We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in the area by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My work requires me to travel to and stay overnight in Chester on a semi regular basis and I have stayed in a number of hotels in the area prior to finding this one, which is by far the best.

As other reviews have noted the rooms are extremely well done out and impeccably clean with a super comfortable bed and a firm mattress, important to me as I suffer from back pain.

The food is faultless as is the calibre of the service.

I would like to thank the staff for making my last stay as wonderfully memorable as the others and will be making repeat bookings in the very near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very smart tastefully decorated newly refurbished room (104 - Kelsall); spacious and comfortable though could have done with a comfy chair or two. Excellent shower. Room overlooked road but quiet at night - could just about hear some noise from the bar below but not intrusive, only real disturbance to sleep was down to the annoyingly bright green exit sign light. Evening meal lovely. Breakfast also pretty good but let down slightly by rather vague service, no menus so you didn't know what was available, and a slight mix up of the orders. Overall pretty good; with a bit of attention, particularly at breakfast, it could easily make a score of 5.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good points:
Each room is different, I was in Colebrook - Art Deco feel
Huge plasma screen
Very comfy bed
Super clean room and bathroom
Lovely toiletries
Good tea and coffee making faculties
They offer a discount for single occupany which, as often a single traveller, this was very welcomed.
Staff were lovely. Leoni was beyond helpful before I arrived choosing the right room for what I like.
Also the at the restaurant below was excellent , good food and would recommend if staying not just for ease but for choice

Bad Points
Room stank of disinfectant (but could be as they are so very new)
Very cold at night so cranked up the heating but took ages to kick in and woke boiling.
No mini fridge (I brought own soya milk and couldn't fridge it)

Overall
This is an upmarket pub, don't think you will be staying in a grotty room above a noisy pub - quite the opposite. Its like a mini hotel. There has also just been a huge refurb and the prices reflect this but these rooms are as good as many 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are fussy about what you like then call ahead - see what they have free and get a room to mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed two nights whilst visiting beautiful Chester. We were thrilled with the room, very new and spacious with wonderful decor and comfortable bed. The meals are wonderful and the wood fired pizza sensational and my husband enjoyed his lamb shank very much. Great staff, easy free parking at the rear, supermarket just down the road ensures a wonderful stay. Wish we could have lingered longer. If we come back this way ever we will be staying for sure. Thank you Royal Oak!

Room Tip: All rooms are new, spacious, clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed midweek in early October whilst I was away with work, this hotel is beautifully done out, lovely big rooms with high ceilings. Parking is easy and located at the rear of the property. I arrived around 7pm and enjoyed a 3 course evening meal too, the staff were very helpful. A highly recommended Hotel all round

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJJ1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a family meal which was excellent, the room was luxurious superb beds and decorated very tasteful , nothing was too much trouble for the staff , breakfast was very good would defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddyboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelsall
7.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
7.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Chester Road | Chester, Kelsall, Chester CW6 0RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Kelsall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 16 new beautifully appointed modern boutique bedrooms all with en-suite, tea coffee making facilities, flat screen television, Free wifi, bathrobes and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing