We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
208
10
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh standardlake districtevening mealsecond to noneblack combewestern lakesfantastic staylittle gemgreat hostsnear futuregreat weekendyou will not be disappointedtwo nightsfeel very welcomecooked to perfectionfantastic placeroom was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Stayed here recently for the second time in just over two years and was not disappointed. This is a very well appointed, cut above the rest, B&B renowned for its stock of over 250 whiskies. All the rooms are finished and furnished to a high standard and are very comfortable as are the bar and dining area. Steve and Lynne are the perfect hosts and make you feel very welcome. As well as a fantastic breakfast you can also dine in the evening, I can highly recommend the rib eye steak. Steve and Lynne have an excellent knowledge of the area and are only too happy to recommend places to visit. Thank you both once again for a cracking weekend, from the Yorkshire four!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_wagsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

It was lovely to see you all again, thankyou for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor and for spending your special wedding anniversary with us at Wayside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Myself, partner and Dog (Alfie) stayed here for a couple of days last week and had a great time, The owners Steve and Lynne was so welcoming and knew so much about the local area which enhanced our stay, We stayed in the Annexe which was lovely and spacious and ideal having Alfie with us, We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast package which was a very good deal as all the meals we had were of a high standard from start to finish and all home made using local produce where available, thanks again Steve & Lynne hope see you again soon

Room Tip: If you staying for a couple of nights the Annexe is very comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SIMONREEVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thankyou for your feedback, it was very nice to meet you both and Alfie (what a lovely boy), we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the meals and that you hope to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

My wife, came home from Work and asked me "I don't suppose you have sorted out a break for us at the Wayside" I hadn't made plans but I know that we have enjoyed our trips there before. Quick Phone call, having found out that a room was available, and we were offered a Dinner Included deal which sealed the decision straight away. As usual a very friendly welcome from Steven and Lynne, who make you feel like old friends visiting. The breakfast was exemplary and really set you up for the day exploring but the evening meals were also delightful. Beautifully cooked and presented...with excellent choices of "after" if you have any corners left to fill. The bar is a wonderful place for any Whisky lover, but whatever your tipple of choice, you will not be disappointed.

If you like exploring a less busy but equally beautiful part of the lakes you would be well advised to base yourself here. The Duddon Valley, Eskdale, and Wastwater and more are in easy travelling distance...and you will appreciate them even more if your stay at the Wayside.

Room Tip: Over three visits have stayed in 2 of the rooms. Both excellently appointed with lovely comfortable bed and en-suite Bathroom facilities.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

It was so nice to see you both again and that you thought of us when you wanted a relaxing place to stay and explore the local areas. Thankyou so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Lovely place, lovely people. Our ninth year visiting the Wayside several times each year, we can't keep away! Just returned from another wonderful visit and we are going back in three weeks. The accommodation, the food, the sights and most of all the company, hosts, Steve and Lynn are just the best. Thank you for a great weekend, roll on the next!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

We are looking forward to your next visit in three weeks time with your parents, I do hope they enjoy the area and staying here as much as you do and we will do our best to make sure that happens. See you soon and thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We have just spent another relaxing and fun weekend at Wayside. Our 26th visit in 6 years! Lynn and Steve are such great hosts. The place is lovely. It has private access onto Black Combe fell. Rooms are clean and well presented. Beds are comfortable. We have stayed in every room but room 2 is our favourite. Food is fresh and tasty. This is the place to stay if you like single malt whisky. You will be spoilt for choice. We always come back with a bottle or two. It’s dog friendly and there is a beach for them to run on just down the road. It’s in a quieter corner of the lakes but is easy to get to the rest of the lakes. Recommend it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yorkiehappybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Yes it was a great weekend we had such a good time catching up and thankyou for the kind remarks, the whisky is also an added bonus especially after a good meal and all that fresh air. We look forward to your 27th stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews