We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a great stay, beautiful clean room. The room was huge, the bed was huge with plenty of pillows and a quilt to die for, Everything was covered, proper hair dryer, iron, ironing board, bathrobes etc, plus loads of little extras. Breakfast was a real treat plenty of variety not just your normal fry up, highly recommend the eggs benedict with smoked salmon and bucks fizz. The service was brilliant, would recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    71
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
161
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked on Friday for the Sunday special (also applies on Mondays) and paid for a room with a view of the river at the front of the hotel. Mistley is very atmospheric - I think it would be an ideal film location with its Georgian houses and cottages and The River Stour backdrop. Our room overlooked the river and the swans nesting on the banks. This must have been a thriving little village in the past - now quite a few empty warehouses - waiting for refurbishment.

However the Mistley Thorn has been fully refurbished, decked in Farrow & Ball with a cosy feel. An inglenook firelace and oak beams. The menu is mainly fish - and what delicious fresh fish. If you are on the special D B & B deal you are offered a 321 menu Three courses for two people for one price £30 included in your deal. Or you can choose a la carte with a £30 allowance - which of course we chose - with such a lovely selection of dishes we ended up with Moules, and a lovely smoked mackerel Salad with beetroot as starters. The fish stew was perfect, tomatoey based and served with new potatoes. Seared cod came with peas bacon and onions all cooked to perfection. AS for the cheesecake....not to be missed - divine!

The roomy bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge with a very powerful shower.
Only niggle - if you are a light sleeper Monday morning traffic might disturb you. Large selection of cooked dishes for breakfast

We can highly recommend a nights' stay at The Mistley Thorn. The staff are friendly and efficient without being OTT - thank you for an enjoyable stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful rooms...pleasant staff..and i have to say that the food is simply out of this world!!!!! prices are so reasonable, id go every weekend if we could. Thank you. I have recommended this place to all our friends and family and Will defiantly be returning. at these prices you don't need a special occasion x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night here for our 6th anniversary and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in room 7 overlooking the estuary. Very comfy bed and stunning views! The food was consistently delicious and the service was friendly and helpful. We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

it was coming up to our 6th anniversary and by the Friday i had failed to secure our usual tables or rooms in the vicinity, somehow 18 mins (by Google maps!) away i found the thorn, the only time i had heard of this pub was in a Barbara Erskine novel! happily they had room, with the dinner bed and breakfast deal, something that is a wonderful idea, and easy to make use of.
we arrived to early to check in, so enjoyed a light lunch, our host showed us to our room, earlier then check in as the room was available, the bed was so comfortably tempting, we may not have made it down for our locally sourced supper, again another triumph! then to bed, soundly with no ghouls to awake, although an odd dream! and so to breakfast, again glorious and local!

Room Tip: room 7 is in the attic, and as such has attic doors, charming wonky floors so good for boaters! and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a wonderful place. I booked last minute on a Saturday, and once I'd seen the room I could not believe that it hadn't been booked up already. I stayed in a standard double in the roof (nothing standard about this room at all), the cosiest, cleanest place I have ever stayed. The shower was amazing and don't even get me started on the mattress, I don't know what it was but I must have one. I have never slept on anything so luxurious in my life. The staff were lovely and the breakfast had more hot choices than I've ever seen. I will be back for sure as often as possible. Remarkable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner b & b. The room was very comfortable despite being on the small side. Dinner was superb with an excellent choice of wines. Staff were most helpful. We were woken up by the radio alarm at 7.00am which had clearly not been switched off by the staff. Breakfast was most disappointing in that the kitchen had run out of both mushrooms and salmon. We were told this was because of high demand due to a nearby cafe closing, but we didn't see that as our problem. So if you want to enjoy the full breakfast menu then get up nice and early (with or without the alarm!).

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.6 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
8.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 23 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing