We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Wayside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you again for a wonderful stay, will be up to see you all again asap. You made us feel very welcome. Me and Barbara really enjoyed the company and excellent food and drink. One of the best hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It was lovely to see you and Barbara again and we hope to see you both soon. Your review was most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Visited as a group for a Christmas Dinner.

The food was fantastic. Delicious Salmon, beautifully tender roast beef and of course, turkey on the menu.
Starters and deserts were great too.

The atmosphere is great and we were extremely well looked after by Steve and his family.

Now to the whisky.......

There is more whisky to choose from than you can imagine.

Steve's knowledge is second to none and he is willing to share that to help folks choose a whisky to suit their palate.

I came away with a lovely bottle of 15yo Springbank from Cambletown on the Mull of Kintyre.
A distillery whose produce I hadn't sampled before.

If you don't like whisky then there are plenty of other drinks there too.

I have driven past this place dozens of times, living near by.

I will be stopping a lot more often!

Local or visitor, I recommend paying a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your night at Wayside, we all had a good night with fantastic company. We hope you enjoy your whisky and look forward to seeing you again. Thankyou so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience at Wayside and the Whisky Barn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked a weekend break before the Christmas rush comes and what a fantastic choice we made.
We can't fault anything .. the room,food,service and hosting was perfect in every way.
Only time we felt disappointed was checking out, as we wished we could have stayed longer.
A huge thank you to Steven and lynn
Also to Scott the evening chief ( I hope I've remembered the right name .. I had had a few wines ) ..you all made our stay everything we hoped for and more.
All in all would strongly recommend to friends and family and can't wait to stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Steven and I are glad you enjoyed your stay at Wayside and hope that you relaxed before the Christmas rush, I will pass your comments onto Scott, I am sure he will apreciate them. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from our 3rd visit to Wayside, and are already discussing when we can return again! The rooms are extremely comfortable and have everything you could need, the setting and building are truly beautiful and the food is great. We thoroughly enjoy our time here, and Steve and Lynn make you feel completely at home- nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thak you Annabel for the lovely review, Steven and I are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at this superb place just over 2 years ago with my partner and our friends who had been here previously! We were welcomed on arrival by the owners who were very nice and helpful! We went on halloween weekend and were informed of local events around the area which were taking place that weekend!
The food was cooked by the owner himself which was superb might i add! Anyone who likes fillet steak, try it there!!!!!! Well worth £20!! We stayed in the whisky barn at night which had many options but my preference was the various whisky:-)
When i saw wayside on trip advisor and saw the "terrible" review i felt obliged to reassure people this is a fantastic place and location to stay and that bussinesses have rules and regs in place so that they can run a smooth operation and give the service people expect!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for putting your comments on your stay at Wayside on Trip Advisor and reassuring other potential guests that the bad review was unjustified. It is really nice to know that past customers are still looking on our website and taking an interest in our progress. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a couple of years ago and do hope you will visit again in the future. Lynn and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We traveled from New York and stayed at Wayside for 3 nights in mid-August and THOROUGHLY enjoyed our adventure along the Cambrian coast, thanks to Steven and Lynn. My wife and I stayed with our 11 year old son in the suite upstairs, gazing at the stars through roof window and being absorbed by the comfy fluff beds. Steven was our sherpa for the remote world of Wayside: day hikes in the Lake Region Highlands, searching for shells during low time in the nearby beaches, boating, tree-top zip lines, local castles, mountain lakes. Don't miss the outstanding lamb cuisine from his kitchen out of this world, and extensive offerings of single malt (another area for which Steven will be your sherpa). Wayside is outstanding value, personalized hospitality, dynamic environment, and a restful oasis. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: You need a car to get there, plan at least 3 or 4 nights to take advantage of many regional features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarlhamSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Wow Sam, you and your family really packed a lot into your days and sampled quite a few of the outdoor activities available in the area. Steven is very passionate about his whiskies and loves talking to anyone who shows an interest in them. We are glad you enjoyed your food and your stay with us. We love this part of the Lake District and by the sounds of it you did too. We hope to see you again in the future when you come to England again. Thank you for taking the time to put the review on for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic place to stay, you couldnt ask for anything else. Great rooms, breakfast and evening meals fantastic and a bar so you didnt need to go out. Plus they have à place u can book with your dog, we will be booking again soon

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Steven and I are so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning sometime in the future with your dog. Thankyou for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Address: Wayside | Millom, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range: £98 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Guest Accommodation And Whisky Barn Whitbeck, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing