We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barrow in Furness(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
205
10
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh standardlake districtevening mealsecond to nonewestern lakesblack combefantastic staylittle gemnear futuregreat weekendtwo nightsyou will not be disappointedcumbrian heavy horsescooked to perfectionfeel very welcomefantastic placeroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t speak more highly of Wayside. The Annexe was gorgeous and it was lovely to be able to have our dog with us. He was well catered for, and revelled in the attention he got over the weekend! The food each night was amazing, breakfast was fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in the whisky barn. We received a warm welcome and we were very well looked after throughout our stay. The hospitality at Wayside is second to none!

We really loved the location as well, it’s in a beautiful setting. It was only a short drive out to Coniston Water, and we had a great time walking the dog on the nearby beach. We had a brilliant stay, and would love to go back again. I can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahH721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Wayside and that you love the location as much as we do, we are so glad that you would like to come back again in the future and we would both like to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Another New Year but the same excellent service. Once again painful from laughing and oh so many happy memories (and a few more pounds to shift the food is just sooooo good). The trough outside we have on good authority is very comfortable if a little cold but Steven doesn't charge extra yet he might make it into a SPA. But the bedrooms are really comfortable no expense spared and the little extras are delightful. See you soon.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kandp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your New Year at Wayside it was so nice to see you both again and that you enjoyed the entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

what a laugh!

Tomatin came to do a whisky tasting for Steven. the tickets are 30 and this includes all the whiskies to taste and home cooked food to go with the expertise from the whisky presenter.

it is always a welcoming atmosphere when we go in this hidden little whisky heaven with over 200 whiskies for sale at all times with anything from a 35 quid bottle to a 500 quid bottle

if you want good service, good quality whisky, good advice and good food .. give the wayside whisky barn a visit

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon_p1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed our whisky tasting night it's always good to get feedback, hope you will be able to attend our next one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Highly recommend Wayside Guest House. We stayed for two nights in the Annex. Breakfast was excellent, and we couldn't have been looked after any better. Very dog friendly , which for us is a huge bonus. Beaches just down the road to walk the dog. We will definitely return. Thanks for looking after us.

Room Tip: Annex is lovely. Didn't see other rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tod30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thankyou so much for your comments we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found it to be dog friendly the beach is a fantastic place for dogs to roam free and have a good run around. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was our second stay here. The room we had was excellent, full of character from its original features but with modern amenities. Steve was hosting on his own as Lynn was unwell, but this did not prevent the service being superb. Steve has an incredible Knowledge of the local area and we found his advice on our days out spot on. The food was wonderful and so was the Whisky. Cannot recommend highly enough.
Thanks again Sean and Alyson

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thankyou for your review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry I didn't get to see you both but I am now up and running again. Steven is such a good host and I am happy to hear it didn't spoil your stay at Wayside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews