We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, lovely accomodation, ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Wayside in April for a two-night break and had a fantastic time. Steve and Lynne are excellent hosts who create a friendly atmosphere. We stayed in the annexe room which was great and the food at breakfast and dinner were superb home-cooked meals. The location at the foot of Black Coombe is perfect to get out and explore a tranquil area of the Lake District.

We would definitely stay at Wayside again.

Chris and Rachel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelCH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thankyou Chris and Rachel for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor, it is a great compliment to be told you would stay again. You are so right about it being a great base to discover to area, starting with Black Combe right on our doorstep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was my first stay at the Wayside but will most certainly not be my last. I travelled there as a sole occupant as I was horse riding nearby over the weekend and from the moment I walked in after an extended frustrating journey I was told to sit down, get my feet up and relax with a welcome glass of wine. My room was absolutely lovely, with attention to detail second to none. Fabulous fixtures and all over very comfortable.
Lynn & Steve were wonderful hosts supplying great food and even bubble bath to ease sore muscles. I have never posted on trip advisor before this trip but feel others need to know of the hidden gem (and its people) that is the Wayside Hotel.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms, all fabulous so you can`t go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puglatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wayside, it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again in the future. Hope the car is fixed now and you have happy memories of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

During the weekend my partner and I made the short 2 night stay at this wonderfully idillic venue in the Lake District. We arrived early but were greeted nicely and made very welcome and showed to our room (the annexe). The food was quite possibly the best I have sampled in a long time and Steve deserves a big hand for his expertise in that line. The choice on the menu for a "small" accommodation is outstanding. The bar is also well stocked too. The room was excellent and were overwhelmed by it. The only small chritisism was the size of the tv maybe. There is a little commute to the more built up and busier area's of the Western a lakes but the view from the accommodation more than make up for it. We would love yo come again so that's a good sign. Thank you Steve for your hosting this weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you Dave for your review on Trip Advisor, Lynn and I are really glad you enjoyed your stay and your food, it is quite a compliment to know you would like to stay again. We will be putting larger televisions in when we refurbish at some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our 9th stay at Wayside over new year. We have never been anywhere that many times which is a testament to how much we enjoy it and value it. Its our home from home. Lynn Steve and Kayleigh have becomes firm friends. The food is of such good quality we would not dream of eating anywhere else. The rooms are very modern and beautifully clean. Its the little touches that make such a difference such as Lynn putting Radox in the bathroom when she knows you will have had a long ride or walk. Its an ideal place to stay when exploring the lakes. Our next visit will be in March. We have met some really interesting and pleasant people as fellow guests and have kept in touch with some. Hope to see Amy and Ian and Rachel and Mark and Christine and John again. Happy new year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkiehappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Always a great pleasure when you both come to stay, you bring the place alive with your friendly banter and your inclusion of all the guests, it always amazes me when you both come back from a long ride, sometimes in the rain, with smiles on your faces. Looking forward to your visit in March.
Lynn and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and my partner have just spent 3 nights at the Wayside over new year and we enjoyed it so much that I considered writing my review on here whilst we were still there! Lynn, Steve and Kayleigh are lovely people and great hosts and made us feel instantly at ease and welcome at their establishment; they each bring their own sense of humour and personality to the place. The building itself is beautifully converted and spotlessly clean; if we could have moved in, we would have done! Steve cooked for us each evening and produced some delicious food of an excellent standard- my plate was clean at every meal and the food was washed down with some great wine; I'm sure Steve won't mind me saying that he knows his wine and of course his whiskey! The whiskey bar area is just the coolest thing you will ever come across at small hotel in an out of the way spot; as ever, the attention to detail in there is second to none and the materials used are gorgeous. That combined with Steves first class whiskey knowledge makes it the perfect party place.
I could honestly write an essay on how fab Wayside is, but instead I shall just advise you to book a room, whether winter or summer, and go and experience it for yourself. We will definitely return in the not too distant future as it really is a gem of place to stay in a beautiful part of the world.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

It was so nice to spend New Year with such lovely people, all the guests got on well with each other it made our New Year special, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves and have taken the time to post a review. We hope everything goes well for you this year and that we will be seeing you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights over new year and will definitely go back. We were in the area for a horse riding adventure riding on the beach in high wind, hail and heavy rain. This was the perfect place to stay - very comfortable and immaculate rooms, the whole place oozes warmth. Great food. The standard of finish in the whole place is very high. A drying room for wet weather gear was a Godsend. Stephen and Lynn are great hosts and serve a very good meal - wouldn't bother going out to eat when we stay there next time. Nothing was too much trouble. Wayside seems to attract interesting guests as well. Also we loved the dogs - but if you don't like dogs don't worry - they only introduce them to guest by request.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you Christine and John for writing this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves, it was a great couple of days even though the weather was bad, it was so nice to spend New Year with you both, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Lynn and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Thank you again for a wonderful stay, will be up to see you all again asap. You made us feel very welcome. Me and Barbara really enjoyed the company and excellent food and drink. One of the best hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

It was lovely to see you and Barbara again and we hope to see you both soon. Your review was most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Address: Wayside | Millom, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range: £84 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayside Guest Accommodation And Whisky Barn Whitbeck, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing