We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed here with our young daughter and have to say it was a wonderful place and very accessible to chester. Staff were extremely helpful, food was lovely and the accommodation itself was excellent. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zadadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June with a Travelzoo voucher as we were attending a wedding in Widnes on the Saturday and decided to have a couple of days near Chester beforehand. We were given an excellent room which had been recently refurbished to a very high standard. We had an evening meal at the hotel which was excellent and the staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast the following morning was also of a very high standard. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Would definitely go back if we are around the area again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 647maggiemay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

WE stayed here on bank holiday for a night and we loved our stay - the rooms are beautifully decorated and very large with big comfy beds, big bathroom with separate bath and shower. We ate in the restaurant and the dinner was lovely, great menu and well presented with lovely fresh produce. It is in a quiet location and well worth a visit for a visit to beautiful Chester - but use the park and ride into town as city parking a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Wilfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were visiting primarily to attend a family wedding and were not familiar with the area but were very favourably surprised by the good quality of this hotel. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the room that we had,was very spacious and well appointed. The only unremarkable aspect is the location which is unavoidable and the only small problem that we encountered was finding the TV on switch which is hidden half way down the left hand side of the screen. If we have occasion to go back that way, we would not have any hesitation in booking the Royal Oak

Room Tip: We had the Kelsall Room and that is a very good choice
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have been wanting to visit Chester for a few years now and an offer popped up on travel zoo for a stay at The Royal Oak Hotel. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival, we were shown up to our room which was very clean, fresh and decorated lovely. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very loud which was linked up to the light, therefore when getting up in the middle of the night we had to remember to not turn the light on otherwise it would set it off. We booked in for our evening meal which was so handy just to be able to pop down the stairs to the restaurant below. We had a 2 course meal included in our voucher with a glass of prosecco each. Food was nice and a large choice of meals to choose from. We also had breakfast included, both of us had a cooked breakfast which was very enjoyable and a great start to our morning, The only critic I had about breakfast was that there was fresh fruit set out on one of the tables along with cereals etc and unfortunately there was a fly buzzing round the table. It put me off having any of the fresh fruit out on the table - it was hot weather therefore I can understand why the door was open but maybe some sort of food net is needed? Overall a lovely hotel, great location and welcoming staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank em_lee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend on the travel zoo offer, from making a reservation to checking out the staff were extremely friendly and helpful..The room was tastefully presented with a great shower, everything about the the royal oak felt clean, tasteful and relaxed, evening meal was very nice ..we paid a small amount extra for steaks and they were huge and cooked well and the chunky chips were lovely. Timed it well with a local village festival so all in all had a thoroughly great cheshire experience and I'm sure we will be bk someday thankyou Royal oak

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mattandhiscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location and service. Quite, We had a good breakfast. TV, nice bathroom. Easy parking. Everything like new and room very comfortable. Chester is a nice town to visit and this hotel is a great choice to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelsall
7.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,316 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
7.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
681 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Chester Road | Chester, Kelsall, Chester CW6 0RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Kelsall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 16 new beautifully appointed modern boutique bedrooms all with en-suite, tea coffee making facilities, flat screen television, Free wifi, bathrobes and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing