We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunbirds B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbirds B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The breakfast was great.Beautiful pool, big enough for 4 rooms. Very close to a wonderful beach. Our room was really nice except for the fridge a bit noisy and there were very few sockets to charge mobiles, cameras, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank icciobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahr, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very good location, only 5 walking minutes to the beach. Sea is very rough, so if you want to swim in the sea, you better walk/drive to Marina Beach nearby (25 min. walk). If you love fine dining, make sure that the few options you are having in this splendid area are open: La Terraza, Flavours (both were closed during our stay) and/or Fish Eagle at The Estuary in Port Edward.
We’ve chosen the quiet garden room. It’s well equipped with almost everything you need for a stay of 2-5 days. Not luxury, shows more basic to very good appliances (room 3-4*). We were missing comfortable chairs in the room or on the patio.
The concept of Liz and Jonathan is that their guests may use the wonderful pool and the appliances on the pool terrace. Plus the guest’s living room and the bar. This is all of high class (5*), but we missed a bit of comfortable privacy in our room. Reading a book on the bed is not our first choice.
The famous breakfast is indeed very good: One of us liked the surprises very much, while the other one of us has clear ideas about breakfast. Anyhow, after some discussion we both were very happy with the breakfast! Try the scrambled eggs with Italian parsley – delicious!
Thanks, a clear recommendation, especially if you are open to surprises!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fabulous service,food,view, comfort,cleanliness,attention to detail by Liz and Jonathan. Excellent value for money.Lovely pool with sea view.Breakfasts to die for . Jonathan and Liz could not have been more helpful and friendly.such a relaxing top rank B&B. We really want to go back to chill for at least a week.On this occasion we could only stay for 2 nights.we cannot rate this B&B highly enough.Don't miss it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beniamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was an outstanding place to stay, my fiance and I really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful place. Jon&Liz were fantastic hosts,their surprise breakfast was to die for. The Room was cosy & beautiful. Beautiful view of the ocean from da pool while having breakfast. A very relaxing & homely vacation @ the Sunbirds... Will most definately be returning soon.Eroshini&Kovi.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eroshini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

An excellent place to stay, very good and personal service.I would recommend this B and B to anyone. We were made to feel very welcome and had a relaxed stay. Whale watching superb and restaurant nearby excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was quite possibly one of our best ever coastal breaks. The location, amenities, hosts and, of course the breakfasts, are superb. Jonathan and Liz went out of their way to make our stay as smooth and enjoyable as possible. They anticipated that the good restaurants during a holiday period may be full and both suggested and arranged our bookings so we wouldn't be disappointed.
Sunbirds is run with guests in mind and much thought has been given to the comfort and convenience of the guests. We will not hesitate to recommend this to any of our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just retourned from our trip to South Africa. We have stayed with Lizz and Jonathan for two nights and have really enjoyed our stay. The place has a stunning view, very close to the beach and serves the best breakfast. Listen to their restaurant suggestions for the evening. Jonathan kindly made the reservations for us and both places he suggested been really good. If you are looking for a relaxed, friendly and very comfortable place in Southbroom, thats the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
1.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golf House Guest House
Golf House Guest House
#3 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#11 of 12 in Southbroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbirds B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbirds B & B

Property: Sunbirds B & B
Address: No 54 (Lot 643) Outlook Road | Southbroom, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbirds B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Liz and Jonathan look after you in their award winning luxurious home. 2011 and 2012 Certificate of Excellence Winner with TripAdvisor.Stylish modern en-suite bedrooms.Huge pool & terrace overlooking the sea where an outstanding breakfast is served.Lounge, bar and lovely indigenous garden. 4 minute walk to beach and restaurant. 6 fantastic golf courses within 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbirds B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing