not alert to it so who really knows. The pan in the shower was shallow and caused a bit of flooding in the bathroom. I could stay here again but would NOT want those rooms. Some of the rooms looked like they had great views so I felt a bit of a let down with our room.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband surprised me with a weekend stay at Le Verger sous le Vignes. It was great. We had a little cabin up on the hill (ask for these) with a bath. We stayed one night and it was a great place to stay to explore the surrounding areas. The hosts were wonderful and breakfast was great. We had a delightful time!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms up on the hill, ours had a bath, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PodiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a couple of nights at Le Verger sous les Vignes in Villeferry. 2 adults and 2 kids (9 & 11yrs). What a charming, delightful place. My wife checked tripadvisor and booked through latebookings, on line. We were not disappointed, and there were no troublesome wasps.

It is a great spot for exploring the French countryside and towns & villages nearby. Relaxing, peaceful. Totally enjoyable!

The staff have not heard of the 100 Years War and are much more friendly and helpful than many english-speaking foreigners may suppose. We arrived quite late one evening but Jean had organised dinner for us, and the cheeses, food, wine and service was just great. The buffet breakfast is tasty and quite sufficient variety. The rooms are thoroughly clean and the whole place is charming.

Highlights of our trip included visits to a nearby winery, Vignoble de Flavigny, the superb restaurant, Auberge du Chavel Blanc after climbing the steps to view the statue of Vercingétorix in Alesia, and seeing the ancient church St Genest at the hilltop in Flavigny-sur-Ozerain. We missed the famous Flavigny aniseed sweet factory as it was closed for annual holidays in December.

It is so nice to have free WIFI readily available. We had a great time. Would love to go back and visit in the summer.

Room Tip: If you want WIFI, make sure when booking you ask for a room that has good WIFI signal strength.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeferry
8.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#2 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
124 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
177 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel des Cymaises
Hotel des Cymaises
#3 of 3 in Semur-en-Auxois
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Ici M'aime
Ici M'aime
#1 of 1 in Rouvray
125 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
493 reviews
18.1 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Verger sous les Vignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Verger sous les Vignes

Property: Le Verger sous les Vignes
Address: Le haut du village, 21350 Villeferry, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Villeferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villeferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Verger sous les Vignes 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Le Verger sous les Vignes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing