We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacks maintenance”
Review of Son Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Son Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but lacks maintenance”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed for 1 night as part of a company conference/meeting. By lunchtime the men´s toilet next to the conference room were filthy and reeked of urine stench. A bit surprising for this kind of hotel. Nice view from the conference room though.
The hotel room was quite small and with two very narrow single-beds -a joke in 2013! Naturally the sleeping comfort could have been better. And it did not help that the room were quite warm either. Two more things: The radiator were hanging off 2 out of 3 hooks + the shower hose were broken. How come the staff or management dont fix such minor but important issues? It certainly dit not leave a good impression. At 6am (or thereabouts) some huge undefined fan-system started up, so loud the bed was almost shaking. The end of an already bad nights sleep!
The hotel´s gym facilities was better than most hotels, but the low ceiling and quite warm room with bad ventilation was a downturn.
The breakfast buffet was great and so the hotel´s location & surroundings itself. But that alone cannot make up for all the small disappointments. OK for business but I may not return as a private customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenche B, Hotel Manager at Son Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest
We thank you for your review. We regret that we failed to meet all your expectations in terms of our beds and room
We are grateful that you are still happy with the location,fitness and breakfast
We wish you a good summer

MVH for Quality Spa & Resort Son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    208
    88
    35
    12
See reviews for
76
192
16
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

A nice hotel by the seaside, not far from Oslo. Having been there before, we sort of knew what to expect - a beautiful pool area and nice dining facilities. Our room this time was a bit tiny, but we could see a glimpse of the sea, so we didn't mind much. A nice, big bathroom though.
The Spa area is very nice, quiet and relaxing, the ladies enjoyed some moments there, both calming and refreshing.
My husband took ill while we were there, and we met with a professional, effective and very friendly staff. This we are very grateful for.

The surroundings are great, and be sure to visit the small, charming town of Son near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, preferably with a balcony. We had one on our first visit, but not thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated about 1 hour by car from Oslo at peaceful Son. The hotel offers free wifi and parking. Free entrance to the main spa area with saunas, pool, hot tub, indoor and outdoor jacuzzi. For a small fee you can get entrance to Magic circle spa on the second floor.
Ps. The spa area is open for children only between 9-11 am.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranFamilyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Compared to other hotels in this category there are some clear drawbacks:
1. In addition to the room cost there is a fee of NOK 195 pp to use the spa facilities
2. The hotel seems to be aimed at business customers, with breakfast from 7-930 and the earliest checkout we have ever encountered, at 10 am!

Other than that, a lovely, clean and new hotel. They charged our phones at the reception. Nice breakfast. Short walk away from Son with small galleries, shops and cafés.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was nice. Have stayere before, then we had a bathtub, this time only a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norsolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenche B, Hotel Manager at Son Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Google Translation
Kjære gjest
Vi takker for din tilbakemelding. Så hyggelig at du likte vårt hotell, og at du også fikk tid til en tur ned til pittoreske Son. Vi håper du fikk benyttet deg av de spafasilitetene, som uten tillegg er tilgjengelig for alle våre boende gjester. Vi ønsker deg velkommen igjen ved en annen anledning.
Med vennlig hilsen for
Quality Spa & Resort Son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notteroy Municipality, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed her saturday/sunday a weekend in december. This is a place very good for a weekend break or other arangment ment for grown ups. We stayd in a suite which remined me more of a minimalistic one bedroom flat. Small bathrom but covered our needs. Must be very nice in the summer cause the suite had a balcony with marina view.The Spa area was very nice and delicate.The restaurant had only 2 entrees, main course and deserts which we really didn't fancy but we had to choose one of the 2. However , the food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view. Not a place for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ovedie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenche B, Hotel Manager at Son Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear guest.

We thank you for your review. We are grateful that you are happy with the spa and the view from your room.

Med vennlig hilsen for
Quality Spa & Resort Son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Writing this I've a problem with fairness and objectivity.On many counts an outstanding hotel, but my gut feeling was never to return. Mainly because of a cold, sterile atmosphere and decore. Felt somewhat like in an efficient hospital. And a spa without children or facilities for children. Pricy; a small bottle of water NOK 44. Advanced electronic key systmem who just functioned part of the time. But in all fairness : Nice location, good furniture in clean rooms, tasty food and a competent staff.

Room Tip: Chose top corner room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenche B, Hotel Manager at Son Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest
We thank you for your review. We regret that we failed to meet all your expectations in terms of atmosphere and decor in our commond areas. We have also chosen not to focus on activities for children in our spa area, because we want our other guests to find peace and relaxation with us.
We are grateful that you are still happy with the location, room, food and our staff
We wish you a Happy Advent

Quality Spa & Resort Son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Nice location and nice view from room. The restaurant was good and pool/spa area was big with different pools and hottubs. Rooms were ok standard and had good beds. Room wasn't very clean but apart from that a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FN_Madball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son
9.5 mi away
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Holmsbu
261 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotell Refsnes Gods
23.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hanko Fjordhotell & Spa
Hanko Fjordhotell & Spa
#1 of 1 in Gressvik
113 reviews
10.1 mi away
Reenskaug Hotel
Reenskaug Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drobak
56 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moss Hotel
Moss Hotel
#2 of 5 in Moss
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Spa

Property: Son Spa
Address: Hollandveien 30, Son 1555, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Vestby Municipality > Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Son Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing