We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing anniversary dinner”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Southminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing anniversary dinner”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

first impressions were ok. Staff friendly on arrival. Room(7) could only be described as the "wonky room". Everything was on a slope and you slid to the end of the bed when trying to sleep. Even if you hadn't had a drink you felt like you had if you tried to go to the toilet during the night! Had a meal in the restaurant for our anniversary and was disappointed as dogs were allowed in the restaurant while you were eating and also a very poor selection of "spring vegetables" were offerd with the meal which consisted of lots of spinach and mange tout only. Lacked colour and variety for time of year and local produce available. Chicken however was excellent flavour and texture. Breakfast seemed unorganised and a lot for one waitress to cope with. Orange juice had run out, eggs had hard yolks, tea was forgotten and the home made bread could have broke your teeth when toasted and was served way before your cooked breakfast even arrived. Wouldn't return and found the area to lack anything to keep you there for more than just a couple of hours visit..

Room Tip: bring ear plugs due to noise from road. Also need to keep fan on all night as no air-con.No dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckad, Owner at The Mistley Thorn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We were sorry to see that your reviewer did not enjoy their stay. We would like to point out, however, that one of the party's demeanour changed completely when she saw two small dogs in the dining room (see previous review 'welcoming and pleasant for us and 4 legged companions'). She immediately said that she would post a negative Trip Adviser review. We bought them complimentary drinks and pointed out that small dogs (which were as distant from them as is possible in the room) were allowed if well behaved. This is clearly posted on our web site. As to the other points the vegetables on offer were locally grown organic spinach, rainbow chard, a selection of green beans and mange tout. She refused to accept that the chard was not spinach. Room 7 is part of the hotel completely rebuilt 2 years ago. The bed is completely even and the room has spectacular views over the estuary. The points made regarding the breakfast service are mostly justified for which we apologise. We had a number of walk-ins that morning that placed demands on service that we could not meet.
As to the area, we are a tiny village directly on the estuary, but there are wonderful local walks as well as easy access to delightful villages such as Dedham and East Bergholt. In just a few weeks we will also be opening a cookery school, deli and fine wine shop right next to the hotel that will enhance the whole Mistley Thorn experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    73
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
163
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Recent overnight stay was pleasant , recommended by friends as a well kept character place to stay . Required for us was a short break with our 2 quiet terriers . All was welcomed and even seated with our four legged companions. This was respectively done with it being a quiet Monday night and set to our own corner table . Would be nice to be immediately adjacent to the estuary , although this was only 50 yards away . Room and decor very good and staff and food deserve the good reviews . We hope to return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Michelle_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at The Mistley Thorn after reading a lot of positive reviews.

I have to say this is a lovely little hotel. Our room was really smart and well furnished. The service was excellent, as was the food (home made biscuits in our room and home made bread for breakfast).

If you're looking for a small hotel in the Colchester/ Ipswich area that offers quality at a competitive price then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David120361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Even though the weather had taken a turn for the worst after a heatwave we still took advantage of the local area and the estuary views and beautiful countryside surrounding mistley village and Manningtree.

We took a short drive into the beautiful villages of Dedham and Flatford then returned to the hotel to get ready for our pre booked 3 course dinner.
Our dinner was extremley good we know and love good food and this was excellent the young waiter was delightful.
Next morning no rush for breakfast we strolled down at 10.30 and both enjoyed a perfectly well cooked tasty breakfast.
Our room was Fabulous very comfortable large bed, beautiful bed linen and furnished to a high standard.

Room Tip: We had ROOM 5 which is at the back of the hotel not the best view but a beautiful spacious room per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This Hotel is a true gem. The rooms are fantastic ,the beds luxurious, the ambience laid-back,and the food is exceptional . The price for this kind of quality was very good !

The WiFi in the rooms is indeed woeful, but hey , if you are on holiday, who cares ?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for dinner for an impromptu date night. Despite this restaurant being on our doorstep, this was the first time we have ever ventured inside. Starting with champagne and oysters, followed by tender steak and the most beautiful squid dinners, it really was an amazing dining experience. Despite the seemingly "posh" setting and menu, the restaurant is very relaxed and welcoming. If you fancy some good quality seafood, and a chance to treat yourself, I would recommend the Thorne, we are already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Located at the heart of a charming village,with great views of the Stour across a working port, the hotel is wonderfully luxurious. Great rooms (let done only by the poor wifi reception) and fantastic food, especially seafood. Not really geared up for the business traveller but they did everything possible to accommodate me and I cannot wait to return with my wife for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolknproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckad, Owner at The Mistley Thorn, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your very encouraging review. As soon as I read it I went over to the hotel to check the free wi fi. Unfortunately the reception boosters on floors 1 and 2 were not live. I have re-connected them and assure you that we have good wi-fi reception throughout the building. I have also added a daily check on wi fi reception to the housekeepers check list. Thanks again for your support.
David McKay, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.6 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
208 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
11.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
385 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing