We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stuff!”

Review of Chalet Refuge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afternoon  tea - chalet can be booked catered if you prefer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Afternoon  tea - chalet can be booked catered if you prefer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Chaffrey, Hautes-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
westers20...
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stuff!”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

James, Lloyd and Eleanor were all fantastic hosts who looked after us brilliantly in a lovely rustic chalet

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marais1
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Many thanks to Tom.”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a standard issue ski chalet - five smallish rooms made within a wonderful old building. Sound insulation is not great and the showers are a bit low. Having said all that it is within a few minutes' walk of the main lift with use of a ski locker at the snow front so that walk is in shoes (hooray). The factor that makes this a five star chalet is Tom the chalet host and James the Zenith Holidays resort rep. Good food and charming company. The ski area is great (this was our first trip there) although the ski lifts could do with updating - unlikely to happen in the current climate.
I would return tomorrow for the great skiing and the food and hospitality of Tom.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo P
1 review
“A lovely cosy chalet”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great location only a couple of minutes walk from the cable car so great access to the slopes. Our host James was excellent, he cooked super food all week and was very chatty and informative about the area. Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaCath...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fab”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The chalet was lovely. The only dodgy things were the poor showers and the bedroom arrangement which meant that there is no sound proofing and therefore no privacy.
Our chalet host James ( Hamilton I think) was great - he cooked lovely meals, was charming and endlessly helpful and made an very good holiday excellent - thanks James!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great chalet, lovely location, great staff”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here first week of Feb 2016. Two adults us 9 and 12 yr old boys. Regular experienced skiers who have stayed in lots of different accommodations mainly in France. We booked via Zenith holidays and had it on a catered basis. I will focus on the chalet rather than zenith except to say we are regular zenith customers and this was by far the best chalet experience we have had. This was down to the the staff who were excellent and the food fantastic. So...to the chalet. It's located above/ next to the restaurant le refuge in a small block with 1 other chalet and 2 private residences. It's a very old building (several hundred years ) and thus has charm and character. It's a far cry from modern chalets , in a good way. There is no noise from the restaurant and only the occasion voice from people going about their busines. The main door is just off the street however it's a very narrow olde worlde street and it one way....no traffic as such just the occasional car doing 15mph. As the chalet is upstairs and at the back this does not impact on you at all. We drove and managed to find somewhere to park outside the chalet for purposes of loading . Unloading but then had to park 75m away in a small car park. There is also a much larger car park 150m the other way. It really was no hassle as involved a short walk along the pretty streets. There is a ski hire shop opposite (skimium) and several small family restaurants. We didn't need to use these. It's a 10 min walk to the nearest lift however we did drive a couple of days as it was a quiet week and parking right at the lifts was easy. The lifts are on the other side of the main road to the old town (villeneuve la salle) but there is a crossing and it's not a horrendously busy road. If you want ski in / ski out this is not the place for you but it's worth the compromise as everything else is so good.
The chalet is spacious in the living/dining area. Downstairs double and twin rooms nice...the double is particularly good with loads of storage and hanging space, which can we a rarity it ski chalets !. The kitchen is separate which is nice so you are not relaxing in the lounge whilst someone cooks in the same room ! The upstairs rooms are eves rooms and as such have sloping ceilings. The set up is better if you know the other people in the adjacent rooms as there is a shared clothes storage area. If you are tall you might want to think carefully as you will bank your head and possibly struggle in the beds as they are under the eves. Downstairs rooms are better for tall people.all other facilities are great...lots of bathrooms...some ensuite some shared. Showers nice and hot and powerful. Electric heaters all over which are easy to set and get the temp right. Log burner for when it's really cold. Shutters on all windows if you are a light sleeper like me...remember to fully close or fully open as they bang in the wind otherwise. Hope this helps.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing