We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st June 2014”
Review of Sunbirds B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbirds B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Durban
1 review
“1st June 2014”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Exceptionally warm and friendly service. Lovely clean and airy rooms. The location was convenient for our purpose of business in Port Edward.
What I liked most was the hospitality of the owners. The road leading to the B&B is not well maintained but that is the norm for that part of the South Coast

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Dorothy
It was a real pleasure to have you and your colleagues staying with us and to be able demonstrate some Southbroom hospitality, which we are delighted you enjoyed.
we sincerely hope to see you and maybe Prince and Zazi here again before too long, as the whales have now arrived and maybe the sardines will also show up this year.

Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having toured South Africa for over 2,000km starting from Cape Town it could not have been a better chance to relax at Sunbirds for few days.
Liz and Jonathan are absolutely wonderful hosts, with immaculate care for the detail and going the extra mile to make their guest happy. Sundbirds B&B won the Tripadvisor Excellence Award for three years running since 2011 and no doubt the hosts will add 2014 to their palmares as well.
The rooms are what you expect from luxury hotels to be - in addition of Liz's home make cookies near the coffee maker (Bodum) or designer hand soaps and creams in the bathroom. Privacy is secured via own patios should you want to retire from the terrace with great views over the Indian Ocean around the swimming pool. Sitting rooms provide a nice library as well as large flat TV with satellite channels. Wifi is available throughout.
The star of the show however is the breakfast - three courses, all home made and out of the ordinary: starting with a daily changing freshly prepared surprise starter, followed by a choice of either Liz special scrambled eggs or Jonathan's omelette and finished of by a variety of freshly baked cakes.
Certainly to get you going until dinner - and you can burn some of the energy on the wonderful beach just few minutes down the small hill. For dinner Jonathan recommends an Italian Trattoria restaurant within immediate walking distance situated on the lagoon. Outstanding meals and aily specials (if you like beef, try their T-Bone Florentine beautifully sliced and herb flavoured) and good selection of South African wines. If you fancy, follow Jonathan's other restaurant advise: "Flavours" is approx 10 min drive away: their Thai style Mussels dish alone is worth the trip.
And back home after dinner sample a local Gold Brandy at Jonathan's 'honesty' bar, accompanied by freshly brewed local expresso coffee.
Liz' and Jonathan's total commitment towards the highest standards of providing guest satisfaction is wonderful to witness and to enjoy - in a tourism world where the 'fast buck' is often the norm.
Please visit Sunbirds when you either plan a superb golf vacation (the magnificent - and very affordable - 18 hole course with the famous Derek James pro is just next door) or just come and relax, enjoy the beach, the food and the hosts' welcome - and experience for yourself.
Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Michael, it is such a pleasure to share common values with someone as well traveled as yourself, and to add to to your travel/tourism experience. we much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The room was away from the main house with a beautiful view of the amazing garden from the private patio area. The room was light and airy with a lovely, large comfortable bed. The shower was huge in a well equipped bathroom. Breakfast by the pool was delicious, with plenty of verity on offer. One morning the local vervet monkeys put on a wonderful display for us, which added to the magic. Jonathan was fantastic in providing us with the best places to eat, he has an excellent taste in restaurants and we were not disappointed.The clean beach, with life guard is a short walk away next to a lovely Italian restaurant.
I can not praise Liz and Jonathan enough, they were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel at home. An excellent place to stay with or with children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Katherine
So delighted to have given you and Steve and his Mother, Sylvia a relaxing time in the comfort of our home and our neighbourhood. We very much hope we'll be seeing you again.
Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay here. Jonathan and Liz made us feel most welcomed. Our room was clean and tidy. The swimming pool was crystal clear and refreshing after a scorching hot day. I am vegetarian and I was pleasantly surprised at breakfast time when I was fully catered for. I plan on visiting Sunbirds B & B again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I stayed one night on our way from Durban towards Cape Town. I am afraid we naively underestimated the vast distances we had to travel along the way and therefore we did not arrive to check in until almost 9pm. I was astounded by how understanding and hospitable Jonathan and Liz were. They were extremely patient with us as we kept them up to date with our ETA and booked a table at the nearby restaurant and even met us on the street outside to give us the keys so we could go straight to the restaurant and make last orders.

Once we got to Sunbirds having eaten I was blown away. The house is amazing with a beautiful pool. We stayed in one of the rooms outside of the main house which was well equipped and beautifully decorated with a view over the garden. the main house has a stunning pool with loungers and a sea view.

Breakfast was amazing and I can't say how much our hosts made us feel welcome.

The beach is a short walkaway as is the restaurants by the river. A well stocked honesty bar just adds to the homeliness of the place.

My greatest regret is not being able to stay longer and enjoy the peace, ambiance and excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Jonathan and Liz are nicest people that i have came across, we were welcomed with warm hand and felt at home. We liked our room with its own garden, very refreshing. The breakfast was divine and with surprise starters. We liked the house set up, the inhouse bar, the guest lounge were tops and friendly talks with Jonathan. the swimming and the seaview was something else, the beach is just 4min away. We really enjoyed our stay at Sunbirds and travelling to the surrounding areas was such a great experience. Definately will come back again to Sunbirds

Lungile and Simphiwe

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LungileM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Liz and Jonathan clearly enjoy hosting guests. They made us very welcome and were always on hand to offer help and friendly local knowledge. Our bedroom and bathroom were well appointed. Breakfasts were excellent and leisurely with a daily surprise starter and a friendly chat. The guest lounge and honesty bar provided good place to spend an evening when not dining out.
We would highly recommend Sunbirds to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robertgreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
1.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Trafalgar
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
133 reviews
6.0 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 12 in Southbroom
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbirds B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbirds B & B

Property: Sunbirds B & B
Address: No 54 (Lot 643) Outlook Road | Southbroom, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbirds B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Liz and Jonathan look after you in their award winning luxurious home. 2011 and 2012 Certificate of Excellence Winner with TripAdvisor.Stylish modern en-suite bedrooms.Huge pool & terrace overlooking the sea where an outstanding breakfast is served.Lounge, bar and lovely indigenous garden. 4 minute walk to beach and restaurant. 6 fantastic golf courses within 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunbirds B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing