We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant B&B”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mistley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mistley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant B&B”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here again recently and it was just as good as remembered. Pleasant spacious rooms, very clean and rustically furnished, our with an excellent view over the Stour Estuary. Friendly welcome and excellent service. Very good (and very large) freshly cooked traditional English breakfast, locally sourced where possible I think. Very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Anchor is a wonderful b&b, the rooms are large, very clean and bathroom is modern and also spotlessly clean. Tea tray with coffee, tea and shortbread cookies are a nice touch. Lush views from the windows are a preview of the beautiful surroundings. The promenade is adorable with ducks and swans a plenty make for a nice walk into town. There is also an animal conservation petting zoo a stones throw from the inn, be sure to buy several bags of seeds & pellets for feeding all the animals, its a nice outting for all ages. The Sunday brunch at the pub downstairs was the best meal we have had in ages, Deb is the best cook in Essex and was happy to accommodate my vegetarian diet. The pub is traditional and charming with a wide selection of pints and spirits. All in all, we highly recommend The Anchor Inn for a lovely weekend getaway.

Room Tip: For some reason the fitness centre was selected, there isn't one at the inn, this is the fault o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_Knows_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Spacious room with lovely view across the estuary. Parking (on forecourt) no problem but also easy walking distance from Mistley Station. Good size bathroom with shower, toiletries. Hair dryer. Plenty of hanging space & drawers, comfortable bed. Everything looked fresh & clean. Air con. Tray with tea/coffee and good biscuits. Excellent cooked breakfasts with juice and fresh ground coffee. Hosts friendly and helpful.
Recommend stopping for a drink in the bar while you decide what to do with the evening ... relaxed atmosphere and laid back music. We then walked down past Mistley Towers along the estuary into Manningtree - beautiful stroll in the early evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had dinner at the Thorn with friends who had lived in the area for 30 years but never been inside The Anchor, their loss in our view. As a B&B you couldn't really ask for more. Excellent large well furnished room with fantastic modern shower and a view of The Estuary. Great breakfast, helpful and friendly team. Only sorry I didn't get a chance to try the beer! If you need a base in the area this is ideal, and such great value!. Recommendation if you are going to eat at the Thorn the stay at The Anchor. (If only they did food!) Oh yes and the hair dryer, if you need one ask.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed on a very hot weekend in August and received a warm welcome and a lovely jug of ice cold lemon water. We were so pleased with our room with its view of the estuary ,and air conditioning. The bed was very comfortable , there was lots of space , a good shower, toiletries, a tray with tea, coffee and biscuits, the breakfasts were so good and our hosts eager to please. We needed information about Harwich and were given helpful tips about parking and places to eat. This area is so lovely and there is lots of historical interest we can't wait to go back. We thought The Anchor was excellent value for money and will recommend it to our friends and family. The hosts deserve to do well for their thoughtful anticipation of your needs and their eagerness to please. Well done .My husband loved the beer and I was pleased to hear some very good jazz (taped not live ) in the bar where there was a friendly atmosphere. Anne

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have views over the estuary .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Happened upon the Anchor Inn whilst looking for a B&B - what a great find. Hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Rooms were lovely, super view, simple clean decor, comfy bed, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and a fab shower! The only very small negative was that there was no hair dryer but hey, if that's all there is to complain about I think you're doing OK!

The restaurant was not open on the Monday evening that we were there but hosts phoned a pizza order through for us and set up the dining room just for our use! That's service! Breakfast was superb - we didn't need any lunch!

Great value for a couple sharing a room. As a singleton it would have been nice to get a little reduction but overall super value.

Would certainly recommend the Anchor Inn

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were upstairs and super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzienowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our room was lovely and clean, with a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilites a lovely shower and a view of the estuary. The owners made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was superb. however i found the pub itself a bit off putting and didn't enjoy sitting downstairs in the evening. I would definately stay there again but would probably give the pub a miss.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: Harwich Road, Mistley CO11 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Mistley, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing