We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunbirds B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbirds B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Fairford, Glos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in Mar 2012. Jonathan and Liz are great hosts, and Sunbirds is a superb B&B. Rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, breakfasts live up to all expectation and you could probably last all day without eating anything else! Lounge has TV and WI-FI as well as a small library, and there is an honour bar if the hosts aren't around. Would recommend if you plan to stay in the Southbroom area especially if you are a golfer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We arrived at Sunbirds without prior booking and Jonathan and Liz warmly welcomed us. Their lodge is beautiful and secure, with a lovely pool area and verandah where they serve an AMAZING breakfast.
The room was lovely, equipped with everything, from a cafetiere to a fridge with fresh milk, to anti-mosquito spray and a bathroom with huge shower, bathtub and lots of toiletries. It was better than a 5 star hotel! The house is a 5 minutes walk from the beach.
Jonathan also gave us a copy of the Greenwood Guide, which we used for the rest of our road trip through South Africa and which was extremely useful.
I would definitely recommend staying with them if you visit the Wild Coast, though I found the village rather boring.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed with Liz & Jonathan for 6 nights in December 2012. They are very warm, lovely, welcoming and accommodating hosts. Jonathan gladly shares tips on where to go and eat and food intolerances were very well catered for.

The location of Sunbirds is prime- we found it so easy to get to the beach and the local trattoria from there. The property is beautiful, with well-maintained, lush gardens and a general peacefulness about it.

Our rooms were spacious and very clean. The bed was amazing- the mattress, pillows and bedding was of a very good quality. The bathroom again was very spacious and there was more than enough cupboard space.

After the first few hours there we already felt much relaxed and this continued for the rest of our stay.

The breakfasts were exquisite- great variety, tasty and a not rushed, contributing to our relaxation. Liz's home made tea cake is irresistible and I was quite tempted to ask if I could buy some to take home with me.

I cannot recommend Sunbirds highly enough- we were quite sad to leave and will definitely be back.

Thank you again Jonathan and Liz for one of our best stays yet!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the house, but felt that the cottages we stayed in that were separate from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

After driving several hours in terrible rain, we discovered this gem en route to the Wild Coast with the intention of staying one night. It quickly became apparent this was the perfect B&B as a base for day trips and golfing.

Jonathan and Liz are warm and kind and take a genuine interest in the well being of their guests. Their home is very welcoming with a large common area, lovely pool, well stocked bar, and good WiFi connection. Laundry service is offered for a reasonable charge. Our room had AC, TV, a separate entrance, large bath with tub and shower, comfortable bed and was freshened up daily. We are well travelled and when we are on the road a lot, all of these amenities are very much appreciated.

We felt very comfortable here, a bit spoiled and the best was yet to come. Breakfast! Individual tables are set under cover by the pool and you make your selections from a menu which includes a daily surprise, is beautifully prepared, presented and served by Jonathan and Liz, and just when you think you're finished, a plate of Liz's delicious homemade treats appears. So, you sit back, pour another cuppa and indulge yourself. What a great way to start each day.

Thank you.
Jerry & Oraysha

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Perfect place for relaxing holidays. Jonathan and Liz is kind hosts, excellent breakfast, pool. 5 min walk to nearest beach and italian restaurant with very tasty meals. We realy enjoyed to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was near town for a diving trip in Protea Banks. Southbroom is 15 mins away from Shelly Beach by car. Very accessible, quiet, clean place. Jonathan and Liz were superb hosts, very easy going and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay. Highly recommended. And great breakfast. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Täby, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is the perfect start for your golfing holiday. You feel welcome, you start to relax and you do not have any worries - Jonathan and Liz takes care of them. The tee-off times are booked, the restaurants are selected and you get the most wonderful breakfasts. We were 6 golfing ladies 'on tour', and got a great 5-nights start in Southbroom. Thank you - you are exactly so great I remembered from my earlier visit. Highly recommended - and I hope I see you soon again.

Room Tip: No problem - all the same fine. But it was nice to sit in the garden cottage and listen to the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjatta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southbroom hotels
1.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#11 of 12 in Southbroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Shores Guesthouse
White Shores Guesthouse
#10 of 12 in Southbroom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golf House Guest House
Golf House Guest House
#3 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbirds B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbirds B & B

Property: Sunbirds B & B
Address: No 54 (Lot 643) Outlook Road | Southbroom, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbirds B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Liz and Jonathan look after you in their award winning luxurious home. 2011 and 2012 Certificate of Excellence Winner with TripAdvisor.Stylish modern en-suite bedrooms.Huge pool & terrace overlooking the sea where an outstanding breakfast is served.Lounge, bar and lovely indigenous garden. 4 minute walk to beach and restaurant. 6 fantastic golf courses within 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing