We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”
Review of Cross Green B&B

Cross Green B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dullingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross Green B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Dullingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent two nights here after locating the B&B on the Internet, trying to choose a location in Suffolk near friends we would be visiting in Newmarket. It could not have been a better choice. Sarah, our innkeeper, met us and showed us our accommodation, which was more than we anticipated: a huge sunny bedroom, bathroom, and sitting room. Sarah's property is in a rural area adjacent to a horse path on one side and an equine exercise track on the other. Chickens, apple trees, and a garden help provide the freshest breakfast ingredients. Breakfast is held in the large country kitchen off the sitting room

Room Tip: Perfect for a couple or small family. Bucolic, quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

2nd stay here and was just as amazing as the first time. Hospitality is 2nd to none and although I wouldn't usually stay in a B & B but I would pick this over a hotel anytime. It's like a home from home experience but with a live in cook etc. The breakfast was truly lovely, toast (homemade bread i think) fresh fruit, cereal etc and of course full english with fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden. We stayed in the annexe which is usually left for family member's but as we stayed in it last time we asked to stay in it again we went as four adults and it was perfect. 2 bedrooms upstairs with an interconnecting bathroom and a large sitting room downstairs.
Obviously James C hasn't stayed here as the owner was lovely (whats age got to do with anything??) and for a small family run business you wouldn't expect them to take credit card, nothing wrong with good old cash... Highly recommend this place and excellent value for money will defo be back next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for our honey moon back in April and we not expecting anything grand but location and distance from Newmarket was perfect, very easy to find.
Our expectations however was massively exceeded as the night we arrived we found our room decorated beautifully. The owner had gone to amazing effort to make it a honey moon sweet to dream of with fairy lights, flowers, balloons and a gorgeous 'just married' banner it totally blew us away!
The bedroom was stunning and everything looked immaculate, the shower is enormous with twin sinks too and our own sitting room with tea making facilities really felt like being in a 5 star hotel everything had been thought of.
Our room had lovely double doors that led out to a secluded garden with no neighbours, we had our own access and key so no need to go through the main house and we could come and go as we pleased.
Breakfast was a feast from cereal to full English breakfast and fresh fruit and juice. Nothing was too much trouble.
The icing on the cake was the hospitality, the owner was so lovely and friendly and totally relaxed, really made us feel like we were at home, we could not recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandEmilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here as a family with a small child, and it was a very safe and child friendly environment with a travel cot, childrens books, indoor and outdoor toys and child appropriate breakfasts available too.
The rooms were really nice, a large ensuite bedroom - very clean and tidy. Also an adjoining living room which we used for our son.
There are chickens which he loved, and they also provided fresh eggs for breakfast.
The food was great and the owner very friendly and welcoming.
The location is great for accessing Cambridge, Newmarket and Bury St. Edmunds and there is a train station near by too.
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is a beautifully furnished, clean and well presented B&B. The owner is extremely welcoming and makes you feel right at home! With its location close to both Newmarket and Cambridge it is perfectly situated for exploring the area - there's plenty to do locally! More than just a B&B I experienced true hospitality during my two week stay and would thoroughly recommend staying at Cross Green B&B to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Accommodation was very clean - meal had plenty of choices , well presented and above all delicious , owner was friendly and more than willing to help . Location was set in beautiful village location very close to Newmarket and Cambridge - would highly recommend to all .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylabwrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A first class B&B in every sense.

Clean, full of character and extremely comfortable, I simply did not want to leave! The owner is helpful, hospitable and always on hand to ensure that every need is met. The food was fresh, lovingly prepared and very tasty. I totally enjoyed my two day stay and I can't wait to return!
Thank you so much! Keep up the good work!

Mr. Weightman, Austria

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cross Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Green B&B

Address: 1 Cross Green, Dullingham CB8 9XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Dullingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dullingham
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cross Green B&B. A comfortable B&B, with light, spacious rooms. Cross Green is in a calm location, surrounded by paddocks, and close to Newmarket and its race courses. Delicious breakfast provided, made wherever possible with our home-grown fruit, homemade bread and fresh eggs from our own chickens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing