We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect 'get out of London for a night' getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 'get out of London for a night' getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I happened upon The Mistley Thorn through random googling whilst looking for an escape, not too far from London. With only one night to spare this was exactly what I hoped it would be. Huge room, gorgeous food and great service.
The surrounding area is amazing (if you are a fan of birds) the swans are a phenomenal sight.
We went on a Monday nigh, so got a great deal for Bed, breakfast and £30 towards dinner (this covers the set menu or you can choose from the a la carte).
Oysters were amazing and as a 'Vegaquarium', the menu suited me perfectly.

A great find. We will return.

Room Tip: Get a superior river view one if possible! It's HUGE! The room got quite hot,even in December, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigailRosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    71
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
159
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were a party of four returning to The Thorn having visited a few times each, as couples or as part of a bigger group as we are residents in the District. Food was excellent, that is our main point, however at this time of year be very careful where you are seated.

We were rushed (and I mean that, we had no time to greet each other, or draw breath from arriving) ) to the back of the restaurant which at first glance seemed part of the main building but it soon became clear we were in a conservatory, which would be fine in warm weather but it was freezing the night we were there.

Sadly the way our concerns were handled could have been better. We were eventually moved to the sofa's at the front of the building for our desert, one other table (there were 3 in total in that area) were moved to a recently vacated table in the front of the building as well. The others were smokers and kept opening the exit door to go outside, which did't help the temperature in our area. When we were moved and commented how much warmer it was, the staff and manageress said 'its too warm here'. A simple 'coffee on the house' or a real apology would have made the difference. We left feeling we had put them out and our complaint about the cold air blowing around the table was just dismissed. Sad because we love The Thorn it won't put us off going back, but I would make sure I knew exactly where we were going to be seated because the rest of the restaurant was lovely and warm last Friday night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We spent the night at mistley with friends. Excellent value rooms and delicious food. Dinner was included in the bedroom rate. It is great to find a place that offers one night weekend bookings. No special set menu for residents. We were able to choose anything we wanted (apart from 12oysters) from the comprehensive menu. We had one of the best meals ever. Equally breakfast did not disappoint.Mistley itself and Manningtree are nothing to write home about. Head for Dedham and the surrounding constable landscape.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was excellent and had everything you could wish for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenoaksFrankiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Thorn for a couple of nights last weekend. Excellent food and service and a well balanced wine list to suit most pockets.The room was a standard double which was quite large with a very comfortable bed and a clean and modern bathroom.We found one bedside lamp was not working and mentioned it to our waitress at dinner, when we returned to our room after dinner it had been replaced.Terrific service and a lot of larger and pricier hotels could learn from this.
We will return.

Room Tip: The standard double is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rofert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mistley Thorn for two nights at the end of October, and loved every second. We both work long hours and were stressed and in need of a quiet retreat to spend time together... and the Mistley Thorn delivered exactly that! The food was amazing- my boyfriend is already talking about a return visit in the new year, so desperate is he for another meal! Great fresh seafood, beautifully and simply cooked. Great wine list. Fantastic breakfast. We had a room right at the top of the building with a great view over the water.... on a cold and wet weekend it was lovely to watch the water in the warmth of the room!
One of the the lovely members of staff let us have a little 'snoop' around the empty rooms one morning, and they were all different sizes and shapes, but I would have happily stayed in any of them.
The only complaint of sorts is that the bar area is not very welcoming/comfortable unless you are eating. We came down before dinner hoping we could relax for a little while with a drink and have a chat, but it was quite awkward as the staff were setting up for the dinner service and seemed surprised to see us.
All in all, we loved it, and are definitly planning to return in a few months (no sooner-- my waistline will suffer too much!).

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. Some have a view over the estuary, some are VERY large, and one even has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

I simply love this place, the room is clean, nice and, comfy! They have nice soaps and cream in the bathroom. They cook local food and the dinner is really nice, desserts are incredible and the hot breakast is amazing! The people are nice and they make you feel at home. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for one night following a recommendation from a family member and were not disappointed. Our standard room was large and comfortable with a sizeable bathroom. All the amenities you could want - bathrobes, tea & coffee making facilities, nice toiletries, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. The only negatives - we were next to a laundry area and we were aware of the vibration of the washing machine - although the bed was comfortable with lovely linen, we felt that the mattress was coming to the end of its life as the edges were not that supportive.
Our stay was on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and we were very impressed with the food and service. The 3 course dinner was delicious and there were several options that we would have liked to have tried had we been staying for another night. The breakfast was also excellent apart from slightly overcooked poached eggs.
We really enjoyed the area around Mistley; the Stour estuary with its fantastic diversity of birdlife, Manningtree, where we visited the sister restaurant of the Mistley Thorn called Lucca (great Italian), Dedham with its lovely high street and church and lastly Flatford, the site of many of Constable's famous paintings including the Haywain.
The Mistley Thorn and the surrounding areas are definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room which was good but you may prefer to try a deluxe room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manningtree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing