We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More superlatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our first decision on here was should we write yet another glowing report of our recent visit to Maureen and Jon's Chambre d'hôte. The answer is of course - as they deserve all the credit for their attention to their guests and hard work in achieving this.
Their rooms and facilities would do credit to any well appointed hotel.
Their local expertise was unlimited - suggestions for excellent local restaurants (quality without breaking the bank!), advice on vineyard visits and wine buying from Jon (a quiet expert but NOT a 'wine bore'), and Maureen's detailed advice on how to drive into the centre and park in Bordeaux (down to which level of the underground parking was best!) are all offered if requested.
We must not forget Maureen's dinners which are offered on some nights - lovely meals including local wines - and in a relaxing atmosphere with the inevitable mix of other guests and nationalities.
We arrived and were welcomed as guests,but if it is not too presumptuous,we feel that we have discovered new friends, whom we must keep in contact with and visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swisstraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I spent five nights in the cottage at Beau-Sejour. We had done extensive research on properties in this area, and all of our expectations were exceeded! The cottage was a delightful place to stay, and we enjoyed very much having breakfast and afternoon tea with the guests in the main house. Maureen and Jon made our stay so special. The level of care and attention to detail that they provide their guests is exceptional. Maureen is a fabulous cook, and we had a delightful and delicious dinner one evening while we were there. Amazing cuisine! Jon and Maureen also provide great assistance with things to see in the area (precise directions to get there as well), including visits to vineyards, wine-tastings, local markets, and restaurants. Thank you, Maureen and Jon, for such a special experience in a beautiful area of France!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACTFL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed three nights at Beau Sejour. The B&B itself is exquisite, as is the countryside which surrounds it. The rooms are large and well-appointed, and the bathrooms equally so. The mattress was comfortable, too, which we've found to be a rarity in Europe.

We can only echo previous reviewers in praising Maureen and Jon's qualities as hosts. They were welcoming, helpful, and attentive to every detail, whether it be restaurant recommendations, winery visits, or even driving directions (even with a GPS in the car, their printed directions were invariably more accurate and more helpful). Part of the pleasure of a B&B is conversation not only with your hosts but with other guests, and there too we were not disappointed. Of course, it would be difficult to be in anything but good humor in such surroundings!

The food is likewise wonderful. Each morning they offer a large buffet breakfast, which includes homemade items like almond cake and jams. In the evening they put out a tea service, pluswhite and rose wine, and another delicious pastry offering like shortbread. There was nothing so relaxing as reading in the great room, sipping a glass of wine, and listening to the birds in the garden outside! We also ate dinner at the B&B the night of our arrival, and the food was superb.

Our only advice is don't cheat yourself by only coming for a night or two! We wished that we didn't have to go back to Paris so quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichelleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Maureen and John attend to every detail to make you feel welcome and to ensure your stay in this awesome part of the world is memorable. Maureen's cooking and John's stories make for a fabulous dining experience and their knowledge of the area is extensive. Maureen went out of her way to book winery tours for us and made recommendations for dining on our outward journey that were perfect for our needs. The rooms are lovely and we slept like logs waking to the sound of birdsong each day. We will definitely go out of our way to return to Beau Sejour if possible and highly recommend this chamber d'hote to travelling Australians especially those with only a smattering of French and who enjoy fine dining.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We selected Beau Sejour after extensive research of the area and its excellent reviews and we're happy to say that it lived up to all our expectations. Maureen and Jon were the best hosts we've encountered and they were spot-on with all their recommendations for dining and sightseeing in the St. Emilion area. They made all our reservations and our dining experiences were all superb. Maureen is an excellent chef herself and we loved the dinner she prepared for us one evening as well as the lovely home-baked treats and complimentary wines/ teas/ coffees that were provided each afternoon. We highly recommend Beau Sejour for a relaxing holiday in a peaceful location perfect for visiting St. Emilion, Bordeaux and the Medoc areas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from three really super days with John and Maureen and I cannot recommend Beau Sejour highly enough. The house is beautiful and the welcome warm. The room was large and impressively full of character, with a comfortable bed. The wine was liberally dispensed and Maureen's cooking was superb. Quite the best chambre d'hote we have ever stayed in.
We will be returning to stay again in June.
Simon and Liz.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chambre Rouge which was excellent with a lovely shower room and masses of hot water...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent three fabulous nights at ‘Le Beau Séjour’ and we regret not having stayed a little longer!
Where to start? So many raving reviews have been written that it is difficult to add more icing to the cake!
Well, let’s start with the cake Maureen made on occasion of my sister’s birthday: a gorgeous and delicious double layer chocolate cake she surprised her with for breakfast, a feast to the eyes and palate. But how to forget the honey plum cake and the delicious afternoon tea! Breakfast was plenty and very good, with homemade jams and tea a relaxing moment after an erratic day, with red and white wine as a plus!

We had two rooms: the Chambre Plaisance and the Chambre Écureuil; they both were very nice, and we were really surprised to find lovely lavender and pea green bathrobes nicely folded in a box in the wardrobe: a very nice touch!

We were told the restoration took quite a few years but you can tell by every little detail around the house that a lot of love and care has been put into the process and the result is really amazing.

The house, the rooms and the bathroom are all spotlessly clean, liquid soap dispensers are provided, beds are comfortable and pillows are many, soft, cuddly and moldable, exactly what we like!

The house is in a rather isolated area but only a fifteen minutes drive to lovely Saint-Émilion through endless rows of vineyards, and short drives to many enchanting castles in the area (do not miss Montaigne and Roquetaillade Castles). Maureen suggested we went to Cadillac for the Saturday market and I cannot thank her enough for the recommendation, it is really worth seeing!

Maureen and Jon are gracious hosts, Jon even helped us with the suitcases, they both were always there for us, but their presence was unobtrusive, they just magically appear when you need them!

Merci Mille Fois!

Room Tip: I especially liked the window in the Plaisance Room bathroom!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naujan-et-Postiac
8.3 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
876 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
396 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
379 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
390 reviews
18.9 mi away
Les Sources de Caudalie
Les Sources de Caudalie
#1 of 1 in Martillac
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour

Address: Place Centre | St Emilion, 33420 Naujan-et-Postiac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Naujan-et-Postiac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Naujan-et-Postiac
Price Range: £84 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beau Séjour is a beautiful early 18c large stone house built in the classic style of the region. We are situated in a small village in the heart of the Bordeaux wine making region and the house has a large peaceful garden, secure car parking. We are passionate about our home and we strive to provide for our guests the best possible introduction to our beautiful region of adoption. You can be assured that we will do all we can to make your visit to Beau Séjour as happy and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambres D'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour France/Naujan-Et-Postiac, Gironde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing