We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a pretty area on the water.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyrifjord Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tyrifjord Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vikersund
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a pretty area on the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We arrived at this hotel late and I had made a reservation for supper and they asked if we would be dining with them and I told them that we had gotten a late start that day and it was too late for us to eat and the woman at the front desk was so nice. She asked where we were from and where we were going in Norway. Our room was very nice, with plenty of room, which is rare in most hotels in Norway. It had a small desk, refrigerator and coffee maker. We had a nice view of the lake, which is not really a fjord, but they call it one. :-) We met some relatives there in the morning for breakfast and it was a very nice buffet. For people that can't walk far, I would mention this when you make your reservation, as we had to carry our bags downstairs and then we walked a long way to our room. You might want to ask for a closer room and maybe one on the main floor. It was a very quiet hotel, even with a teacher's conference going on. The beds were not the most comfortable, but we did sleep. If we were to travel through the Vikersund area again, we would stay here.

Room Tip: Any problems with walking, should request a room on the main floor. It's a very long hotel. A wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lislcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
18
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Tyrifjord hotell is located right on the banks of Tyrifjorden, and looks over to Vikersund. Surrounded by beautiful nature, it is an excellent place to go for a conference.

It is as a conference hotel this hotel really shines. They have meeting rooms in many different sizes, and can accomodate anything from a small group to a school band.

Like most conference hotels in Norway, Tyrifjord hotell's second forte is their kitchen. Serving three excellent meals per day, there really is no need to look anywhere else for your dining needs.

The staff are pleasant and professional, while adding a personal touch that was very welcome.

The rooms are a decent size, with clean baths and an OK selection of channels on the TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razumny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestfoss
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Tyrifjord Hotel has an excellent restaurant with great food. Although the breakfast is somewhat traditional, the lunch has a great variety and especially fantastic desserts. Dinner ist great as well.

I was disappointed with the room which was obviously old. To welcome me in the room in January without any heating (it was freezing), not even in the bathroom, was a disappointment. When I turned on the old electric oven it made such a noise that I had to turn it off again to be able to sleep.

In the morning I took a shower in the big spacy bathroom. The shower was old and difficult to balance the hot water. I did not like the fact that the hotel has no dispensers for shampoo or soap, In a double room (okay, I was alone) there should be more shampoo or soap available.

Well, I didn't spend much time in the room, so I managed all right. Because of the stiff prices in the minibar, I definitely recommend that you buy all you need at the nearest store (Rema 1000) in Vikersund.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We arrived this hotel to late for dinner, but we knew that, so that was no problem.
We had a stupid problem with opening the front door of the hotel, but that was just us not ready to use enough force to push the door open. We had a good laugh of that one.. :-D

Anyway, we checked in, and went took a shower, before we had a beer in the bar.

The room was on the ground floor, and was down to the fjord, this is not a actual fjord, but is for some strange reason named Tyrifjorden.
The room looks rather old, something made in the early 80. The bed was ok, the TVset had a good selection of channels.
The bathroom itself, was ok, with ok space, but a rather old shower. The shower head gave low pressure, and felt awkward.. But I got my shower.

When we entered the bar, the bar was closed, but we got out beer, and went out on to the porch to look at the view of the lake and the "harbor".
The view was good, at night as well..

The breakfast was good, they served a nice mix of hot and cold dishes, the most usual kinds of orders, fruit, juice, milk and coffee. For the coffee they also served baked goods, I like that.

Room Tip: Get a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vikersund
12.3 mi away
Sundvolden Hotel
Sundvolden Hotel
#2 of 2 in Krokkleiva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
17.6 mi away
Klaekken Hotell
Klaekken Hotell
#1 of 2 in Honefoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.4 mi away
Sole Hotell
Sole Hotell
#3 of 5 in Noresund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
NorefjellHytta Restaurant & Overnatting
17.5 mi away
Lampeland Hotell
Lampeland Hotell
#1 of 1 in Lampeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
24.9 mi away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrifjord Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrifjord Hotell

Property: Tyrifjord Hotell
Address: Sundveien 22 | Postboks 172, Vikersund 3370, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Modum Municipality > Vikersund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vikersund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyrifjord Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyrifjord Hotel is an independant, privately owned 64 bedroom hotel situated on Lake Tyrifjord in Vikersund, just 20 minutes from Hønefoss, 30 minutes from Drammen, 40 minutes from Kongsberg and 60 minutes from Oslo. The hotel offers an indoor and outdoor restaurant with views of the lake, bar, marina and conference facilities. In the immediate area you will find Vikersund Skiflying Center with the worlds largest ski jump, The Cobalt Mines and Art Exhibition Center - Blaafarveværket, and the historic steam engine Krøderbanen which runs from Vikersund to Krøderen every Sunday through the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tyrifjord Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrifjord Hotell Norway/Vikersund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing