We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
208
10
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh standardlake districtevening mealsecond to noneblack combewestern lakesfantastic staylittle gemgreat hostsnear futuregreat weekendyou will not be disappointedtwo nightsfeel very welcomecooked to perfectionfantastic placeroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Lovely place, lovely people. Our ninth year visiting the Wayside several times each year, we can't keep away! Just returned from another wonderful visit and we are going back in three weeks. The accommodation, the food, the sights and most of all the company, hosts, Steve and Lynn are just the best. Thank you for a great weekend, roll on the next!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We are looking forward to your next visit in three weeks time with your parents, I do hope they enjoy the area and staying here as much as you do and we will do our best to make sure that happens. See you soon and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We have just spent another relaxing and fun weekend at Wayside. Our 26th visit in 6 years! Lynn and Steve are such great hosts. The place is lovely. It has private access onto Black Combe fell. Rooms are clean and well presented. Beds are comfortable. We have stayed in every room but room 2 is our favourite. Food is fresh and tasty. This is the place to stay if you like single malt whisky. You will be spoilt for choice. We always come back with a bottle or two. It’s dog friendly and there is a beach for them to run on just down the road. It’s in a quieter corner of the lakes but is easy to get to the rest of the lakes. Recommend it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yorkiehappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Yes it was a great weekend we had such a good time catching up and thankyou for the kind remarks, the whisky is also an added bonus especially after a good meal and all that fresh air. We look forward to your 27th stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t speak more highly of Wayside. The Annexe was gorgeous and it was lovely to be able to have our dog with us. He was well catered for, and revelled in the attention he got over the weekend! The food each night was amazing, breakfast was fantastic, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in the whisky barn. We received a warm welcome and we were very well looked after throughout our stay. The hospitality at Wayside is second to none!

We really loved the location as well, it’s in a beautiful setting. It was only a short drive out to Coniston Water, and we had a great time walking the dog on the nearby beach. We had a brilliant stay, and would love to go back again. I can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahH721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Wayside and that you love the location as much as we do, we are so glad that you would like to come back again in the future and we would both like to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Another New Year but the same excellent service. Once again painful from laughing and oh so many happy memories (and a few more pounds to shift the food is just sooooo good). The trough outside we have on good authority is very comfortable if a little cold but Steven doesn't charge extra yet he might make it into a SPA. But the bedrooms are really comfortable no expense spared and the little extras are delightful. See you soon.

Room Tip: Any room will be a good choice
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kandp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your New Year at Wayside it was so nice to see you both again and that you enjoyed the entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

what a laugh!

Tomatin came to do a whisky tasting for Steven. the tickets are 30 and this includes all the whiskies to taste and home cooked food to go with the expertise from the whisky presenter.

it is always a welcoming atmosphere when we go in this hidden little whisky heaven with over 200 whiskies for sale at all times with anything from a 35 quid bottle to a 500 quid bottle

if you want good service, good quality whisky, good advice and good food .. give the wayside whisky barn a visit

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sharon_p1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thankyou for letting us know how much you enjoyed our whisky tasting night it's always good to get feedback, hope you will be able to attend our next one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews