We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing!”
Review of Riptide

Riptide
Ranked #9 of 10 Restaurants in Southbroom
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointing!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

While on holiday at the South Coast we were looking for an authentic seafood restaurant. We found Riptide on the internet and it looked like the perfect spot. We loved the location and the restaurant itself, but unfortunately that is where it stopped. The service was terrible and we waited 45min for our starts, when we asked the waiter if the main courses are also take long, we got a sarcastic “YES”, and it did. The quality of the food was disappointing, especially since the prices is high. Overall I was disappointed in the terrible service, high prices and poor quality of food. I will not return to Riptide, nor recommend it to anyone else!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    24
    20
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food only barely acceptable”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The place has a great view as it is rigt on top of the beach. Unfortunatly the food is very uninspired. I have the feeling there is not a cook in the kitchen but a help manning the grill and the deepfier.
Go for the view not for te food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OerlyBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Conveniently situated and great position overlooking lagoon and sea. Uncomplicated menu and food to match, but flavoursome and fair value. Prawn curry extra hot good old Durban style curry worth going back for. Burgers could do with some work, for a place that should do good burgers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Location is right by the beach, which is great. The waiter was very friendly, quick and helpful.

The food is good, if rather typical cafe style. Nonetheless, it was fresh, tasty and we did not have complaints about it.

I would definitely go back for a lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pay for the view, forget the food”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Made a booking for 7 and allocated table for 6. Not off to a great start. Very rustic atmosphere. The view is good. Very limited menu and went for their signature dish. The worst crayfish and langostines I ever had!! This is a good basis fish and chips venue, wirh ample to drink. Dont expect more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BB88BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riptide also viewed

Marina Beach, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
Ramsgate, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Riptide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing