We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round”
Review of Cruzel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Touffailles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cruzel
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We would just like to thank Edite and Steve for the wonderful week we had in the Gite. Thanks to Steve’s correspondence before we arrived all the equipment we needed for our two little ones was offered and put in place for our arrival (saving us huge amounts of room in the car)! The locality of the Gite is stunning, just what you would wish from a French retreat. Edite and Steve were so welcoming and pointed us in the right direction for all the provisions and entertainment that we needed. The Gite is really well equipped in rustic French style. It was extremely quiet and our 4 and 2 year olds slept really well and therefore so did we! Edite supplied us with an abundance of gorgeous surplus cherries (thanks to being there in the picking season!). We would recommend to anyone, return anytime and wished we had stayed for two weeks as the following week we moved on to campsite which was busy and undid all the relaxing we had done at the Gite. Thank you again Edite and Steve and hope to see you in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montymaxmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are looking for somewhere quiet and off the beaten track look no further as Cruzel is a hidden gem. My husband and I arrived to a very warm welcome from Steve - much appreciated after an early rise for our flight from Manchester to Toulouse - only 1 and a half hours.

We stayed in the larger gite for 12 nights, we found it was a great place to relax with a glass or two of the local wine and very well equipped. The pool area is lovely and having a fridge and seating area meant you could spend a good few hours relaxing by the pool. If you lucky Steve will show you round his collection of 2CV's!

We hired a car and explored a bit most days, Cruzel is in an ideal location to see all the medival villages and Steve and Edite were on hand to give plenty of advice on the must see places which was great, a sat nav is a must!

The local markets are not to be missed and so brush up on your french before you go and enjoy rural france at its best. We would highly recommend booking a holiday at Cruzel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time in Aug 2012 with our 5 children (ranging in age from 15 to 22). We rented both gites and there was plenty of room for all! many thanks to Steve and Edite for their warm and friendly hospitality. Such a lovely peaceful setting in a well maintained and tranquil spot.
We had days out to the nearby beach lake and pretty villages nearby.
We all enjoyed lazy days around the large pool and shopping at local markets and eating in nearby restaurants.
Both gites are immaculately kept and very well furnished and stocked with everything you could need for your holiday. Thanks Edite for the home-made jam and thanks to Steve for all your moto advice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gripper280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for one week at the end of June.

We arrived late at night and were greeted with a warm welcome and glass or two of wine!
The pool is beautiful with more facilities to relax than I have seen anywhere (fridge, BBQ, tables, chairs etc).

The kitchen of the gite is very well equipped with a full cooker, microwave, fridge freezer etc.

The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage in the room.

The living area was large and again very well equipped. The TV has all English channels available-we don't normally watch TV on holiday but it was Euro 2012 and Wimbledon!

Steve and Edite are the perfect hosts, there when you need them, invisible when you don't.
We would certainly recommend Cruzel very highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger of the two gites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

For that romantic getaway or family fun week, Steve and Edite offer a very friendly Gite with a safe private pool, sauna and extensive surrounding grounds. Situated in the heart of Cathar country; in sight of rich vineyards, Cruzel is the perfect base for relaxation or informed culture. The local markets are exceptional, as is the cuisine and your hosts are more than happy to direct you to the myriad of options available.

The Gite and annex are spotlessly clean and the owners work extremely hard to ensure you have a great holiday. There is a barbeque area as well as sports and horse riding on offer. The local walks provide a refreshing wake up in the morning and don’t forget to ask directions to the mysterious cave in the woods.

We used the Gite as a base for exploring the history and culture of the Languedoc. Whilst sampling the boundless history of the area as well as the local food and wine, we also found time to relax by the pool and catch up with our soul. The sky here is amazing for observing the cosmos. Shooting stars are common due to the isolation and lack of light pollution and a glass of red on the terrace adds to the spectacle.

We were, however, acutely aware on leaving we have barely scratched the surface of this region of France and for that reason we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mappamundiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This was our second stay at Cruzel. As before, we arrived to a warm welcome and a relaxing drink on the terrace. Steve and Edite's hospitality is genuine - obliging and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed in the smaller of the two gites, which is totally self-contained and cleverly designed to offer privacy on the terrace. The gite itself is extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and furnished and equipped to a high standard. The bedroom is large and offers double aspect views over the valley. There are some luxurious touches, such as the bedding, bathrobes and wonderfully soft (and huge!) towels. Books and games are also to hand. The pool is a good size and well-maintained.
Cruzel is the perfect base for a holiday. It sits on the edge of the village and above the road, offering tranquility and amazing views of the beautiful countryside. The woods behind the house make it a sheltered spot, with the option of sun or shade depending on your mood! There are lots of places to visit, and the gite is well stocked with up-to-date brochures of local attractions. Steve and Edite are happy to offer suggestions and advice on places of interest and recommended some excellent restaurants.
All in all, Cruzel offers the opportunity for a truly relaxing holiday, yet with the possibility of plenty of things to do. It is a gem of a place and we will return - again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dyane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

After searching for an outdoor holiday I came across www.cruzel.fr and booked a two week getaway from a busy city life. It was amazing! Surrounded by nature and beautiful views with the huge bonus of no noise! The Gite itself was lovely, probably the best two weeks of sleep I've ever had. If you need to getaway to beautiful place with plenty of outdoor activities... not to mention the pool then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hellosun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cruzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruzel

Address: 82190 Touffailles, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Touffailles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Touffailles
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our two self-catering accomodations are set in the picturesque village of Touffailles, secluded in a beautiful valley with panoramic views across oakland woods and sunflower fields. Cruzel gites are a family-run business. We are here to make sure that you have a great holiday and enjoy this part of France as much as we do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing