We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat”
Review of Wild Mahseer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Mahseer
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent two days - alas too short a stay - at Wild Mahseer. Our stay was wonderful primarily because of the wonderful staff and the beautiful property! Bikram, the resident manager and Deepak took care of us as if we were their personal guests! The property is maintained beautifully and even though we visited in the off season, our bungalow was spick and span! The food was fantastic. The place is value for money and even though a long way off from Mumbai where we live, we will definitely try and make another trip to Wild Mahseer. Thank you team Wild Mahseer if any of you read this review!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am_vs_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Wild Mahseer is probably the best resort in North East India. This rural, idyllic, colonial style heritage collection of tea estate bungalows are perfect getaway from busy city life. The attentive staff and helpful resident manager just adds to the charm of this place. Go here to cleanse your soul and take a break from the madness. We got upgraded to the heritage bungalow which is truly out of this world. Just sit back, relax and try being one with the nature and the surroundings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Heritage Bungalow is the best available. All other are good but heritage is definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAFARIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The resort is made up of several bungalows in an Assam Tea Estate. The 4 bungalows have all been tastefully furnished and very well done up.
What how ever adds to the experience us the excellent service provided - not only tgd polite similubg and helpful nature of the staff but also the sheer quality is impressive - we highly recommend this place for a restful vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Former Tea inspectors lodge. sympathetically converted into high class accommodation adjacent to tea plantation. Great facilities and attentive helpful resident manager.
Fantastic - colonial style heritage - nostalgic atmosphere.
Staff very helpful.
A great location - would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullTime_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have just returned from a magical five days at Wild Mahseer in Assam.My family have strong links with India and I had not returned since a young bride in the 60s .It is a marvellous place and shows quite a different aspect of India .Green and tranquil with verdant tea gardens ,smiling happy people and a warmth and hospitality which could not be surpassed .The accomodation at Wild Mahseer is superb each bungalow stylishly decorated and the heritage bungalow recaptures the era of the Raj .The food is outstanding and the staff could not do more for you ..There are lots of places to visit and for anyone interested in tea you can visit nearby tea gardens and see the whole process.We can't wait to return and plan to do some fishing next time.Nothing could be better than sitting on the veranda of the heritage bungalow having afternoon tea !DO GO !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

dont miss the stay in these tea estate if you are in assam. amazing hospitality, very rural, very scenic. the best part is that you get the taste of the north east assamese culture. i and my family enjoyed the stay over there. so much so to welcome us from mumbai the owner and the care taker of the tea estate invited us for a royal breakfast to their villa and it was such a pleasure to talk with them. i would 100% recommend staying at this estate while in assam. go out in the core of northeast india, see and feel the untouched... just beautiful.

Room Tip: we stayed at charduar villas which were decent neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Its not just the terrific (plush actually!) and value-for-money rooms and campus that prompts me to keep coming back. Its the fact that within one hour of Wild Mahseer its possible to watch river dolphins over lunch on the Brahmaputra, go rafting down the Jiya Bharoli (My Heart is Full) River, trek through the Nameri Tiger Reserve, watch Wreathed Hornbills fly overhead and yes, also sit back and absorb the silence.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bittusahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balipara
0.0 mi away
Landmark Woods
Landmark Woods
#4 of 6 in Kaziranga National Park
73 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel KRC Palace
Hotel KRC Palace
#1 of 7 in Tezpur
110 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Fern Residency, Tezpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jia Bhorelli Wild Resort
Jia Bhorelli Wild Resort
#2 of 3 in Nameri National Park
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welcome Heritage Banyan Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Mahseer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Mahseer

Address: Balipara Division, Addabarie Tea Estate | P.O Lokra, Sonitpur, off National Highway 52, Balipara 784101, India
Region: India > Assam > Sonitpur District > Balipara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Balipara
Price Range: £77 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Mahseer Tea Planter BungalowsAward Winning Heritage Home Stay – Where History Is Your Host!Wild Mahseer is a combination of old -world charm and gracious living, set in lush surroundings with a vast range of activities,which make Wild Mahseer the ideal getaway. Wild Mahseer is the perfect place to relax and be pampered between forays out to witness Assam’s breathtaking pristine scenery, discover its rare and abundant wildlife, meet its eclectic mix of people and savour its flavourful multi-cultural cuisine.There are 5 independent Bungalows with 14 spacious double bedrooms and suites with individually attached bathrooms.Every room is decorated with an array of exquisite ornaments, paintings and wall hangings personally selected and shipped from every corner of the world, highlighting the different faces of Asia and making the Heritage Bungalow a perfect place to experience the fast disappearing lifestyle of the British sahib and memsahib tea planters of Assam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Wild Mahseer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Mahseer Balipara, Assam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing