We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B to explore Alsace”
Review of La Haute Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haute Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Freland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

As many reviews already state this is a lovely B&B with spacious and beautiful rooms, very well furbished and decorated with extremely caring and lovely owners. The B&B is up the hill outside a little village, but close to many villages to visit and for eating out. There are 2 seating areas for guests, one with a fireplace and you really feel welcome. The owners will give you lots of tips what to do, where to eat out, would make any reservations and be available for any questions during breakfast. Breakfast is very nice with cooked eggs, huge choice of pastries and other freshly baked items with different choices every day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at La Haute Grange for 2 nights recently and really enjoyed ourselves. Margaret and Phillip are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very modern. We really enjoyed the outdoor patio with a bottle of wine and the company of some of our fellow travelers. While the guests spoke three different languages, Margaret and Phillip were able to keep everyone engaged in the conversation and no one felt left out. That is quite a skill. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were very attentive to our needs. The wonderful fire burning in the kitchen fireplace was such a cozy way to take the chill off the morning. Each morning our hosts helped us determine our plan for the day and they ensured we had maps or directions to the places we would visit. We would absolutely stay here again only the next time to we plan to stay longer! Thanks so much Margaret and Phillip for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pd2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

All guests at this B&B are actively encouraged to write a review on TripAdvisor, which we found a bit unusual. Maybe that explains the enthusiastic reviews, but I can only speak for ourselves. Personally, we thought there were too many drawbacks for this place to be considered excellent.

1. Privacy: All rooms are accessed by a central staircase, so you can hear and see all the comings and goings - and the wooden floors make it pretty noisy.

2. Access: The staircase is steep and narrow, so it was impossible to take our suitcase up to our room. We had to leave it at the foot of the staircase and take things to our room as we needed them, which wasn’t exactly ideal.

3. Amenities: Our room had a separate bathroom across the corridor (and just near the staircase everyone used). The bedoom was also quite small - the bed takes up most of the room, and that wasn't evident from the photo. This wasn't a major problem, but it was very surprising given the price charged - MUCH higher than other B&Bs in regional France which all had ensuite bathrooms and had many other benefits.

4. Location: The B&B is off the beaten track and a long way from the Alsace wine route and charming villages. But if you’ve come to spend time in the lovely gardens and admire the views, that won’t be a problem.

5. Dining arrangements: Everyone has to have breakfast at the same time, so there is no flexibility and again, little privacy. However, the breakfasts were excellent – absolutely not complaints there.

6. Atmosphere: Be aware the hospitality might not be to everyone's tastes. The owners are friendly and helpful, but it's all a bit too much and too forced. We found it cloying and felt that we were constantly being watched. However, I know that some people would like that kind of approach.

If you prefer to be independent and you value your personal space, and you don't want your day organised while you eat your breakfast and to be constantly mixing with strangers, you might prefer to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms are much smaller than they appear in the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdeleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XIgens, Propriétaire at La Haute Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

I'm sorry your stay at la Haute Grange wasn't as you expected.
Our home is a renovated farmhouse dating back almost 200 years hence the steep original staircase and that one (smaller) bedroom whose private facilities are not 'ensuite' . We offer guests the option to store extra large, heavy bags not wanted in the bedroom under the stairs . It's true we are very 'hands-on' with our guests . From experience our guests enjoy the contact ( with us AND with other guests - otherwise why choose a B&B over an impersonal hotel ?) Surely our role is to help you make the most of your stay with us .
I believe La Haute Grange offers excellent value ( the differently priced rooms reflect their size and comfort - your was I agree the cheapest ) To counterbalance this we created 2 spacious guest sitting rooms offering a bar & coffee on the ground floor - ( quite rare in most b&bs) .Our linens and accessories are high quality and our breakfasts varied and copious. La Haute Grange is a short 10 minute drive from Kaysersberg & the Wine Route and enjoys a large garden and wonderful views.
We are in our 20th year now as B&B hosts and I think it's the first time we've been criticised for what we believe is a job well done ! I hasten to add that we do not directly ask guests to write comments on Tripadvisor or elsewhere I wonder why you waited 6 months to write yours and what a shame you didn't mention your discontent whilst you were here - we are always open to 'suggestions' and comments . I do think you are a little harsh suggesting that perhaps the comments on Tripadvisor are not 'genuine' ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent ONLY two nights here and it was a real pity because we had the time of our life!
Margaret & Phillip were two great hosts.
The conversations with Margaret were pretty fun, she really made our stay extra special.
I liked her sense of humour.
The house is a hidden gem in the wood, tastefully decorated, cosy living rooms with fireplace, all the rooms totally spotless.
We stayed in the Muscade room, warm, comfortable and very clean. The private bathroom was just across the corridor and it was of a good size.
The breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and a dedicated service.
5 stars b&b - Hope to go back soon
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giannapj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Home from Home for this family run guest-house.Beautiful surroundings, romantic setting in a very quiet spot.The house itself is quite magnificent with elegant and genuine decorationThe bedrooms have got all the little details that create a very cosy atmosphere and the beds and bedlinen are luxuriously comfy.The home-baked breakfasts are delicious and the owners are willing to help find the best places for you to explore the area or have a meal.Furthermore they are extremely friendly and hospitable and make a point of making you feel at home.We went there last summer and are going to go again in December as it was such a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulettearthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Margaret and Phillip in September. I work for a five star resort, so I tend to be a bit critical when posting a review; that said, I can happily post that La Haute Grange for fills the all the standards of a small luxury B&B. Margaret and Phillip are exceptional hosts; whom are on the premises and available when ever you need them.
From the warm welcome, luxurious suite, (with a wonderful view), ample sized robes and slippers,
to the home-made breakfast prepared by Margaret herself...this Bed and Breakfast is
five star in my book! Margaret and Phillip anticipated our needs, and gave us a fond farewell. I look forward to seeing them again next year.

Room Tip: Al the rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsnspales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Our only disappointment here was we could not stay longer. Sadly we booked too late and had to move on after 3 nights. We were looking for an R & R stop to catch our breath after 3 weeks on the road. Perfect choice, up in the mountains away from the hustle and bustle of tourism and a simply delightful property with the perfect hosts.
Arriving at the front gate you know instantly this is a great property. You have made a good choice. Enter the house and long before you see your room you are being wowed by the presentation and attention to detail.
You feel this wonderful couple survive from the interaction they have with guests. Friendly greetings, lots of advice and such fun at breakfast. They do it so well.
Thanks Margaret and Philippe we enjoyed staying with you.

Room Tip: Don't be fussy they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freland
4.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
2.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Faude
Hotel-Restaurant Le Faude
#2 of 3 in Lapoutroie
259 reviews
3.9 mi away
Au Bois le Sire
Au Bois le Sire
#1 of 6 in Orbey
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
3.9 mi away
Logis de la Poste
Logis de la Poste
#1 of 2 in Le Bonhomme
575 reviews
2.8 mi away
Les Alisiers Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Grange

Address: la Chaude Cote, 68240 Freland, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Freland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freland
Price Range: £108 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury guest house with 4 very comfortable bedrooms is ideally situated for trips up and down the Wine Route and walks in the Vosges.Just 5 minutes from Kaysersberg, 20 minutes from Colmar and an hour from Strasbourg. Perfectly peaceful and relaxing - our garden is spacious and has amazing views. Private off-road parking.We speak french, english, german, italian, spanish and portuguese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Haute Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haute Grange Alsace/Freland, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing