We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Start to the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Start to the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We've been to the Mistley Thorn for dinner a number of times and decided to go there on New Years Eve but added an overnight stay and I have to say it was a good decision.
Firstly, considering how other hotels and restaurants in the area bump up the prices over the Christmas period we thought the cost for dinner, bed and breakfast was very reasonable.
We had a warm welcome when we arrived and was immediately taken up to our room which was the first treat of the evening, it was large, beautifully decorated with views over the river. In addition there was good quality products in the bathroom and a plentiful supply of towers, added to that there was complimentary tea, coffe, water and biscuits.
There was a very good atmosphere in the restaurant and while it was very busy the staff were very capable and ensured we didn't have to wait and this attentive but not intrusive service carried on throughout the evening. The food of course was excellent with a good selection of reasonably priced wines.
The next morning we made our bleary eyed way down to breakfast, where the quality of the food and the friendly service gave us a good start to the day, I decided on the bacon sandwich, if I had one critiscm I would say it could have done with two rashers, not because I was left hungry but because the delicious thickly sliced bread rather overwhelmed the one rasher that I was given in my sandwich. I know I can be a bit picky at times so if that's the only complaint I could come up with then I think that is pretty good.
My husband and I both decided the Mistley Thorn is now on our list of favourite getaways and we will certainly be eating and staying there again.

Room Tip: Lovely river view from room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    71
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
159
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We choose this small country inn, for the Christmas holidays and were delighted by the friendly service, the well appointed rooms, good views over the Stour estuary for some rooms and warm, comfortable stay. Breakfasts were delicious and a good indication of the quality of the restaurant which has a great local following. A beautiful setting in a picturesque village with good walks along the shore line to bird watch or to browse the quaint shops in Manningtree. A good value and a lovely place for a weekend break in a calm, peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I happened upon The Mistley Thorn through random googling whilst looking for an escape, not too far from London. With only one night to spare this was exactly what I hoped it would be. Huge room, gorgeous food and great service.
The surrounding area is amazing (if you are a fan of birds) the swans are a phenomenal sight.
We went on a Monday nigh, so got a great deal for Bed, breakfast and £30 towards dinner (this covers the set menu or you can choose from the a la carte).
Oysters were amazing and as a 'Vegaquarium', the menu suited me perfectly.

A great find. We will return.

Room Tip: Get a superior river view one if possible! It's HUGE! The room got quite hot,even in December, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigailRosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were a party of four returning to The Thorn having visited a few times each, as couples or as part of a bigger group as we are residents in the District. Food was excellent, that is our main point, however at this time of year be very careful where you are seated.

We were rushed (and I mean that, we had no time to greet each other, or draw breath from arriving) ) to the back of the restaurant which at first glance seemed part of the main building but it soon became clear we were in a conservatory, which would be fine in warm weather but it was freezing the night we were there.

Sadly the way our concerns were handled could have been better. We were eventually moved to the sofa's at the front of the building for our desert, one other table (there were 3 in total in that area) were moved to a recently vacated table in the front of the building as well. The others were smokers and kept opening the exit door to go outside, which did't help the temperature in our area. When we were moved and commented how much warmer it was, the staff and manageress said 'its too warm here'. A simple 'coffee on the house' or a real apology would have made the difference. We left feeling we had put them out and our complaint about the cold air blowing around the table was just dismissed. Sad because we love The Thorn it won't put us off going back, but I would make sure I knew exactly where we were going to be seated because the rest of the restaurant was lovely and warm last Friday night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We spent the night at mistley with friends. Excellent value rooms and delicious food. Dinner was included in the bedroom rate. It is great to find a place that offers one night weekend bookings. No special set menu for residents. We were able to choose anything we wanted (apart from 12oysters) from the comprehensive menu. We had one of the best meals ever. Equally breakfast did not disappoint.Mistley itself and Manningtree are nothing to write home about. Head for Dedham and the surrounding constable landscape.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was excellent and had everything you could wish for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenoaksFrankiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on-Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Thorn for a couple of nights last weekend. Excellent food and service and a well balanced wine list to suit most pockets.The room was a standard double which was quite large with a very comfortable bed and a clean and modern bathroom.We found one bedside lamp was not working and mentioned it to our waitress at dinner, when we returned to our room after dinner it had been replaced.Terrific service and a lot of larger and pricier hotels could learn from this.
We will return.

Room Tip: The standard double is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rofert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mistley Thorn for two nights at the end of October, and loved every second. We both work long hours and were stressed and in need of a quiet retreat to spend time together... and the Mistley Thorn delivered exactly that! The food was amazing- my boyfriend is already talking about a return visit in the new year, so desperate is he for another meal! Great fresh seafood, beautifully and simply cooked. Great wine list. Fantastic breakfast. We had a room right at the top of the building with a great view over the water.... on a cold and wet weekend it was lovely to watch the water in the warmth of the room!
One of the the lovely members of staff let us have a little 'snoop' around the empty rooms one morning, and they were all different sizes and shapes, but I would have happily stayed in any of them.
The only complaint of sorts is that the bar area is not very welcoming/comfortable unless you are eating. We came down before dinner hoping we could relax for a little while with a drink and have a chat, but it was quite awkward as the staff were setting up for the dinner service and seemed surprised to see us.
All in all, we loved it, and are definitly planning to return in a few months (no sooner-- my waistline will suffer too much!).

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. Some have a view over the estuary, some are VERY large, and one even has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.6 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
8.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing