We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Southbroom”
Review of Sunbirds B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbirds B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Best of Southbroom”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I look forward to my stay at Sunbirds once a month on business. The peace and tranquility combined with the outstanding hospitality of Jonathan and Liz make this one of my favorite places. It would also be great for a couples getaway. In summer the immaculate pool is always a temptation with the sound of the sea and amazing sea view. Whale watching from the patio in season is recommended. Breakfast is always such a delight and expresses their culinary expertise. Highly recommend to international and local travelers.

Room Tip: Room No 1 and 2 are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Louise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Heh Holly, great to have had you visiting us yet again so soon. Always enjoy providing a bit of a retreat for you hard working exec's on the road. Having to think of your next "Surprise Starter" that you haven't yet tried at breakfast., in order to keep your kind accolade of "Best of Southbroom."
Cheers
Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This b and b is my favorite I have ever stayed at!!! Liz and Jonathan are fantastic. The view of the gorgeous ocean as I ate my incredible breakfast was the cherry ontop of my wonderful stay. Liz and Jonathan are incredibly helpful and incredible cooks. If I have the chance to visit sputhbroom again, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwartzinsouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Well girls - or should we say DR, short trip to RSA from the USA, doing great work in our hospitals - so appreciated. If this gave a little back, we're just so delighted...now we want you to returhn or send your friends as well.
Have a great future, cheers Liz and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I stayed with Jonathan and Liz for a week during April/May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We felt very welcome, well looked after and would recommend Sunbirds to anyone looking for a peaceful beach holiday.

Our room was clean, spacious and well appointed, including a large and comfortable bed, a separate shower and bath and a TV/DVD player to allow us to watch movies in the comfort of our own room. Guests also have access to a communal lounge area with comfortable couches, books and a large TV. Wireless internet is standard and a well stocked honesty bar is available.

Breakfasts at Sunbirds are also a real treat, and we felt spoiled and very well fed each morning! Each Breakfast was freshly cooked and prepared to order and was personally served at a table overlooking the pool and sea view.

Finally, Jonathan and Liz were excellent hosts, including recommending and making reservations for us at the local restaurants and suggesting local sights and shops for us to visit. We would definitely recommend Sunbirds and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

On our roundtrip through South Africa we found by accident the lovely B&B of Liz & Jonathan. And what can I say? From the first moment you enter the B&B you feel home. On the one hand that's because Liz and John are remarkable charming hosts, and on the other hand the B&B is wonderful. Very nice and very clean rooms with extremly comfortable beds - you sleep like in heaven. A beautiful living room you can use with a large honour bar waiting for you with chilled drinks and a very nice pool with sea view.
Furthermore the breakfast is outstanding. I've been to a lot of high class hotels but I never saw such an individually cooked, personalized delicious breakfast. The homemade fruit bread and the surprise of the day are excellent. The local harvested coffee tasted great...our first real coffee on our way coming from the north, where coffee is made of instant coffee powder.
John is a born host and has very good recommendations what to do and where to eat in the area. He is very good in judging your interests and definitely will find nice activities for you :-) Thanks to the hospitality of the lovesome hosts this stay becomes unforgettable, so we had no choice than staying for another night with them, although this jumbled our travelling plans. But staying in Sunbirds is recreation pure, I just can recommend this for at least 2 nights... you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed in January; previous guests say it all. Very comfortable, modern and nowhere else to touch it in South Broom. Johnathon & Liz are delightful, incredibly efficient and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepmovingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent 5 nights at Sunbirds and hope to return. Jonathan and Liz are there when you need them but leave you to enjoy their lovely amenities the rest of the time - perfect. Very nice rooms, lovely pool (large by SA standards) and gorgeous lounge/bar/dining area; all very modern and tastefully decorated. Excellent breakfast. If you enjoy golf, Jonathan will organise it all - he and Liz are clearly respected members of Southbroom GC. Great value as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, Glos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed in Mar 2012. Jonathan and Liz are great hosts, and Sunbirds is a superb B&B. Rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, breakfasts live up to all expectation and you could probably last all day without eating anything else! Lounge has TV and WI-FI as well as a small library, and there is an honour bar if the hosts aren't around. Would recommend if you plan to stay in the Southbroom area especially if you are a golfer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
1.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
308 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Trafalgar
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbirds B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbirds B & B

Property: Sunbirds B & B
Address: No 54 (Lot 643) Outlook Road | Southbroom, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbirds B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Liz and Jonathan look after you in their award winning luxurious home. 2011 and 2012 Certificate of Excellence Winner with TripAdvisor.Stylish modern en-suite bedrooms.Huge pool & terrace overlooking the sea where an outstanding breakfast is served.Lounge, bar and lovely indigenous garden. 4 minute walk to beach and restaurant. 6 fantastic golf courses within 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunbirds B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing