We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of La Haute Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Haute Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Freland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What an experience! The accommodations and our two hosts, Margaret and Philippe, were tops in all areas. We had such a wonderful and relaxed feeling from the time we arrived until we had to leave . . . wanted to extend our stay even longer! Our room was warm and inviting and total absolute comfort. Ensuite was large and luxurious. Each morning was a delight in our selections for petite dejeuner and the settings. We will definitely be back! Francine G. Atlanta, GA USA

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Maggie and Philippe made us very welcome in their beautifully renovated house. Upon arrival and after being welcomed by both of them we settled in for tea and biscuits on the terrace. What a pleasure to sit outside and take in the breathtaking and calming views while being entertained by Phillipe with stories of "kangaroos" roaming wildly in Alsace. Nothing was too difficult for Maggie and Philippe who went out of their way to help us with issues that were above and beyond their brief as hosts. Merci beaucoup!! Breakfasts were as varied as they were fabulous with the tables being set to a different theme every day. Advice a to where to go, where not to go and what to see was offered before we set out for the day. There is nothing one could fault. If it wasn't so far from Australia we would be back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We (a group of three friends) stayed for three nights over the Easter weekend at La Haute Grange and had a fantastic time. The house is spectacular - we stayed in Canelle and Muscade, which were perfect for us, as it was a separate wing from the other rooms, so our own little enclave. The bathrooms and bedrooms were spacious, clean and renovated to a high standard. Both of our rooms had a view over the lovely garden and the valley.

The common areas are very well appointed and comfortable, with delicious wines and Margaret's lovely cakes on offer as well. Margaret and Philippe and consumate hosts and their dining recommendations were much appreciated. Philippe's hiking recommendation was also excellent.

The location is fantastic as Colmar and many picturesque towns along the Alsace wine route are within an easy drive, as well as the Chateau de Haut Koenigsberg.

And the breakfasts are delicious and more than plentiful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nipsySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We drove from Calais to Freland and the spectacular La Haute Grange in just under 6 hours. we stayed for 5 nights and felt disappointed to be leaving!
This is truly a spectacular location and a most wonderful B&B. We primarily went to explore the Alsace region for the first time on our bicycles but there is so much more to do, and your hosts, the multi-lingual and food-enthusiast Margaret along with the English-speaking and charming Philippe know all there is to know about the region (Philippe being a 'local').
The countryside is spectacular, the restaurants abundant and the locals extremely friendly.
Our room was perfect, with every little detail thoughtfully considered by the experienced owners who have been perfecting their trade for over 25 years! The house has two huge rooms downstairs that are used by guests to relax and enjoy a glass of wine from the extremely well stocked, honesty wine bar. This is a home-from-home and I cannot recommend it enough as a base to explore Alsace.
The breakfasts are plentiful and include Margaret's cakes and other baked delights to sample. You will never go hungry in Alsace.
WiFi is available throughout the house.

Room Tip: We stayed in Badiane - which has it's own little patio area with table and chairs. Beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed for four nights and everything about La Haute Grange surpassed our expectations. The location is perfect for it is in the centre of lovely Alsace with many many things to do. The best part of staying is the wonderful Margaret and Philippe, who really went out of their way to welcome us and ensure we had a great time. They gave us fantastic recommendations for restaurants and day trips and were kind enough to book tables for us. Philippe showed us a good walk route around the lac noir and lac blanc in the Vosges mountains which was a very special day. We really did not want to leave. I have never felt so relaxed, yet enthused to explore the area. The room and house were breathtaking and even though it sounds like too many superlatives, they are deserved and more. I suggest you book the longest stay you can. You will not be disappointed. We plan to return for sure. Thank you both very much. You made our holiday x

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely room with a patio balcony. Best room I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Honest_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit in Alsace and in La Haute Grange.
Its a fantastic B&B in a beautiful area-highly recommended.
The house is very nice with a special atmosphere and decoration.
The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable,clean and quite with a great view to the garden and the forest.
The location is very good-10 min from Kaysersberg, 20 min from Colmar and about 50 min from strasbourg.
Tere is so much to see and to do in the area . We think its a super place to stay if you want to visit Alsace, the Wine route and of course the christmas markets.
Margaret and phillipe are the owner, they are very nice, friendly and very helpful- always with a smile..
we fell like return home....
Breakfast-every day a new surprise but always so good.....

We would like to thank M&P for the warm hospitality .
We hope to return soon
best regards
Shoshi and Yossi
Israel

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Yossi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We read about La Haute Grange on tripadvisor and it was everything that others have described and more. This was such a delightful B&B and the moment we arrived, we were treated like family friends. We could tell that the owners Philippe and Margaret have restored this old farmhouse into a charming and cosy home filled with love, and we feel so lucky to have stayed with them! Both my husband and I travel extensively and stayed at many B&Bs around the world, but I must say this is one of the best – an authentic and homely place to experience the Alsace countryside. If you like smelling the pine trees, catching a glimpse of wild deers in the nearby woods, waking up to birds chirping and being surrounded by mountains and trees, this is the place to be. But you will need a car & GPS to get there.

We took the Bergamote room with a private bathroom which was very cosy, and the size was perfect for our 4 nights stay. Both Margarent and Philippe are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to take care of us, and even called the car rental company before we arrived, to help us secure an automatic car (as we speak almost no French! ) They also gave us valuable advise where to visit each day, which restaurants to try and even booked all our dinner reservations for us. We were so spoilt for choice and only wished we had more time in beautiful Alsace. Thank you Margaret and Philippe, for a wonderful stay and we hope to come back again soon!

Room Tip: If you are a couple and prefer to have an ensuite bathroom, choose the Bergamote, which als faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belcuzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freland
2.8 mi away
Les Alisiers Hotel-Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
770 reviews
3.9 mi away
Au Bois le Sire
Au Bois le Sire
#1 of 6 in Orbey
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
La Maison d'Emilie
La Maison d'Emilie
#1 of 2 in Pfaffenheim
165 reviews
7.8 mi away
Peche de Vigne
Peche de Vigne
#1 of 3 in Rodern
152 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Elyane
Villa Elyane
#1 of 10 in Colmar
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Grange

Address: la Chaude Cote, 68240 Freland, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Freland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freland
Price Range: £104 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury guest house with 4 very comfortable bedrooms is ideally situated for trips up and down the Wine Route and walks in the Vosges.Just 5 minutes from Kaysersberg, 20 minutes from Colmar and an hour from Strasbourg. Perfectly peaceful and relaxing - our garden is spacious and has amazing views. Private off-road parking.We speak french, english, german, italian, spanish and portuguese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Haute Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haute Grange Alsace/Freland, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing