We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mistley Thorn dispels all negative images about Essex!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mistley Thorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mistley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mistley Thorn dispels all negative images about Essex!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Both Mistley, and the Mistley Thorn were an amazing little find in Essex - in just under 2 hours drive from London, this was the perfect place for a quick getaway. After a quick 24hrs here, we were so chilled out we felt we had a whole weekend away.

My boyfriend and I got caught in London traffic and knew we would be arriving late (around 10pm) and although last orders in the restaurant were at 9:15pm, a quick call to the hotel on our way up, meant we arrived to both a warm welcome from the staff and that they had kindly arranged a fantastic seafood platter for us to ensure we didn't go to bed hungry. Coupled with a great recommendation for the wine, and lovely desserts, we couldnt have been more pleased with our dinner, and Boyfriend was particularly happy with his oysters.

We stayed in Room 5, which although was at the back of the property and no view to speak of, was a very large room, beautifully decorated in period colours, with high ceilings. The bed was possibly the most comfortable and cosy that either of us have ever slept in (and I have travelled a lot!!) and the room was very quiet - we had a perfect night sleep. No time to use the DVD player but the Ipod dock came in handy as we lounged around the next morning.

Breakfast was delicious, and after spending the morning walking around Mistley, along the seaside and down country paths, we returned to the hotel for lunch as well. Boyfriend was over the moon about his oysters - again!

I would highly recommend the Mistley Thorn - nice staff, great food, relaxing and beautiful accommodation.

If you have time to see sights, we enjoyed:
* Mistley Quay Workshops (across the road from Mistley Thorn - great for coffee and local artworks)
* Mistley Place Park - an animal rescue centre, over 2000 animals including horses, pigs, birds, rabbits, sheep. Talk to the owner - he's a lovely man who can tell you more about the property.
* Walk along the Walls - a waterfront walk where swans and geese who roam free on the river, congregated down along the walls

We would definitely re-visit Mistley!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    69
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
155
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
heathfield east sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I went away for the bank holiday weekend with my husband for the first time without children and had wanted a small hotel that was quiet, comfortable hotel with good food. The Mistley Thorn did not disappoint, we had a room at the back of the hotel which was large, extremely comfortable with a good sized ensuite.
We ate in the Italian restaurant owned by the hotel in Manningtree and had a lovely walk along the inlet to the restaurant and amazing food in the restaurant. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and insisted we took an umbrella with us when we left although it was dry and no sign of rain. Luckily we did as within 10 minutes of leaving we had a huge clap of thunder and the most amazing deluge of rain. Thank goodness for such attentive staff.
The breakfast was very good, with a good choice and amazing food. We ate in the restaurant on our 2nd evening which was very good. The food and wine were amazing with good service from the staff.
The hotel has a small bar in the restaurant which is great for a pre dinner drink. I would advise booking the restaurant in the hotel or the Italian if you are going to stay as both were extremely busy and I don't know if we would have got a table if we hadn't booked them.
All in all the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

I chose the Mistley Thorn, from the Sawday guide, for a romantic weekend exploring the Essex countryside and was not disppointed. The hotel/restaurant (with a cookery school attached) is located on the River Stour - we were able to enjoy beautiful views across the estuary to Suffolk, an old sailing barge drifted into the nearby harbour and hundreds of swans lined the banks in the evening sun. We sauntered back to the hotel for a meal in the hotel's clearly popular restaurant - oysters, brill, sea bream - and retired to a tasteful, contemporary bedroom (one of only 5) for the night. Dinner and Breakfast were included in the total price, which at £175 I think was excellent value for the quality of the food and wine and the stylish venue. There is a lot of history in the area and the locations of Constable's most famous paintings are only a short drive away so there is plenty to do and we would have been happy to stay longer. Any negatives?: the rooms are above the restaurant and being an old building the ceilings relatively low and corridors narrow. At 6pm on a sunny August evening our room was rather warm and there was a little traffic noise from the road outside but don't let this put you off - it cooled off and the noise (which was not excessive or intrusive) settled down. Mistley, and neighbouring Manningtree, have some lovely buildings and there was a nice feel to the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Arrived hot and tired after lots of walking in "Constable country" and taking ourselves up to room 5 found it hot, full of flies and, with the windows open, screaming children from the property at the back and the noise/smell from the kitchen extractor, my heart sank - this was supposed to be a treat. Anyway, we killed the dozen flies, had a shower, closed the blinds and hoped the kids would be in bed when we returned (they were!). The food in the restaurant was great (really its only attribute), good wine list and real ales but the bistro tables are really packed in and we were in the fireplace with the busy (and helpful) waitresses passing by all the time - I would hate to be in the room at the back either. There are ceiling fans thank goodness. The bedroom was large, clean and comfortable with huge bed and plenty of large bath sheets etc. However, you need to have the blinds down for privacy all the time and its a darkish room - grey paintwork with maroon blinds so lights on, there is no view. I am not a fan of mixing clean pillowcases in between cushions as is the "boutique trend". "My husband had food poisoning from the oysters all night but recovered to eat the delicious and plentiful breakfast. There are a few tables outside but on the roadside by the bus stop and the view is spoilt buy a large fence on the quayside (a source of discontent by the locals it appears). I wouldnt go back esp as it cost £155 for dbb.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

A really great place for a quick weekend break from London - you can catch the train to Manningtree, and there are excellent walks. Mistley is tiny, but good for a nice pre dinner stroll.

The Mistley Thorn is really excellent value. Smart and comfortable rooms, and the cooking is spot on. Smoked haddock for breakfast was sensationally good. Desserts - cheesecake and plum/almond tart were superlative.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

My friend and I were looking for a hotel midway between us both, somewhere with good food and modern decor as neither of us are a fan of chintz or 'tired' hotels in need of a re-furb. We found ourselves a bargain with Mistley Thorn! We actually couldn't believe the deal we got and both questioned the price as it included bed, breakfast AND dinner.

On checking in we were welcomed by the very friendly hotel staff, and made to feel completely at ease. We checked in early, as the room was available, and found clean fresh decor, in muted sage and cream, with comfortable beds furnished in crisp white cotton and Ralph Lauren blankets. Personal touches included home-made biscuits alongside the selection of teas and coffees. A small grumble was that the room was cold however on speaking with a member of staff it was soon toasty and warm.

We started our visit by taking lunch in the restaurant kicked off by one of the best bloody mary's I've had in a long time. We followed this with fresh local oysters and skate wing which was devine.

Dinner was not disappointing either, more oysters, fresh seabass fillet & salsa verde followed by a wonderful chocolate pecan tart (my only criticism would be that the tart would have been more delicious had it been warm rather than chilled).

After a decent night's sleep we strolled down to breakfast and had a wonderful full English with superb bacon and a selection of fruit, yogurt and cereals.

There really is little to fault in this hotel from the bathroom, with it's deep, double ended bath and equally wonderful power shower & large selection of fresh white towels to the fabulous food in the restaurant. We will definitely consider a return visit, perhaps in warmer weather. However the best thing is that this hotel offers absolute value for money that would be incredibly hard to beat in these credit crunch times. All staff we came across in the hotel were welcoming and friendly, chatting to us and recommending things to do and constantly checking if we were okay without being intrusive.

It did feel a little quiet at times however it was the last Tuesday in January and therefore unsurprisingly the place wasn't as full as I imagine it gets at weekends, or in the summer. However this is something to bear in mind if you are looking for somewhere really buzzy as this is more a 'restaurant with rooms' rather than a full on impersonal hotel. We felt this was a small drawback considering everything else it has going in it's favour and for us it was nice to be asked how we were when we turned up for each meal rather than not even being noticed, as is the case in larger hotels.

All in all, a real find!

  • Liked — Clean modern bedrooms with fabulous fresh food (loads of fish) and great value for money
  • Disliked — A bit too quiet at times...
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sexymonkeylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

Having just read the previous review (thankfully after we have returned) then hopefully I can provide a different and happier review.

We too stayed in Room1 which was spacious and warm, had a great comfortable bed, 2 wicker chairs and good views across the river. The bathroom was large, suitably equiped and warm. Which was welcome because it was quite cold outside.

There was no problem with eating in the restaurant which was busy but not full. We got the time we wanted and felt in no rush to leave the table. There was a large range of fish dishes which suited us and presumably were sourced locally.

The breakfasts were good too. Choice included full english, kippers or smoked salmon. On one morning they seemed keen to clear away the cereals and fruits but then we were the only people staying and they did ask first which was okay.

In terms of value for money it was brilliant but we did get a special internet rate as we stayed on Sun/Mon - check out their website.

Finally, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and I felt that if there was a problem it would have been easily resolved.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.6 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 7 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing