We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately NOT SPAtan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Son Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Son Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definately NOT SPAtan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

First of all, fantastic location, so wish I was able to stay longer. The Hotel is friendly and clean, my lower cost room had an odd lay out but is perfectly designed for a business traveller in mind. The room had a great View, The Spa is first rate, one of the best I have been to in a long while and there is even enough room in the pool for a good mini swim session.
Breakfast is standard but geared towards a more healthy option, which is good.
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    180
    77
    32
    9
See reviews for
63
161
11
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a first class hotel. The overall concept is to offer peace and tranquility to your stay and they have certainly achieved this in all areas of the hotel. The food is freshly made and of very high quality. The situation of the hotel is right on the Norwegian fjord, just beautiful views from every window. The spa facilities are exceptional, you can swim in the pool of infinity, hot tub outside and enjoy the experience of the Norwegian climate. Have the magic circle experience of unlimited treatments.It is also only 40mins on the train to Oslo, and much nicer to stay in Son than Oslo. I will be back with my family. Thankyou Son spa hotel for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolcallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Had a relaxing weekend in Son. Enjoyed the Spafacilities. British waiter in restaurant very helpful and serviceminded,some other not so much 'on duty'. Restaurant closed sunday evenings was a surprise , not even possible to buy a glass of wine or beer in reception, and no minibar in our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hässleholm, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have stayed at Son Spa several times the last years as a base for work travels. Seldom or never have I had the fortune to have such a "base camp". The hotel is situated beautifully next to the Oslo fjord and have a small marina as closest neighbor. Most guests are lucky enough to have a room with a view at the water.

The hotel facilities are good: plenty of space both in general areas and in the rooms. There is a difference between a normal room and the ones with a balcony. Thanks to the nice staff I often got my room upgraded to the lovely suite with balcony - really appreciated. The gym has all that you need, though a bit many machines on a small area. The spa is just lovely. It is worth waiting for the outdoor Jacuzzi in the cold half of the year, or to kick someone out of it - yes it is popular! Restaurant and bar is totally OK.

While being there do use some of all nice small roads and paths to walk and look around. It is less than 10 min's to the village center with a few cafes and restaurants. But most of all the calm atmosphere along with the nature is what you probably will remember.

Though, everything has a downside. In Son Spa it is the poor (non-existing) wifi in the rooms. It is also a fact that one seldom have the chance to use the spa when working: It closes already 20:00 which is one hour too early for me. The TV should also provide all channels from their east neighbor Sweden instead of just one.

But overall a very pleasant place to stay. A strong grade 4, almost a 5 if not for the small issues above.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked a spa package and was looking forward to a relaxing weekend.

Room
We had a suite, but it looked more like a cheap one-bedroom apartment that wasn't finished. There was no fridge and only a few dirty cups and glasses.
Looked like the room hadn't been dusted in a while.
Was missing light bulbs
No door nob on the door to the bathroom
Old magazines from 2009 and 2010

Food
We had lunch, dinner and breakfast there. The food was okay. Not bad, but not great either. Average.

Spa
We bought a spa kit for the magic circle. (not worth it and can not recommend any of the products in the kit)
When entering the spa area we quickly noticed that all the pools were dirty. VERY dirty. Looked like dead skin floating around and the water was far from clean. We complained to the staff and the response we got was that they knew about the problem... We told them to fix it and half an hour later they closed it saying the pools needed to be cleaned. The spa experience we were hoping for didn't happen. The next day the pools still weren't cleaned and the sign was still there...
Hotel should have had a shuttle bus between the hotel and the train station.

We will never go back to this place, and can not recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel would be recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

High quality hotel in a very nice location. Views and hotel amenities are both excellent. Both indoor and outdoor facilities are very pleasant. Nice touch with the petanque pitch (boules area). The spa facilities including the pool are also excellent. We were attending a seminar and appreciated the conference facilities as well as the ample possibilities for relaxation in both the spa area and recreational areas. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all of a very good standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room facing the sea, and preferably with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

A nice and quiet location, with a nice view to the sea. The food is also quite good. I stayed in a nice suite at the 4th floor, with a large balcony. My only complaint is that the wifi-connection was very poor at my room. I didn't have the time to use the spa, but hope to come back and try it. I had dinner, breakfast and lunch here - nothing extraordinary, but good food and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son
9.5 mi away
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Holmsbu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
13.0 mi away
Stotvig Hotel
Stotvig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkollen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotell Refsnes Gods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
22.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden
23.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Spa

Property: Son Spa
Address: Hollandveien 30, Son 1555, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Vestby Municipality > Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Son Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing