We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
James M
Great place to stay.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2024
A few of us stayed here when racing at Oulton Park. Really can't fault the hotel. The car park was decent size and we could park with a trailer without issue, the rooms were great and the bar and restaurant served decent food that was well priced. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure.
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£94
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£144
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £144
  • Vio.com
3.9 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Algotels
4.4 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Signature room
Booking.com
£82
  • Expedia.com
    £82
  • Agoda.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £82
4.2 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£55
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £46
  • Hotels.com
    £55
4.2 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.9 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
No, it's your turn to get the drinks!
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.8 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.8 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.0 miles from The Royal Oak Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Kelsall
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
422
118
31
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
422
118
31
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travelzoo deal delamere forest evening meal small hotel both nights cooked breakfast room was large good size an overnight stay the pub short drive checking out visiting chester a lovely stay following morning stayed for one night tarporley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Very nice room, lovely food, pleasant staff! What's there not to like? Several 'moaning minnies' on here winged about the slowness of service. Well, as the food is cooked to order, don't expect it to be served in 5 mins! Just get a bottle of wine, relax and enjoy your partners company. Life's too short for petty recriminations. The breakfast was locally produced fare and was lovely and served very promptly by the chaps running the place.

Room tip: Very nice, traditional bar.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Straker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023

Amazing visit from start to finish rooms lovely and clean , beds very comfortable very friendly and polite staff nothing to much trouble , the food was amazing totally enjoyable stay from start to finish and will look forward to returning again

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beverley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

We went on a Travelzoo deal on a Saturday night.

The room was large with a lovely big bed.

After a few hours walking around Delamere, we ate at The Royal Oak.

The Travelzoo menu, whilst limited, had great options. I had a Hoisin Duck pizza which was a triumph of fusion. The pizzas are freshly made on site and are really very good.

Service was a little slow and about 30 minutes after finishing pizza, I had to go in to the bar to find someone to take our desert order. Luckily the sun was out and we were happy chatting, but this could have been more efficient. I dare say with a snappier service, we'd have spent more on drinks too!

Breakfast the next morning was a good size and very well cooked.

Overall I'd happily stay there again. I feel if service could just be tweaked and improved, i'd highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023

We chose this hotel as a handy location for a concert at Delamere Forest, around 3 miles away. There’s a lot going for this hotel, in terms of its proximity to local tourist destinations (Chester is 9 miles away), plentiful parking space, great outdoor seating, and the spacious room we stayed in (room 102) but the service and amenities let it down. I’m struck by the majority positive reviews of this hotel, because we had a very different experience. The hotel’s website and on-site information describes it as a boutique hotel, and for £180 for one night B&B we’d expected more. The service at lunch on Sunday was slow to say the least but that was nothing compared to the wait for breakfast. Breakfast is served until 09.30. My husband ordered a cooked breakfast, and it was over half an hour before it arrived. When we enquired what the hold up was, all we were told was that the kitchen was backed up. This made no sense to me if the hotel knew how many guests it had staying.
Top tip: if you are booking to attend an event like we did, make sure you arrange taxis months in advance. There are only a couple of taxi firms that serve the area and they get booked up well in advance. We tried to pre-book a month in advance and they were already fully booked.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank freemanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2023

Second stay for a weekend at this excellent hotel in the quiet village of Kelsall in Cheshire. Excellent rooms with with plenty of space and super quiet nights sleep. ALL the team are welcoming and very helpful and Andrew is always around to help with any questions you might have. Food is excellent with plenty of choice, portion sizes are more than adequate and all backed up with plenty of drinks options including the fantastic Weetwood Cheshire Cat :)
Breakfast options are plentiful and the cooked breakfasts leave you prepared for the day ahead.
Brilliant location off the main A road to Chester (15mins) and if youy do decide to go for a wander you will find the Morris Dancer a decent visit and the Boot Inn (if you can find it!!
All in all well worth a stay and we will certainly be back as soon as,
Thanks all!!

Room tip: Don't go out to eat, you'll have a great meal where you are staying!
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rupert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews