We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
205
10
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh standardlake districtevening mealsecond to nonewestern lakesblack combefantastic staylittle gemnear futuregreat weekendtwo nightsyou will not be disappointedcumbrian heavy horsescooked to perfectionfeel very welcomefantastic placeroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Another New Year but the same excellent service. Once again painful from laughing and oh so many happy memories (and a few more pounds to shift the food is just sooooo good). The trough outside we have on good authority is very comfortable if a little cold but Steven doesn't charge extra yet he might make it into a SPA. But the bedrooms are really comfortable no expense spared and the little extras are delightful. See you soon.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kandp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your New Year at Wayside it was so nice to see you both again and that you enjoyed the entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

what a laugh!

Tomatin came to do a whisky tasting for Steven. the tickets are 30 and this includes all the whiskies to taste and home cooked food to go with the expertise from the whisky presenter.

it is always a welcoming atmosphere when we go in this hidden little whisky heaven with over 200 whiskies for sale at all times with anything from a 35 quid bottle to a 500 quid bottle

if you want good service, good quality whisky, good advice and good food .. give the wayside whisky barn a visit

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon_p1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed our whisky tasting night it's always good to get feedback, hope you will be able to attend our next one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Highly recommend Wayside Guest House. We stayed for two nights in the Annex. Breakfast was excellent, and we couldn't have been looked after any better. Very dog friendly , which for us is a huge bonus. Beaches just down the road to walk the dog. We will definitely return. Thanks for looking after us.

Room Tip: Annex is lovely. Didn't see other rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tod30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thankyou so much for your comments we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found it to be dog friendly the beach is a fantastic place for dogs to roam free and have a good run around. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was our second stay here. The room we had was excellent, full of character from its original features but with modern amenities. Steve was hosting on his own as Lynn was unwell, but this did not prevent the service being superb. Steve has an incredible Knowledge of the local area and we found his advice on our days out spot on. The food was wonderful and so was the Whisky. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Thanks again Sean and Alyson

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thankyou for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry I didn't get to see you both but I am now up and running again. Steven is such a good host and I am happy to hear it didn't spoil your stay at Wayside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Had an another relaxing stay for my first wedding anniversary. The service from Steven and Lynn was second to none . Had a few late nights after chatting away with them both. The Wayside is amazing and so peaceful. We stayed in the annexe and the room was spotless. Steven and Lynn work hard to maintain the high standards they have achieved. Both evening meals and breakfasts were cooked to perfection. Our dog Mindi was relaxed, comfortable and loved the attention. Thanks again Steven and Lynn, see you next year.
Nathan, Dave & Mindi x

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thankyou for choosing to stay at Wayside for your first Wedding Anniversary, it was so nice to see you all again and to spend some time with you, have a fantastic holiday and we look forward to your next visit in March 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews