We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mistley Thorn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mistley Thorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mistley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mistley Thorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Thorn for a couple of nights last weekend. Excellent food and service and a well balanced wine list to suit most pockets.The room was a standard double which was quite large with a very comfortable bed and a clean and modern bathroom.We found one bedside lamp was not working and mentioned it to our waitress at dinner, when we returned to our room after dinner it had been replaced.Terrific service and a lot of larger and pricier hotels could learn from this.
We will return.

Room Tip: The standard double is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rofert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    69
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
155
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mistley Thorn for two nights at the end of October, and loved every second. We both work long hours and were stressed and in need of a quiet retreat to spend time together... and the Mistley Thorn delivered exactly that! The food was amazing- my boyfriend is already talking about a return visit in the new year, so desperate is he for another meal! Great fresh seafood, beautifully and simply cooked. Great wine list. Fantastic breakfast. We had a room right at the top of the building with a great view over the water.... on a cold and wet weekend it was lovely to watch the water in the warmth of the room!
One of the the lovely members of staff let us have a little 'snoop' around the empty rooms one morning, and they were all different sizes and shapes, but I would have happily stayed in any of them.
The only complaint of sorts is that the bar area is not very welcoming/comfortable unless you are eating. We came down before dinner hoping we could relax for a little while with a drink and have a chat, but it was quite awkward as the staff were setting up for the dinner service and seemed surprised to see us.
All in all, we loved it, and are definitly planning to return in a few months (no sooner-- my waistline will suffer too much!).

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. Some have a view over the estuary, some are VERY large, and one even has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

I simply love this place, the room is clean, nice and, comfy! They have nice soaps and cream in the bathroom. They cook local food and the dinner is really nice, desserts are incredible and the hot breakast is amazing! The people are nice and they make you feel at home. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for one night following a recommendation from a family member and were not disappointed. Our standard room was large and comfortable with a sizeable bathroom. All the amenities you could want - bathrobes, tea & coffee making facilities, nice toiletries, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. The only negatives - we were next to a laundry area and we were aware of the vibration of the washing machine - although the bed was comfortable with lovely linen, we felt that the mattress was coming to the end of its life as the edges were not that supportive.
Our stay was on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and we were very impressed with the food and service. The 3 course dinner was delicious and there were several options that we would have liked to have tried had we been staying for another night. The breakfast was also excellent apart from slightly overcooked poached eggs.
We really enjoyed the area around Mistley; the Stour estuary with its fantastic diversity of birdlife, Manningtree, where we visited the sister restaurant of the Mistley Thorn called Lucca (great Italian), Dedham with its lovely high street and church and lastly Flatford, the site of many of Constable's famous paintings including the Haywain.
The Mistley Thorn and the surrounding areas are definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room which was good but you may prefer to try a deluxe room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Just one night here on business, wish I could have stayed longer. Loverly large room and bathroom. Modern with a touch of older furniture, perfect for the place.

The food was good, it was mussels night, so a great plate of mussels and frites, glass of house wine and a pud, around £11.00. Need to return as the main menu looked good, lots of fish and sea food.

Good staff and service. Great breakfast, and as a single traveller on business, much better then a chain hotel at not much more money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGBCMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Mistley Thorn. It is a great pub/restaurant, nice feel and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were lovely! We stayed right at the top, room 7, and though the room was a bit smaller than most the bathroom was very large. Good bed linen, comfortable beds, wonderful shower and everything you could want in a room, toiletries, iron/ironingboard, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. It was extremely hot on the Sunday but we had an excellent fan in the room. Clean and comfortable. Reminded me of a North Norfolk hotel. On the second afternoon, there was a very strong smell of cooking in the room but we had the windows open and it didn't last for long.
The food was good and we played cards after dinner. We were made to feel very welcome and even told we could stay in the bar after closing to continue our game.
The only negative for us was that the menu was a little limited, okay for the first night but when we had to choose on the second night it was difficult to find something different, in fact, two of us had exactly the same dinner on the both nights! The locals menu is marked with the day and date and obviously changed each day, but the choice of food is the same, no change! We couldn't have eaten there a third night.
All in all, we had a great stay, loved the rooms, loved Mistley, had nice staff, was a very reasonably priced deal, as we enjoyed the area.
We would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilarythehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here before leaving for a cruise in Harwich. We spent one very lovely night.

The town of Mistley is very small , but big on charm. Our children loved seeing the swans and the old trees. The stories of the witch hunter fascinated them.

The hotel is very small , but chic. Nice beds and very tasteful decor , loads of personality. The breakfast was quite delicious and we really enjoyed our dinner there.Everyone was very welcoming and kind.

My middle son declares Mistley to be one of his favorite palces and he ´s visited almost 25 countries!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 7 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing